We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northern Light Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Silica Hotel(Grindavik)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Inn(Keflavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Base Hotel(Keflavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Keflavik(Keflavik)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Suites(Keflavik)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jazz(Keflavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
595
354
84
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
595
354
84
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barpower stationgeothermal plantlast nightblue lagoonlambhonor barmax's restaurantlava fieldswake up callviewing roomfree shuttlelovely hotelviewing towernorthern lights viewingsmoked salmonlog fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

After staying in some lovely places on our trip around Iceland we arrived here for our last two nights. No-one mentioned that it is over shadowed by a huge power station right next door (see photo) and that smell of sulphur is so strong that it takes your breath when you step outside. We asked to be moved to a room on the other side of the hotel so that we didn't have to look it and they did this without comment. On the plus side the hotel is well appointed and the food in the restaurant was good. The blue lagoon is only a five minute drive up the road and the hotel provides special towels for the guest to take with them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVACheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My partner and I went to Iceland for 3 nights at the beginning of March. The first two nights we stayed in Reykjavik and thoroughly enjoyed the city and did a tour to the waterfall and Geysers- all very enjoyable but what a treat we ha in store for the last night.

On our third day we left our city centre hotel and took the Iceland Excursions tour bus to the Blue Lagoon (the blue lagoon is a must!!) and spent a few hours enjoying the warm waters of the lagoon and soaking up the atmosphere, we then went to reception and they called the Northern Light Inn to let them know we were ready to be picked up.

15 minutes later (they travel to the Blue lagoon on the hour and at half past each hour if someone is waiting) we were picked up by a lovely lady who helped us with our bags and drove us the short way to the Northern Light Inn. As I had read from other reviews the hotel is not much to look at from the outside and is in the middle of nowhere but the hotel and staff are simply delightful!

The first thing we did was check in and the lady told us all about the hotel, what time breakfast was, how the honesty bar worked and whether we wanted to book for dinner. We booked for dinner and put our names on the list to be woken up after midnight if the lights appeared then went to freshen up.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the staff there were just lovely, very friendly and happy to chat and make recommendations but didn't linger too long! After diner we found that there were a number of guests who had been at the hotel for a few nights and had been unable to view the lights because of the cloud coverage that there had been but one of the hotels photographers was keeping them updated on the forecast and each hour they congregated in the hall to discuss the likelihood of the lights showing that night.

It wasn't until about 11.30pm that the lights finally decided to show themselves and I cannot explain the atmosphere in the hotel, it was just electric! Everyone was wrapping up to go outside and watch the lights and those that had been woken up joined us in the observatory room in their PJ's the atmosphere was just brilliant.

We talked to almost everyone that was up and watching the lights and people were sharing their camera shots and giving advice on how to get a good picture it really was a hotel of people who were enthusiastic about the Northern Lights and experiencing that. We stayed up for a couple of hours and then it seemed to cloud over again so we decided to call it a night.

The next morning we had a lovely breakfast and there were a few sleepy faces but again a lot of buzz and chatter about the lights and sharing of what each person had seen.

We then checked out and settled our bill and were taken to the airport by the hotel minibus.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough as a base to see the Northern lights, the staff and atmosphere at the hotel is worth every penny and the bonus is that it is only 5 minutes drive from the Blue Lagoon... Perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked the Northern Light Inn as our last night in Iceland as it was convenient for both the Blue Lagoon and our trip back to the airport at Keflavik. We knew it was close to the geothermal plant and looked somewhat akin to a Travelodge so we were braced for a somewhat less luxurious finale to our holiday. However we were very pleasantly surprised by the relaxed and friendly atmosphere, the comfortable accommodation, and the quality of the food, which was excellent.In addition the surprisingly atmospheric if a little surreal surroundings with the steam and lights of the adjoining power plant set in the middle of a volcanic lava field made for a memorable visit.
The blue lagoon is about 1KM away and the hotel offer a drop off and pick up service as well as the use of towels. All in all we couldn't have made a better choice for our last hotel.

Room Tip: We were out on a limb in room 26 which was fine for us as the rooms on this side face north and away from the power station lights.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

All what the reviews say are true, lovely hotel, excellent food, not cheap but you pay for what you get. Always available to take us to and fetch us back from lagoon and met us at cross roads save us going all the way on airport bus from the city. A bit of advice, if you are going in to the city and having 9pm bus back, this bus is with grey line and leaves the city, and not the excursion bus which runs to the blue lagoon, totally wrong info given to us, but fair play the excursion company provided transport home for us. There is an honesty bar and free coffee, hot chocolate in reception. All of the staff were very polite and helpful. The bed was comfortable and very clean. And on our last night about 10 ish we were sitting in the lounge praying that we would see the lights when in comes the receptionist to say the lights were just starting, You have never seen 6 adults move so fast, and yes there they were, BEAUTIFUL and magical, a perfect ending to a fab holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjames03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our first night of a week's trip touring Southern Iceland. A great place with friendly staff, gorgeous sumptuous decor, large clean room and excellent food. Happy to use the free shuttle service to and from the nearby Blue Lagoon. A real gem of a place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nesstc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews