We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy GuestHouse. All you need is there.”
Review of Steinar Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Steinar Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 7 Grindavik B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cosy GuestHouse. All you need is there.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good location for Blue Lagoon and airport. Kitchen is well equiped, so you can cook your own dinner. Washer and Dryer available in the bathroom. Cosy living room with television.
Price is okay for Icelandic standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeTript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
394 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This looks like an uneventful place to book a hotel, but I would recommend it if you want to avoid Reykjavik before boarding your plane.
On reflection it is a good choice, for its extreme nearness to Blue Lagoon.
Steinar is an extremely comfortable guesthouse, especially if you stay in a room downstairs; a nice living room is then at your immediate disposal as well as a kitchen. Worth to mention: the owners live in the nearby house and are artists (wood carving) and this shows in the very tasteful furnishings of the Steinar guesthouse.
Internet works like a breeze and the town counts with good shops for your catering.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs will give you straight access to the living room, kitchen and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here one night on arrival in Iceland. We hired a car, and this is essential if you are to stay anywhere in Grindvik. This little town is fairly close to the airport, about 20 mins drive, and getting to the town is easy. We had written instructions about how to reach the house, but got lost. The owner even came out when she saw a car going down the dirt track between her house and the guesthouse, but we were committed to finding the front door, so bypassed her. If you are staying there, you will need to go to the larger white house behind the guesthouse to get your key, so if you see a friendly face expectantly looking for someone around the time you told her you would arrive, then stop it is probably her.

We really had the place to ourselves. There was one other person but they came in late and were not up when we left so we did not get to meet them. The room we were given was probably the best room in the place as it had five beds, and loads of room to move around, and that reflected the fact we were there by ourselves. Breakfast was adequate with plenty of bread, butter, jams cheeses and the kitchen to make anything we wanted. There is a laundry inside the shared bathroom, and the shower is great. The stairs up to the rooms is a bit windy, but typical of Scandanavian houses. It has been renovated recently I found out.

It all felt very welcoming. You are right on the waterfront/ harbour, and Bryggan the cafe with lobster soup is almost a walk away. We drove, as we decided to explore the area before leaving the town.

For access to the Reyjanes peninsula or for first or last night stays in Iceland esp if then heading off around the island, this B and B and town is lovely, quiet, not touristy, although there are a few good restaurants, when you find them and a salt fish museum and tourist info centre that wasnt open in March.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank springqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Good guesthouse near the Blue Lagoon Grindavik, loved staying there in this quiet area of Grindavik. house was clean and free Wifi. Is an old house all newly decorated and the view outside my room was to the ocean

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gudborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
3.0 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
10.4 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mar Guesthouse
Mar Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Grindavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steinar Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steinar Guesthouse

Property: Steinar Guesthouse
Address: Steinar, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Grindavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Steinar Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steinar Guesthouse Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing