We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Start to Iceland Adventure”
Review of Silica Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grindavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silica Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2010

If you're driving and have a GPS enter Bláa Lónið into the search and still follow the road signs to that destination. We didn't at first and the GPS took us on an off road driving adventure.
We decided to start our Iceland vacation at the Blue Lagoon in order to get a jump start an relaxation. Our flight landed in the morning so we had an early check in with a very friendly staff. Check in was easy and quick.
We got situated in our room and then headed over to the Blue Lagoon for an in water massage which was amazing. Our luggage had been delayed and we were able to get free suits and towels. The admission to the Blue Lagoon was also free for staying at the clinic.
The beds were comfortable and cozy and the bathroom area had heated floors and a heated towel rack. The shower was wonderful. They had Blue Lagoon shampoo/soap and conditioner provided in a pump on the wall but I didn't feel that it really got my hair clean. You have to wash several times and use lots of conditioner to get the silica mud out of your hair. The blinds and curtains don't black out enough of the daylight so bring an eye mask for sleeping.
The next morning we had breakfast of skyr, toast, cheese, and fruit in the dining area. It was very casual as nearly everyone was in their robes. There is a coffee machine that makes tasty single cups of coffee, espresso or latte that is available at any time.
Then we headed into the clinic pools and floated around for awhile on the inner tubes. My face still feels soft and looks glowy from the silica mud mask.
Check out was easy and quick as well. We signed the guest book and hope to be back. The welcome we had here was the best start to our trip and we were happy guests!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen60647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
There are newer reviews for Silica Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2010

We had a flight arriving in at 23:00 into the airport so we looked for somewhere close by that we didn't have a long drive in the rental car on arrival. Having arrived in the dark, in the morning we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel - including their own thermal pools ( with limited opening times) . A stay here allows free access into the Blue Lagoon which means it is even better value for money if you are planning a visit anyway. Rooms are spacious and clean - Scandinavian in style
Unfortunately by the time we had visited the Blue Lagoon, it was time to check out and so we didn't get a chance to sample any of the hotels other facilities. Perhaps next time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Just back from a short 2 day visit to the Blue Lagoon Clinic which we stayed at based on other Trip Advisor reports.
If you are looking for a quiet stay with no night life this is the place for you.
Opened by the Heath Minster in 2005 it is a clinic for those with psoriasis and other ailments that benefit from the water and associated treatments.
Booking with the Clinic is really easy and the staff are as good as any 5 star hotel I have come across in my global travels.
Only 18 kilometres away from Iceland’s main airport @ Keflavik and 20 minutes in a pre booked taxi (via the Clinic) which cost us Euro 30.
Great continental style breakfast served from 07:30 – 10:00 which sets you up for the day. The Clinic pool can be used for those not attending for treatments between 08:00 – 10:00 and from 20:00 – 22:00. This night swim has some intimate dark areas for those adventurous types!
The Main Lagoon is approx 600 meters away on a path through the Lava and Moss covered fields which dominate the landscape. (Strong boots and a warm coat are needed during the winter)
Facilities at the main Lagoon include large shallow and deeper pools with rest up areas, Sauna and Steam rooms. (We ended up with sun tans) various café outlets serving snacks etc with a full a la carte restaurant which takes orders until 20:00 each night (except Sunday when the main lagoon is closed)
Clinic rooms are of and dare I say it Scandinavian style with UK TV
In conclusion:
Missing out on the nightlife of Reykjavik you make up for with Lagoon activities on your doorstep and savings on taxis / buses and the entrance fee with a towel of Euro 27 per person.
Don’t bother going to the Pyramids go to the Blue lagoon. We are already planning our next escape!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alphaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

As we had always planned to visit the Blue Lagoon we jumped at the chance at staying at hotel nearby.

The clinic is less than 10 minutes walk from the Blue Lagoon via a path (remember you will need a torch when it is dark). You are given complementary entry into the Blue Lagoon as part of your stay. However the clinic also has a smaller pool which is open to people staying in the clinic at 8am-10am and 8pm-10pm.

The rooms are quite modern and have amazing views over the moss covered lava fields.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinoringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. It was very clean and modern. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast (included) was nice to start off each day. The location however is the main attraction, as you are right next to the Blue Lagoon. When you stay at the clinic, you get a free pass to use the Blue Lagoon, which is nice, because it's not super cheap. I think normally around $15-20/day.

We loved having the thermal pools at the clinic. You are able to use them before the clinic hours begin and after they close. I think it was before 10am and after 8pm. When we visited, it was not crowded at all and very relaxing to sit in the pools. It is interesting to have it be so cold outside and warm water to relax in.

We found the bus from the airport to be quite convenient to get us to the hotel. You can also take the bus from the hotel to the town of Reykjavik. We found the city to be quite nice for a day visit. We ended up renting a car and traveling around a large part of the country one day and that was a nice drive. Nobody was driving, so nice and easy.

Visiting Iceland is very unique. There is not a whole lot to do, so we were there 3 nights and that seemed just right. It allowed us to visit the main city, spend time in the Blue Lagoon, and drive around a bit. During October, it seemed to be the low travel season, so even the Blue Lagoon wasn't all that crowded. When I looked at the pictures online, I was a bit worried, but there was no where near that amount of people when we visited.

Overall, we were very happy with the hotel and the area. It is a nice multi-night trip if you want a relaxing get away, that is really far away. The landscape is very unique with all the lava rock, no trees, and water. Plus, you can't miss the smell of sulfur wherever you go. We would recommend this to everyone for a nice escape.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank BrandonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

The hotel or "clinic" at the blue lagoon was a great way to end our trip. We took a bus to lagoon the night before we were meant to leave iceland. The hotel has it's own smaller (though still quite large) lagoon that is open later than the main lagoon. It's much more private and you can take a dip right before you go to bed.

As for the actual accommodations they were very modern, clean and a bit plain, which made for a very relaxing environment. The only negative thing I would say is that the double rooms are two twin beds, which I thing me and my partner just pushed together. Already planning on returning this August for the first night of a euro trip in order to nurse some jetlag.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycgal6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

We only stayed 1 night at the clinic an we loved it!
It is well worth it considering that you can enter the blue lagoon as often as you want.
The private logoon in the clinic is actually sufficient enough and much more quiet. The rooms are really good and have everything you need, we also found the typical Iceland breakfast offering a big choice.
The big blue lagoon is a max 10 min walk through the lava landscape - take your torch from the reception it is really dark!
Will surely try to stay there again when we go back to Iceland and it is also a much better option to stay for a nightover for your return flight than any other hotel in Reykyavik, since the lagoon is also closer to the airport. The blue lagoon bus drops you at the clinic without any problems on the way to the lagoon. Just don't forget this is not a normal hotel, it is a clinic so do not expect any food like lunch or dinner!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
983 reviews
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
273 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
764 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silica Hotel

Address: Grindavik 240, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Hotel Class:4 star — Silica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a stunning lava landscape, Silica Hotel is just ten minutes' walk from the Blue Lagoon. The hotel offers its own private bathing lagoon, available for hotel guests every day from 09:00 to 22:00. The Hotel has won several design awards. Built in harmony with the surrounding landscape, it offers an oasis of calm, relaxation, and healing. The hotel has 35 bright and spacious double/twin rooms. All rooms offer private facilities and a veranda, with breathtaking views of the surrounding lava fields. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Clinic Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel Grindavik
Silica Hotel Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing