We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip, Great price and friendly staff!”
Review of Northern Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northern Light Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed in the Northern Light Inn back in March, we were able too book excursions from the hotel for various outdoor activities such as caving, blue lagoon, and a Northern Light Jeep tour.
The food was a set menu, mostly fish (it is iceland after all!) Couldn't complain the food was of high standard and more of an A la cart style.
The dining room is stunning with views across mountains and we could sit and eat dinner and watch the sun set behind tall glass windows.
The rooms were of a very clean, comfortable standard-Definitely more of a lodge cabin feel.
Breakfast buffet was great! Everything you needed from toast, fruit, cold meats, cereal ect.. I want to go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Northern Light Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

My only regret is that we couldnt stay longer!! I can only echo the great things said on here. The Inn is fantastic - the staff are super friendly, the breakfast buffet was delicious, the free transfers to/from KEF and the Blue Lagoon (just five minutes down the street) were quick and very convenient. The building is spacious and there are many places to relax. It is quaint and definitely homey. Unfortunately, it was raining during our stay so we could not enjoy the outside areas or explore tge surrounding lava fields.

We were only in town for a day, so they made sure there was a room ready for us when we arrived so we could rest up. We had booked a twin but they gave us a double so I got to nap on the luxury of a double bed!

One thing I feel I should note is that this hotel is not in Reykjavik and not close. We had no need to go down to town, so the remote, quiet location adjacent to the BL was perfect.

If I ever return to Grindavik/Iceland, I would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was our first trip to this stunning country and we thoroughly enjoyed our first hotel.

We had pre-booked our (free) transfer and Henri, the driver, was informative and very helpful.
Our check-in was straightforward and we loved our very large bedroom, facing out onto the lava field.

We knew what it would look like as we had studied a number of photos and google earth. This is a strange, surreal landscape which is majestic, not pretty. The Icelanders have made practical use of the geothermal resources available to them so to us the power station was all part of the landscape. The smell scape also tells you about the landscape as whiffs of sulphur fumes let you know the earth is very active here. We didn't find it too obtrusive as it was not constant and if it starts up we just closed any open windows.

Breakfast is fresh, plentiful and very varied with yoghurts, cereals, fruits, salads, meats, eggs, cheeses, fish and a selection of breads/cakes all on offer. We dined in on two out of the three nights and enjoyed our meals.

The staff here are superb. Friendly, informative and ready to advise/help as needed. We walked down to Grindivik on the afternoon of our arrival and then out to the Lighthouse. We stopped at Bryggian for a coffee and the lady there phoned the Hotel so the bus could come and fetch us. This service is not free (1000 ISK for the two of us) but is on demand and you don't wait for long.

As an example of their helpfulness, we were trying to work out how to use cash on a self-service pump in Grindivik. One of the hotel's chefs happened to be there, recognised us and tried to help. When it was clear the pump wouldn't take cash, she directed us to another garage and then followed us there to make sure we were OK.

It is very comfortable, very clean and very friendly

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Lava field If you are there in Northern Lights season (we weren'...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwordMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed 5 nights at the end of April. Booked following a recommendation from a friend. All staff are so friendly and helpful. We loved every second of our stay. Felt 'at home' all the time and food was fabulous. The surroundings are quite surreal and DO NOT be put off by the power station. The walk to the Blue Lagoon through the lava fields is a must! We have rebooked already!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubyruby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

When we first pulled in to this hotel car park my heart sank. It is remote, alone and yes, right next to a power station. However, once night fell this all just added to the atmosphere of the place. The landscape is actually quite amazing, and the best bit is the location meant we saw the lights. The hotel had a real air of excitement which just made our stay. Fabulous restaurant, we had a lovely dinner here. Breakfast wasn't as good, but nothing to complain about. And just down the road to the Blue Lagoon. The staff here are fabulous - cant do enough for you. They even take you to the Blue Lagoon and pick you up again. What more can you ask for! Delightful bar and lounge, a reall home from home feeling with a huge roaring fire. If you are going to Reykjavik you have to spend a night or two at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Traveled with Discover The World. Good customer care. Everything pre-arranged. Staff very knowledgeable and able to give first hand information.
Northern Light Inn was a lovely hotel. Lovely breakfast. Staff excellent and very friendly and went out of their way to help with anything. They rang the room when the Northern Lights appeared so we didn't miss them.
Hotel staff picked us up at airport, was there waiting when we arrived.They drove us to The Blue Lagoon which was amazing, not to be missed, Also dropped us into the local town (Grindavik ,although not much there )The local restaurant drove us back to hotel free of charge. Then changed hotel to The Cabin in Reykjavik. Basic hotel. Rooms were ok. Restaurant very basic and lots of student groups staying there. Walkable to Reykjavik town. Convenient shop opposite for snacks & the famous iceland hotdogs, which were very nice. Had a great meal in
Hamburger Factory 10 min walk from hotel. Did the Golden Circle Tour well worth doing. All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deb I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Set against the back drop of a volcano, lava fields and a hydro -electric power station ( next to the Blue Lagoon) the hotel looked at first appearance as nothing special, but how wrong first appearances can be. The hotel is decorated beautifully, the dinning room has a real wow factor and the guest sitting room with its big open fire I could imagine on a cold evening would be a great space to relax. The rooms were again of very high quality with great showers in the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the bedding soft & warm. There are blackout blinds behind the curtains for those light nights or if the room faces the strangely beautifully lit-up hydro
plant. The food was of high quality with a choice of 8 main courses which ranged in price. All were offered with, for a small extra charge, a choice of the starter buffet & soup of the day, simple, but a good idea.
The staff were fantastic, so friendly & helpful. The courtesy bus to the Blue Lagoon (3 mins drive) was provided which made our visit so
easy. Also airport shuttle service which is provided for free. All in all this makes this hotel a must visit destination for either a few days relaxing at the beginning or end of your Iceland experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mutleyminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
273 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
766 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
587 reviews
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Price Range: £219 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Light Inn & Max’s Restaurant – 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon – is a unique place to stay and discover Iceland. The hotel is 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport-KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and about 6 from New York. We offer an exclusive Airport Taxi service with the lowest prices, and free scheduled shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light Inn Wellness Spa with Aurora Float & Fitness Center is open from 9 to 9. The Fitness Center is free for all guests while the Spa is complimentary with Deluxe Rooms and a modest fee for others. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and you can make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day in the living room. Max's restaurant serves ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. Vegetarian options are always available. 42 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing