We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“serene indulgence in the pool and in the room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Silica Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grindavik
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silica Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Certificate of Excellence
Akureyri, Iceland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“serene indulgence in the pool and in the room”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This is my favorite place to stay when arriving in or departing from Iceland. The proximity to the airport makes it very easy to incorporate this lovely place into travel plans. My boyfriend and I arrived to Iceland very early in the morning, and the staff at the Clinic were able to check us in to the room early. That was very appreciated, as it allowed us to unpack and go for a swim immediately. The pool at the Clinic has been so relaxing and lovely that I haven't been to the large public Blue Lagoon pool yet.
The beds are fantastic, and the rooms are spacious and quiet. There are expansive views from each room, however the rooms and their patios feel very private. It's a perfect location for lounging in the provided bathrobes after relaxing in the pool.
Breakfast is a typical Scandinavian fare of meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, fruit, cereal and yogurt. Dinner at the Blue Lagoon is nice, but expensive. Friends of mine have taken picnic foods for dinner when they stay at the Clinic, and I think that I will do the same during my next stay.
I highly recommend the Blue Lagoon Clinic for restful solitude or for a cozy, romantic excursion.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenFromTheIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    203
    52
    20
    10
See reviews for
115
449
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn, nyc
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Ditto what everyone else said. It's a great way to end your trip, given it's proximity to the airport. Plus, your body will probably thank you for a warm soak after all the hiking and exploring from your trip.

The check-in was efficient. The front desk provided clear information on how to use the main facilities and helped us print out our boarding passes. The room was clean and had a nice view of the lava fields. Breakfast was quite good in comparison to some of the other places we stayed in Iceland.

As someone else mentioned - the private lagoon here is only for the guests of the 15 rooms. It's large and quiet, and you can avoid crowds, but it is only open from 8 - 10 AM and PM - and, there are no sauna facilities. The rest of the time you'll have to use the main lagoon facilities, and if you factor in the fact that a free pass is included in your room rate, it's actually a pretty good deal. Free coffee, internet and a quiet atmosphere are all a plus. Just make sure you stay away from the Lava restaurant that's located in the main facility!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dailln4n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Blue Lagoon Clinic has a unique location in the middle of a lava field. Our room was huge, with a small terrace overlooking the lava field. the rooms are very modern and comfortable and tastefully furnished. The breakfast was very good and there were fresh fruits for the gusets the whole day long. But the best thing about this hotel is that is has a private Blue Lagoon for guests only. As there were not many other guests at the time of our stay we often had the whole lagoon just for ourselves. Although the Blue Lagoon Clinic is quite pricey it was was every cent we paid for it. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisekiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I would generally agree with what is written by the two reviewers directly below - so i won't repeat what they have said - but i did want to emphasize some points about the clinic:

1. It is a clinic and not a hotel and not a spa. So have that expectation in mind when you arrive. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the small patio of each room overlooking the lava fields is quite something! You sleep very soundly as it is soooo quiet - not a place for children.

2. If you have dietary issues, bring your own food to eat. Breakfast is decent but is quite basic (you won't be getting a fresh made omelette or waffles here - it's more like a boiled egg with some fruit, cereal, meats, yoghurts and cheeses). We went for dinner at the Lava Restaurant at the main lagoon site - it is the only place to get lunch/dinner. The food and service was very good.

3. The FlyBus drops you off outside the main Blue Lagoon and not outside the clinic. Therefore, if you take the FlyBus and have luggage, be prepared to drag it 10 minutes along a gravel path - it's a lovely view but not the easiest thing to do however.

4. The clinic offers treatment of psoriasis only and does not offer general massages/spa services which is a shame - you have to go to the main site for those.

5. The clinic lagoon is in my opinion nicer than the main site lagoon.

6. The bike rental was really cheap and lots of fun - we got to bike around to a small industrial fishing village - the landscape was lovely and the air clean. I'm surprised the clinic doesn't advertize the bike rental more.

7. There is one computer in the clinic lounge where you can use the internet.

I highly recommend going there for serenity and the hot springs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foufikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
374 reviews
358 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 623 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

If you have an early flight out or a late flight into Keflavik, and if you have a rent-a-car, this hotel may be a recommendation (however there is also hotels directly at the airport). The Blue Lagoon Clinic is one of only two hotels near the Blue Lagoon, and clearly it is better than the Northern Lights Inn, which has no pool/lagoon of its own, which is even farther away and which is even less sophisticated designed than the Blue Lagoon Clinic. Both hotels have equally mediocre service (typical for Northern Europe unfortunately). Both are not really walking distance to the Lagoon, because after the hot water I doubt that one wants to walk several hundred meters in the cold. Breakfast was very weak at the Clinic and starts not before 7.30. What really annoyed me is the closure of the pool between 10 pm and 8am. My flight arrived at midnight and I would have loved to relax in the hot water. It is a shame that with such an asset (the beautiful hot springs in the barren lava surroundinsg) the Icelanders don't provide a better product. If you compare the Blue Lagoon to Thalasso Therapies in France or Spas in Austria/Switzerland or some upmarket Ayurvedic clinics in India, it is really the least sophisticated and least developed in the market.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We decided to stop over for one evening on our flight from Europe en route to Boston. This place really has the feel of a spa rather than a hotel, and I mean that in the best way. However, this is not the place to bring small children as it is very quiet, peaceful and zen-like. Also, there is no bar or restaurant, obviously (but they do make reservations for you at the nearby Lava Restaurant at the Blue Lagoon), but it does have a very lovely breakfast room overlooking it's own lagoon which serves great coffee/tea and it provides a healthy, nutritious breakfast selection. There is a soda machine in the lobby. The rooms look just like they do on the Blue Lagoon website and actually seem a bit bigger in real life with an almost surreal, small patio looking onto a lavascape horizon. The beds were extremely comfortable, and there was no shortage of hot water in the tiled bathroom. Their toiletries were the Blue Lagoon brand shampoo and conditioner.

We came for one night, specifically to swim at the Blue Lagoon and there is a lovely black sand/gravel path through the landscape from the hotel all the way to the front door of the Blue Lagoon which takes about 10 minutes. If you have never been to Iceland, just this path alone is enough to be almost a bit shocking in it's exotic atmosphere and beauty, you can hardly believe your eyes. As nice as the Blue Lagoon (and their restaurant Lava) was, the big bonus was that the clinic itself had a lagoon to rival it, and there were no throngs of tourists there. The only catch is that it is open to the non-treatment getting guests only in the mornings and in the evenings. If our flight wasn't leaving so early we would have had a swim there in the morning. TIP: Even if it's summer, and seemingly quiet weather, dress properly for the walk over to the Blue Lagoon (windbreaker, good shoes). The wind and steam and fog really got us quite wet by the time we walked over.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiselystenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We spent our last night in Iceland at the Blue Lagoon Clinic since it is a short drive to the Airport. I was particularly glad to have made the reservation since we had access to our own pool. A friend had mentioned that the larger more public lagoon had bits of hair at the bottom and wasn't as nice.

The hotel was beautiful and I was pleased with our room. We traveled with two children - one had an extra bed and the other slept between us with the two beds pushed together and there was PLENTY of room. The beds were also extremely comfortable and the breakfast was great. The woman who was working the front desk was so helpful and pleasant with arranging a taxi, extra pillows and the many questions we asked.

My only negative was that the floor in our room needed a bit more sweeping but it was truly a wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmyBratAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
0.4 mi away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
930 reviews
2.6 mi away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
237 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
958 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
845 reviews
7.6 mi away
Base Hotel
Base Hotel
#6 of 9 in Keflavik
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silica Hotel

Property: Silica Hotel
Address: Grindavik 240, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Grindavik
Hotel Class:4 star — Silica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a stunning lava landscape, Silica Hotel is just ten minutes' walk from the Blue Lagoon. The hotel offers its own private bathing lagoon, available for hotel guests every day from 09:00 to 22:00. The Hotel has won several design awards. Built in harmony with the surrounding landscape, it offers an oasis of calm, relaxation, and healing. The hotel has 35 bright and spacious double/twin rooms. All rooms offer private facilities and a veranda, with breathtaking views of the surrounding lava fields. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Clinic Grindavik
Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel Grindavik
Silica Hotel Iceland/Grindavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing