We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

where to begin??we check in after being picked up with their van at bus stop for Blue Lagoon. I immediatly asked for a late check out the following day. Jenny moved heaven and earth, and said yes. they were fully booked. we dropped our luggage in a modern, clean room, basic room. not fancy but comfortable, and asked if someone could drive us back to blue lagoon just to look around. they did. its is like having your own driver. everyone is so accomadting, and nice.they make you feel right at home. we had dinner in the restaurant and , Ronald the waiter couldent have been nicer, the food was delicious, Icelandic lamb, and salmon. as far as the geo thermal power plant, well it did not bother us at all. we found it interesting, and just think you nature lovers, all that clean energy being produced and its only water vapor .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0rinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. Our break was booked through Discover the World and everything went to plan. We arrived at Keflavik airport and we were greeted by a member of the hotel in the Arrivals hall who welcomed us and drove us back to the hotel in our own private van (transfers complimentary with the hotel) - When you first arrive at the Northern Light Inn, you might be a bit disheartened as it doesn't look like a hotel and you will see the power plant immediately behind it. However, as soon as you get inside you will feel at home. The interior is great - plenty of lounge areas, comfortable furniture, a fireplace, books to read, games to play. They have an observatory which is very peaceful and a honesty bar where you help yourself to drinks and snacks and write down what you've taken to be charged at the end. Our room was very quiet and comfortable - great bathroom and shower. I think there's underfloor heating too which was great in the winter. The rooms were cleaned daily and the beds very comfy. The restaurant is lovely with panoramic windows - the food is about £20 for one course but is all fresh, tastes great and is well presented. If you want a change from the hotel restaurant, ask the reception to book a reservation for a restaurant in nearby Grindavik (5 min drive) - the hotel will drive you there return for about £10 if you don't have a car which was very handy for us! The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasant - in fact, we didn't meet a single negative person in Iceland from arrival to departure! Speak to reception about booking excursions - when we arrived the weather at the hotel didn't look too good to see the aurora but the forecast 1 hour drive out was clear. The hotel offer a Northern Lights excursion which we opted for (approx £60) - you get a tutorial by a aurora photographer who shows you how to set your camera up to photograph the Northern Lights. Then you are taken out in a small group (there were approx 10 of us all from the hotel) - we went to a big lake which was frozen and the aurora began before we even parked. We spent over 2 hours at this location watching the Northern Lights and you are provided with hot chocolate to keep you warm - we will never forget that night and would
thoroughly recommend it. We also booked a caving excursion through reception for approx £15 each - you are taken to a cave/lava tube approx 5 mins from the hotel and are taken through the different vaults - the space is very small and most of it requires crawling through on your stomach, but we loved it! The Blue Lagoon is also within walking distance and this was a great day out - very surreal! Overall, we would definitely return to Iceland and to the Northern Light Inn - a brilliant trip that we won't forget. Thank you to all the staff for making it so memorable!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sampmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Iceland (we'll be back)
======
We were in Iceland for 3 nights and Iceland is a natural wonder. It's so different and, as a volcanic island near the arctic circle, don't expect trees & manicured lawns everywhere.

Hotel
=====
Service & Cleanliness were excellent.
The staff are incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for the guests. Free pick up & drop off at the airport and to the Blue Lagoon, arranging trips, travel advice, Northern Light viewing tips etc etc. They were wonderful.

The restaurant
The restaurant is big & airy with large windows overlooking the countryside. The food was very good quality & well presented with, as you can imagine, an emphasis on fish. The menu is limited to 4-5 main courses each day but if you ask, they will do "specials" for you.

The rooms
The rooms are very good size with big easy chairs and TV & coffee making facilities in them. They are all warmed by underfloor heating (heat directly from the centre of the earth??). The decor is generally minimalist in design and maintained well. The public areas of the hotel are again very comfortable with lots of chairs/sofas with warm fires.

Northern Light observation
If you want to see the Northern LIghts you you can wait up all night just in case they show.
Alternatively, if you need sleep, you can leave your room number with reception who will keep an eye out for you and call you when they appear. This worked for us!!

Observation room
There is also the observation room which is the only room not on the ground floor. Big windows allow you to watch the "light" in comfort & warmth if you so wish.

Location
It's about a 45 min bus ride to Reykjavik (running every hour past the front of the hotel to/from Blue Lagoon) BUT where you are is pretty dark at night which is ideal for seeing the lights.
Also, it's very quiet here so no problem sleeping.
I like the quiet & wanted the dark to see the Lights but it's the choice you need to make.

Also, part of the Blue Lagoon is the geo-thermal power plant which supplies power/hot water etc. It deals in naturally sourced hot water. It is NOT a filthy fossil fuel burning monstrosity. It really should not put you off this hotel at all.

Summary
A great hotel, impeccable service, excellent food and ideal to see the Northern Lights.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor and they all seem pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

People were lovely. Set up of hotel so welcoming and so nicely done~ lots of common rooms/ fireplaced living room- intimate lounge area- beautful diningroom. Heavenly beds were probobly my happiest surprise. After a long plane right settling into comfy bed covered in fluffy linens and nestled in an inviting room- truly was all that I could have hoped for~ so well done!

Room Tip: just relax and leave evrything up to this excellent staff~ :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy60954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a 24 hour stopover in Iceland with our kids 8 and 10 where we wanted to check out the Blue Lagoon and hoped to see the northern lights. This inn was perfect for our purposes- they fetched us from the airport and let us settle into our room at 10 am (what hotel does that?) We used their shuttle to get to the Blue Lagoon and signed up for a wake up call in case of northern lights, which came at 11:30 pm and were lovely. Yes, there was a power plant and a sulfur smell; we didn't care. The staff was courteous and thoughtful throughout, too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank 1offthebeatenpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

After staying in some lovely places on our trip around Iceland we arrived here for our last two nights. No-one mentioned that it is over shadowed by a huge power station right next door (see photo) and that smell of sulphur is so strong that it takes your breath when you step outside. We asked to be moved to a room on the other side of the hotel so that we didn't have to look it and they did this without comment. On the plus side the hotel is well appointed and the food in the restaurant was good. The blue lagoon is only a five minute drive up the road and the hotel provides special towels for the guest to take with them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVACheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My partner and I went to Iceland for 3 nights at the beginning of March. The first two nights we stayed in Reykjavik and thoroughly enjoyed the city and did a tour to the waterfall and Geysers- all very enjoyable but what a treat we ha in store for the last night.

On our third day we left our city centre hotel and took the Iceland Excursions tour bus to the Blue Lagoon (the blue lagoon is a must!!) and spent a few hours enjoying the warm waters of the lagoon and soaking up the atmosphere, we then went to reception and they called the Northern Light Inn to let them know we were ready to be picked up.

15 minutes later (they travel to the Blue lagoon on the hour and at half past each hour if someone is waiting) we were picked up by a lovely lady who helped us with our bags and drove us the short way to the Northern Light Inn. As I had read from other reviews the hotel is not much to look at from the outside and is in the middle of nowhere but the hotel and staff are simply delightful!

The first thing we did was check in and the lady told us all about the hotel, what time breakfast was, how the honesty bar worked and whether we wanted to book for dinner. We booked for dinner and put our names on the list to be woken up after midnight if the lights appeared then went to freshen up.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the staff there were just lovely, very friendly and happy to chat and make recommendations but didn't linger too long! After diner we found that there were a number of guests who had been at the hotel for a few nights and had been unable to view the lights because of the cloud coverage that there had been but one of the hotels photographers was keeping them updated on the forecast and each hour they congregated in the hall to discuss the likelihood of the lights showing that night.

It wasn't until about 11.30pm that the lights finally decided to show themselves and I cannot explain the atmosphere in the hotel, it was just electric! Everyone was wrapping up to go outside and watch the lights and those that had been woken up joined us in the observatory room in their PJ's the atmosphere was just brilliant.

We talked to almost everyone that was up and watching the lights and people were sharing their camera shots and giving advice on how to get a good picture it really was a hotel of people who were enthusiastic about the Northern Lights and experiencing that. We stayed up for a couple of hours and then it seemed to cloud over again so we decided to call it a night.

The next morning we had a lovely breakfast and there were a few sleepy faces but again a lot of buzz and chatter about the lights and sharing of what each person had seen.

We then checked out and settled our bill and were taken to the airport by the hotel minibus.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough as a base to see the Northern lights, the staff and atmosphere at the hotel is worth every penny and the bonus is that it is only 5 minutes drive from the Blue Lagoon... Perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
278 reviews
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,751 reviews
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
935 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range: £215 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Light Inn & Max’s Restaurant – 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon – is a unique place to stay and discover Iceland. The hotel is 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport-KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and about 6 from New York. We offer an exclusive Airport Taxi service with the lowest prices, and free scheduled shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light Inn Wellness Spa with Aurora Float & Fitness Center is open from 9 to 9. The Fitness Center is free for all guests while the Spa is complimentary with Deluxe Rooms and a modest fee for others. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and you can make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day in the living room. Max's restaurant serves ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. Vegetarian options are always available. 42 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing