We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the most amazing places to stay”
Review of Silica Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grindavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silica Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“one of the most amazing places to stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We keep returning to the clinic each year. Its an amazing place to relax, and as several other travelers point out, good value too. The building radiates a slick modern vibe and has been very well built.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLJ60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    212
    54
    21
    10
See reviews for
126
472
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

While this hotel is on the pricey side the bonuses make it totally worth it! Not only do you get free daily entrance to the blue lagoon but also 2x daily you get access to their private smaller and less crowded lagoon that is right outside the lobby. I was there for 4 nights and the only downside was the expense of food, although on the weekdays the clinic offers dinner and lunch as long as you let them know 2 hours before that you want it- it is still a little expensive but very worth it and good- the salad bar was great as was the main course of fish! The daily breakfast was super yummy with a good variety. The beds were comfortable and the small porch was great for viewing the northern lihhts (which we got to see 2 nights out of the 4)!!! All is all I would definitely return but next time I would stay 2 nights here and a few nights in Reykjavik because it would be fun to explore as well.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaniFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The Blue Lagoon Clinic as a hotel is OK. Rooms are clean, nice view, comfortable beds (except we got two single beds instead of a double bed), and a really nice shower.

The best part about this hotel/clinic is off course the private lagoon. Although not open for more than a few hours a day (it serves patients mid day), the private lagoon is big in size and not too crowded (make sure you get there early).

The first day we went bathing in the bigger Blue Lagoon, just a 5 minute walk from the hotel on a beautiful path going trough the rocky nature all the way to the entrance. Just be aware that the path is lit very poorly if you plan on going to the LAVA restaurant in the evening.

If you choose to stay at the hotel during the evening, be aware that there are nothing going on. There's no bar, entertainment or activities what so ever, only a small lounge. There's nowhere close by to get a quick snack or drink. You are literally in no mans land. The closest "city" is about a 10 minute drive, where you'll find a convenience store and a liquor store.

That's not the hotels fault, since they cant choose the location of the lagoon, but I felt little effort had been made to accommodate the guests other that letting them use the lagoon.


Plus:
- Nice and clean rooms
- Friendly Staff
- Free entrance to the other Blue Lagoon
- Free and fast wifi
- Bathrobes!

Negative:
- Decent breakfast
- Nothing happening
- Empty mini bar
- No toilet amenities except shower gel and bar of soap.
- A bit expensive

Room Tip: All rooms should be good with nice views and quiet surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horabjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Like many other reviewers, we stayed here on a brief stopover when we were flying Icelandair across the Atlantic. We were there for two nights, but it was a real high point of our trip. The hotel itself is very quiet and relaxing. The staff are very willing to assist, and on our last day when we had to leave at 5:30 am they put out an early morning breakfast for us and arranged a taxi.

The rooms are comfortable but fairly basic. But the private lagoon is blissful. When we were there they had extended hours for hotel guests. We were therefore able to spend most of the day floating around on inner tubes while light dustings of snow fell on our heads. The surrounding environment of snow covered lava rock and rising steam was like another planet.

There is a coffee machine in the lobby which is available for guests all day long.

We did go to the main Blue Lagoon on one day but did not stay long. It was crowded and not nearly as nice as the hotel's private lagoon. The Lava restaurant was spectacular, however and the walk there through the lava field was unique.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Loved the professionalism of staff and the quiet efficiency of everything. It felt like staying in our own home. The atmosphere was so relaxing and romantic. My husband proposed in the water in the middle of the night, so it couldn't have been a better stay. :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crankandbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Excellent stay here January 2014, we made use of the private lagoon at night under the stars and much preferred this to the main public Blue Lagoon a few minutes walk away. Very quiet and our bedroom had amazing views across the lava field and towards the hills.
I would recommend bringing plenty of hair conditioner or wearing a scarf or cap as the waters really dry out your hair.
Our room was large, clean and well equipped; only tea was supplied in the room as there was a very good coffee machine for guests in the lobby. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful, all self service so you could have as much or as little as you wanted. Free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evans2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hot spring water lagoon was incredible way to end our trip with a relaxing afternoon in the water and spa. It was such a unique experience with the outside being so cold and windy but feeling warm and cozy in the water. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corywright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
0.4 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
963 reviews
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
256 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
9.6 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
746 reviews
24.1 mi away
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silica Hotel

Property: Silica Hotel
Address: Grindavik 240, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Hotel Class:4 star — Silica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a stunning lava landscape, Silica Hotel is just ten minutes' walk from the Blue Lagoon. The hotel offers its own private bathing lagoon, available for hotel guests every day from 09:00 to 22:00. The Hotel has won several design awards. Built in harmony with the surrounding landscape, it offers an oasis of calm, relaxation, and healing. The hotel has 35 bright and spacious double/twin rooms. All rooms offer private facilities and a veranda, with breathtaking views of the surrounding lava fields. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Clinic Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel Grindavik
Silica Hotel Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing