We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big disappointment”
Review of Silica Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grindavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silica Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
japan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“big disappointment”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Blue lagoon Clinic – Of out eight day trip to Iceland the Clinic was a big disappointment to spend our last night in Iceland at; the receptionist was very unfriendly and never explained any of the facilities at the hotel. There was no bar or restaurant, the room was showing signs of wear and tear and the atmosphere was non-existent. The vision of the blue lagoon and the surrounding lava field was stunning and picturesque at night, we never ventured into the lagoon because the staff never clearly explained how as guests we could use the facility even though I asked again the procedure to enter the lagoon. We had an early check out and they kindly opened the breakfast facilities for us. The hotel was not for us but I can see the attraction that the clinic can offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    208
    53
    21
    10
See reviews for
122
467
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I had a great experience here. We found the hotel rooms to be clean and comfortable. Access to the Blue Lagoon was painless (and included, see below), and breakfast the next morning was ample. In terms of service, we only dealt with the front desk, but the staff there were courteous and helpful.

If you're planning on visiting the Blue Lagoon anyway, staying at the Blue Lagoon Clinic is actually not too bad of a value proposition. Staying for a night gets you free entry for two (with bathrobes) to the main lagoon, breakfast and a spacious room that's only a 5-minute walk from the main lagoon. Plus, you get access to a smaller, private lagoon that's open to guests only for a few hours each day. Look at the cost for most comparable hotels in Reykjavik and you'll start to see that you're not paying that much extra for a unique experience.

The Blue Lagoon Clinic is also situated only about 20 minutes from the airport, making it a great first or last stop on a trip to Iceland. Buses will pick you up right at the entrance and take you to KEF or to downtown Reykjavik - very convenient.

In short, definitely give this hotel a look if the Blue Lagoon is on your itinerary anyway.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms (I forget which ones) face a geothermal power plant, which is not quite as scenic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piyopiyo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Guide book advice is yes Blue Lagoon touristy but do it anyway - and we'd agree. Spent our last night and day in Iceland here before returning car and catching evening flight (still in lagoon an hour before check-in!) One night stay gave us 2 days access to Blue Lagoon - even after checking out. Clinic/hotel's own lagoon is even better and magical at night. From another trip-advisor review we'd seen before we visited we asked about and booked dinner at the 'clinic' rather than the Lava restaurant - I'm sure it's good but expensive - but we'd already spent a lot on food in Iceland, we didn't really want to walk across at night and we wanted to make as much use as possible of hotel's own lagoon. Anyway dinner was very satisfactory - self-service and only available for an hour, a bit institutional maybe but plenty fruit, vegetables, salad which I know that bit sounds a bit 'healthy' but it's not like that and on our night we also had huge steaks. We thought staff, although generally helpful, seemed a bit reluctant to book dinner so don't be put off if you want it. We couldn't find way of booking through any agency/website so we just emailed them to book room (and dinner) and it all worked. Seemed expensive at the time we booked but allowing for included entry to Lagoon and modest cost of dinner we thought well worth it.

Room Tip: There are only a small number of rooms located round a courtyard and as far as we could see all were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayportfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here our first night in Iceland - and we weren't disappointed. From the incredibly friendly staff to the very comfortable room (with geothermally heated bathroom floor!), we loved it here. It was spotlessly clean, well designed and well appointed.
I liked that they had a lagoon available exclusively for hotel guests - even if we didn't use it. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, and included. It was lovely to get delicious and healthy choices like skyr, fresh fruit and veg, smoked fish, and lots of cheese, meats and freshly baked bread. All unlimited - if you have a big appetite! The hotel isn't inexpensive, but with free entry (with towel and robe included) into the Blue Lagoon during your entire stay, it's well worth it. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karimacdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Lagoon Clinic hotel on our first night in Iceland. We arrived early in the morning as our flight arrived at 6:30am. Our room was not ready upon our arrival so we rested in their great lounge area and we enjoyed their great breakfast buffet. We used our free entry into the Blue Lagoon for the entire day. Once we returned our room was ready. The room was spacious and had a great view of the lava rocks. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had not only a heated floor but also a towel rack. We drove to Grindavik for dinner at the Salthusid (excellent) and returned to use the Clinic's private lagoon from 8-10pm. There is nothing quite like being out in the blue water at night. It was incredibly relaxing and worth the price of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and I recommend this hotel to anyone headed to Iceland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent our first night in Iceland here specifically to be able to use their private part of the Blue Lagoon.

It is an ideal first stop. We were lucky that a room was ready despite our turning up after an early flight and by 10.30 a.m. we were in their pool. It was available between 9 and 11 in the morning and 8 and 10 in the evening when we were there. The room rate also includes a visit to the main lagoon. This was great fun though so much busier but definitley a good experience. Our final bathe was in the clinic's private part of the pool again in the evening which was gorgeous on a cool clear night.

The room was simple but comfortable with everything you need and the private terrace looking over the lava fields was great. We saw flickers of the Northern Lights darting across the horizon in the middle of the night.

All in all a very relaxing and unique stay and it set us up perfectly for our travels around Iceland.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crellins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel for the first 2 nights of our trip in Iceland. We arrived very late the first night and there was someone waiting to check us in - she was very welcoming. Our first impression of our room was that it was basic and minimalistic. BUT it really had everything we needed..plus a towel warmer that was much appreciated! The beds were 100% the best part of our stay there...they were unbelievably comfortable!! We had a room facing the lava field and the back of the actual Blue Lagoon - very private and amazing views.

The hotel itself didn't feel overly comfortable or warm...but really it's a clinic so we didn't quite know what to expect. It was very quiet so when walking from one end of the hotel to our room felt a bit awkward at times, but I'd much prefer that to the place being noisy and over crowded. We spent an afternoon at the larger lagoon and also a short time at the hotel's private lagoon on our second morning. It was nice, there were only about 5 people in there with us...as opposed to the dozens that were at the blue lagoon. After leaving the clinic hotel we met many other Icelandic people on our journey and we noticed that the service and hospitality we received at this hotel did not compare to what we experienced everywhere else.

Overall I would book at this hotel again and considering the entrance fees to the BL it's worth the money to stay there...not to mention those comfortable beds! The experience of staying in this area is unbeatable!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
0.4 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
952 reviews
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
250 reviews
24.1 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,557 reviews
7.6 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#7 of 9 in Keflavik
88 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silica Hotel

Property: Silica Hotel
Address: Grindavik 240, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Hotel Class:4 star — Silica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a stunning lava landscape, Silica Hotel is just ten minutes' walk from the Blue Lagoon. The hotel offers its own private bathing lagoon, available for hotel guests every day from 09:00 to 22:00. The Hotel has won several design awards. Built in harmony with the surrounding landscape, it offers an oasis of calm, relaxation, and healing. The hotel has 35 bright and spacious double/twin rooms. All rooms offer private facilities and a veranda, with breathtaking views of the surrounding lava fields. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Clinic Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel Grindavik
Silica Hotel Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing