We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so serene”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Silica Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grindavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silica Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“not so serene”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

What could have been a peaceful and serene experience was not. Very thin walls between rooms so that you can hear people talking in the room next to yours. Doors slam all morning long in the hallways and vacuuming at 8:15AM!
Pros- it has its own geothermal pool that is beautiful and private. The public space is clean and welcoming. Rooms are large with comfortable bedding and the views are awesome. 10 minute walk to the Blue Lagoon and admission is included.
Cons-quite noisy and not soundproofed well. Expensive! Reception staff could be more welcoming as we found in all other parts of Iceland but not really here. Breakfast is sparse but it is a spa experience so very healthy options are available here. Black mold noted in bathroom.
Not all what we had expected but the Blue Lagoon is a wonderful experience.
Food and drinks are expensive at the Blue Lagoon and in speaking with some Icelandic residents, they do not frequent the Blue Lagoon because of the expense. If you are looking for a less "touristy" experience, check out other geothermal lagoons. The Blue Lagoon will exchange your ISK to Euros and then charge making it quite expensive.
Just and FYI, we away for 16 days and this was our most disappointing stay due to our high room rate and what was actual.

Room Tip: Only 15 rooms so very private ask for room away from lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtowntravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    203
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
115
449
50
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a great stay at the blue lagoon, especially after our 10 day adventure throughout iceland! The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The staff was wonderful and helpful - breakfast was normal and standard (nothing special). The value to stay at the lagoon is definitely there! Included in our room rate was a pass for the blue lagoon the day of check in and the day of checkout (80euro value each time)- also included bathrooms and towels which is normally extra. (we only stayed one night). We also used their private lagoon - but be aware that hours are limited (9-11am and only 8-10pm). It was a perfect place to unwind- and it was nice to have the private lagoon. There are only 15 rooms - so BOOK EARLY! worth it !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lv2travel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and I had 4 nights together in Iceland, so we thought we'd "go big" one night and booked a room here at the Blue Lagoon Clinic. It was a super nice room, very clean with very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. The hotel came with complimentary passes to the Blue Lagoon- a 5 minute walk away- which is a huge tourist destination and a "must do" in Iceland anyway. Entry into the Blue Lagoon is 40 Euros a person, so that could be deducted from the cost of the hotel since we were going there anyway. The clinic has it's own small lagoon, but the hours on it are limited for guests. Most of the day, the lagoon is reserved for day patrons of the Clinic. I think it was after 9pm that we could use the lagoon, which we did. The wifi was kinda slow and the breakfast wasn't awesome- but those are minimal "complaints". This is a very nice hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperDrDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The Blue Lagoon Clinic is THE way to experience the Blue Lagoon. The rooms are beautiful with incredible walk-out balcony views of the lava fields and the clinic has a private blue lagoon, which is as nice/serene/spa-like as the main Blue Lagoon a short walk away is tacky/touristy. The breakfast was decent too.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AbbintheATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I really appreciated the large room, after many hotels in cramped spaces. I found the patio, bordering onto lava rocks, very interesting and unique. The hotel's location is perfect - a short walk to the Blue Lagoon. What better way to spend an evening then in the lagoon, and then retreat to your hotel room after only a few minutes walk! There was no problem with our free pass to the Lagoon from the hotel. On-site parking is free. The breakfast was sparse and basic - cold foods only.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula_eyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our best room in the blue lagoon boutique hotel, with its own blue lagoon. Only 15 rooms. Expensive, even for Icelandic standards. Good breakfast. Try the Lava restaurant in the blue lagoon complex. This can be reached on foot from the hotel (approx 600 m). Nice end to our visit to Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandmflanders2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Enjoying the Blue Lagoon waters is an unique experience. No doubt about it. To do it at the Hotel Clinic if one likes extreme peace is wonderful. But everything has a cost. And not all pay for what you get. The experience es unique but the hotel is expensive, very expensive in summer, and the services it offers are not as good as advertised. Herewith I include several examples of the rooms certainly spacious and with views over the lava fields difficult-to-match.

No glasses for brushing the teeth. Why? It’s a mystery to me.

There are no cosmetic samples, nor amenities of any sort, in an place that boasts them and even the soap seems priced. Just one small piece for a four days stay. Nothing on body creams although in the chanchings rooms there are 2 liters containers.

The condition of some room elements is clearly inadequate for the price you pay. There are leaks in the hallways (the building opened in 2005!!) and in the rooms some blankets have holes and TV sets, very old models, need additional and quite amateur fastening.

Daily cleaning is very poor, especially the sheets. They are changed according to a fixed rule without a look to their cleanliness.

If all the above is important, at least for me when paying 280 euros per night, more relevant is the absolute lack of information given by the staff most of them not fluent in English. In our case the girls who was at the reception upon arrival forgot to activate the room key, didn’t give any clue about how to use the lagoon nor about how to use the lockers in the changing rooms.

On the other hand, the schedule of the hotel private Lagoon is quite incredible if the aim is to attract clients. From 9 to 11 and from 20 to 22. The rest of the day? Closed, except for medical treated patients (most of them coming on dayly basis from the surrounding area). The point is that during my stay I did not see any of such patients in the lagoon which was completely empty. With 13 rooms, 23 max. 30 guests, such schedule seems no to be justified.

Besides all that, do I recommend to stay there? Yes, such wonderful calmness is worth it. But probably I have had enough with a couple of days. And in any case, better to know what one is going to find there that be surprised by the lack of help of a large staff, too similar in their attitude to eastern Europe officials before the fall of the Berlin Wall. The wonderful bath experience has not continuity in the hotel services.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Triper_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
0.4 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
24.1 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
7.6 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silica Hotel

Property: Silica Hotel
Address: Grindavik 240, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Hotel Class:4 star — Silica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a stunning lava landscape, Silica Hotel is just ten minutes' walk from the Blue Lagoon. The hotel offers its own private bathing lagoon, available for hotel guests every day from 09:00 to 22:00. The Hotel has won several design awards. Built in harmony with the surrounding landscape, it offers an oasis of calm, relaxation, and healing. The hotel has 35 bright and spacious double/twin rooms. All rooms offer private facilities and a veranda, with breathtaking views of the surrounding lava fields. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Clinic Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel Grindavik
Silica Hotel Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing