We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the rest, but still rather weak”
Review of Silica Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grindavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silica Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
“Better than the rest, but still rather weak”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

If you have an early flight out or a late flight into Keflavik, and if you have a rent-a-car, this hotel may be a recommendation (however there is also hotels directly at the airport). The Blue Lagoon Clinic is one of only two hotels near the Blue Lagoon, and clearly it is better than the Northern Lights Inn, which has no pool/lagoon of its own, which is even farther away and which is even less sophisticated designed than the Blue Lagoon Clinic. Both hotels have equally mediocre service (typical for Northern Europe unfortunately). Both are not really walking distance to the Lagoon, because after the hot water I doubt that one wants to walk several hundred meters in the cold. Breakfast was very weak at the Clinic and starts not before 7.30. What really annoyed me is the closure of the pool between 10 pm and 8am. My flight arrived at midnight and I would have loved to relax in the hot water. It is a shame that with such an asset (the beautiful hot springs in the barren lava surroundinsg) the Icelanders don't provide a better product. If you compare the Blue Lagoon to Thalasso Therapies in France or Spas in Austria/Switzerland or some upmarket Ayurvedic clinics in India, it is really the least sophisticated and least developed in the market.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    206
    53
    20
    10
See reviews for
118
458
51
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We decided to stop over for one evening on our flight from Europe en route to Boston. This place really has the feel of a spa rather than a hotel, and I mean that in the best way. However, this is not the place to bring small children as it is very quiet, peaceful and zen-like. Also, there is no bar or restaurant, obviously (but they do make reservations for you at the nearby Lava Restaurant at the Blue Lagoon), but it does have a very lovely breakfast room overlooking it's own lagoon which serves great coffee/tea and it provides a healthy, nutritious breakfast selection. There is a soda machine in the lobby. The rooms look just like they do on the Blue Lagoon website and actually seem a bit bigger in real life with an almost surreal, small patio looking onto a lavascape horizon. The beds were extremely comfortable, and there was no shortage of hot water in the tiled bathroom. Their toiletries were the Blue Lagoon brand shampoo and conditioner.

We came for one night, specifically to swim at the Blue Lagoon and there is a lovely black sand/gravel path through the landscape from the hotel all the way to the front door of the Blue Lagoon which takes about 10 minutes. If you have never been to Iceland, just this path alone is enough to be almost a bit shocking in it's exotic atmosphere and beauty, you can hardly believe your eyes. As nice as the Blue Lagoon (and their restaurant Lava) was, the big bonus was that the clinic itself had a lagoon to rival it, and there were no throngs of tourists there. The only catch is that it is open to the non-treatment getting guests only in the mornings and in the evenings. If our flight wasn't leaving so early we would have had a swim there in the morning. TIP: Even if it's summer, and seemingly quiet weather, dress properly for the walk over to the Blue Lagoon (windbreaker, good shoes). The wind and steam and fog really got us quite wet by the time we walked over.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiselystenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We spent our last night in Iceland at the Blue Lagoon Clinic since it is a short drive to the Airport. I was particularly glad to have made the reservation since we had access to our own pool. A friend had mentioned that the larger more public lagoon had bits of hair at the bottom and wasn't as nice.

The hotel was beautiful and I was pleased with our room. We traveled with two children - one had an extra bed and the other slept between us with the two beds pushed together and there was PLENTY of room. The beds were also extremely comfortable and the breakfast was great. The woman who was working the front desk was so helpful and pleasant with arranging a taxi, extra pillows and the many questions we asked.

My only negative was that the floor in our room needed a bit more sweeping but it was truly a wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmyBratAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. We arrived at about 7AM at the hotel from a overnight flight from NYC. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They suggested that we take a dip in the private lagoon (available for the guests before 10AM and after 6PM, but the staff are really lax about this if there are no patients using the private pool) while waiting for our room. It was the best cure for our jet lag. Our room was ready at about 8AM (talk about early check-in). In the meantime, the staff offered coffee and tea. There is also a computer for us to check our email, plenty of lounge space. We took a very nice nap and then rented bikes (for $4 / day) to ride to the nearest town Grindavik (about 30 min ride). The next day we went to the main lagoon, but honestly we liked our private lagoon better. Less people and cleaner. The only thing that you don't have at the private lagoon is the massages, which is a must do if you can.

The breakfast buffet was awesome. Icelandic food is very fresh and organic. The bus to Reykjavik or the airport picks up from the hotel, so that was very convenient. We had a wonderful and relaxing time at the hotel. The staff are all so friendly and allowed us to wondering around the hotel without being intrusive at all. Our rooms were clean and the view into the lava field was unreal. We had a lot of privacy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulupitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed at the Clinic in order to be near to the Blue Lagoon. As it turned out, the Clinic's own small lagoon (open for guests only between 8-10 am and 8-10 pm) was much better for our needs than the larger, public facility. I saw some really disturbingly unhygienic behavior at the larger Blue Lagoon facility and was so appalled that I couldn't face going back in the water there (though I think it's actually very clean, and the volume of water is such that I'm sure there's no real danger from what I saw -- public sex -- but it was still really, really gross).

Anyway, back to the Clinic!

PROS:

--The facility is very attractive
--Rooms are exactly as pictured, with TONS of closet space
--Breakfast is fantastic and delicious
--Public facilities are clean and well-cared-for
--The entire complex is quiet and extremely relaxing
--Staff were helpful for calling taxis, giving advice, and contacting tour companies
--Towel warmer and bath robes very helpful
--Rooms were totally quiet, even though the clinic was full at our visit (including some young children)
--Free internet at their computer or with a cord (no wireless, but there is wireless in the cafe at the public Blue Lagoon facility)

CONS:

--This isn't really a hotel, and they seemed to be lacking some basic items like extra pillows, enough bath linens, etc. We were provided with one small pillow each (two per room) but really needed more to be comfortable. When we asked for extra pillows, we were told there just weren't any. Similarly, our bathmat wasn't replaced after being taken away, so we used the hand-towels successively for that purpose until we were left just with bath towels (which weren't dirty and we were able to dry and reuse them).

--The light-blocking shades make it possible only to darken the room partially during 24-hour daylight, making a sleep mask a necessity. If you don't sleep well with a sleep mask on or are quite light-sensitive, this can make for a fairly excruciating stay. You might consider bringing non-marking tape to attach the shades to the windows at night.

--Daily cleaning in the room seemed haphazard at best. It's not up to the standard of even budget hotels in the US. We did our own cleaning for the most part. However, the basic cleanliness of the room when we arrived was fine (there was a beer bottle and cigarette on the terrace that had not been removed, but the room itself was clean).

Other notes: This is a fine place to stay, and is easily accessible from Reykjavik or Keflavik airport via scheduled coaches to the Blue Lagoon (just ask to be dropped at the Clinic). However, it is hard to Reykjavik without a car before noon, since the earliest bus from the Lagoon to town is at 11:15 or 11:30. If this isn't a problem for you, you wouldn't even need a car here. Tour companies will gladly pick up at the Clinic, and we found this very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2010

If you're driving and have a GPS enter Bláa Lónið into the search and still follow the road signs to that destination. We didn't at first and the GPS took us on an off road driving adventure.
We decided to start our Iceland vacation at the Blue Lagoon in order to get a jump start an relaxation. Our flight landed in the morning so we had an early check in with a very friendly staff. Check in was easy and quick.
We got situated in our room and then headed over to the Blue Lagoon for an in water massage which was amazing. Our luggage had been delayed and we were able to get free suits and towels. The admission to the Blue Lagoon was also free for staying at the clinic.
The beds were comfortable and cozy and the bathroom area had heated floors and a heated towel rack. The shower was wonderful. They had Blue Lagoon shampoo/soap and conditioner provided in a pump on the wall but I didn't feel that it really got my hair clean. You have to wash several times and use lots of conditioner to get the silica mud out of your hair. The blinds and curtains don't black out enough of the daylight so bring an eye mask for sleeping.
The next morning we had breakfast of skyr, toast, cheese, and fruit in the dining area. It was very casual as nearly everyone was in their robes. There is a coffee machine that makes tasty single cups of coffee, espresso or latte that is available at any time.
Then we headed into the clinic pools and floated around for awhile on the inner tubes. My face still feels soft and looks glowy from the silica mud mask.
Check out was easy and quick as well. We signed the guest book and hope to be back. The welcome we had here was the best start to our trip and we were happy guests!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen60647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We had a flight arriving in at 23:00 into the airport so we looked for somewhere close by that we didn't have a long drive in the rental car on arrival. Having arrived in the dark, in the morning we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel - including their own thermal pools ( with limited opening times) . A stay here allows free access into the Blue Lagoon which means it is even better value for money if you are planning a visit anyway. Rooms are spacious and clean - Scandinavian in style
Unfortunately by the time we had visited the Blue Lagoon, it was time to check out and so we didn't get a chance to sample any of the hotels other facilities. Perhaps next time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
0.4 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
24.1 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,523 reviews
7.6 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silica Hotel

Property: Silica Hotel
Address: Grindavik 240, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Hotel Class:4 star — Silica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a stunning lava landscape, Silica Hotel is just ten minutes' walk from the Blue Lagoon. The hotel offers its own private bathing lagoon, available for hotel guests every day from 09:00 to 22:00. The Hotel has won several design awards. Built in harmony with the surrounding landscape, it offers an oasis of calm, relaxation, and healing. The hotel has 35 bright and spacious double/twin rooms. All rooms offer private facilities and a veranda, with breathtaking views of the surrounding lava fields. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Clinic Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel Grindavik
Silica Hotel Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing