We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland retreat?”
Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Hotel was basic but comfortable. Nothing much to look at from the outside but inside warm and welcoming. Food was excellent-the chef did an excellent job although because we were on a package we did not have a choice. Manager was very enthusiastic about the Northern Lights but we did not see them. The hotel was a bit off the beaten track so everyday at least one hour in a coach before we could start exploring and the same in the evening. Not sure the remote location, with the off chance of seeing the Northern lights justified all this travelling

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dijw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a tour of Iceland. We didn't choose it. When we drove up I though "uh oh". From the outside the hotel looks like a Quonset hut in the middle of no where. However when we walked through the door the Icelandic chill (we were there in October) melted away. The staff was warm and welcoming. The room was small but clean, comfortable (including fluffy down duvets) and functional. The restaurant offered delicious lamb and arctic char. Outside we had a fantastic view of the aurora borealis as well as easy access to the highland scenery.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksmd_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a 50th birthday present for my husband. We were on a half board basis which was fine given that Iceland is so expensive. We had a 'basic' room (which was booked for us via the package we had with Discover The World) which was fine because not much time was spent in the room anyway. The breakfast was more than adequate with cereals, hams, cheese, salad, toast, eggs etc. All the evening meals we had were lovely (three courses) although we were told by our guide what it was going to be each night so a bit of choice would have been nice. Nicely located in a remote area, better for seeing the lights we were told, however, luck wasn't on our side and we didn't see them but still had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Take some of your own alcohol as it's very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElleSouthStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Highland for one night after driving through the highlands.
Booked a two-bedroom family appartment for two adults and two grown-up children. As the manager proposed when I made the booking, they had installed two sofa beds for my sons in the living room since the bunk beds in the second bedroom would have been too small for them. Good service, only disadvantage of this arrangement was that you cannot keep the light out of the living room during the summer nights. Appartment was good size and well equiped except for the very tiny bathroom.
I can definitely recommend the restaurant: this was the best hotel restaurant we had diner in during our 10-day trip in Iceland. Athough they had a large group to service, we were attended to very well and the food and wine were excellent.
Only disadvantage was the price. I guess the management know that they probably have the only decent hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

You are really away from it all here. No highways, just birds and sheep as neighbors. Within a days circular drive are many amazing sights. From volcanoes, highland meadows, rhyolite, obsidian and barren black fields. Because we booked late we ended up in an apartment, which was lovely. Double bed, living room, kitchen, bath and room with two bunk beds. Lots of room after our previous "cabin" It rained both days we were there but the nice man at the sister facility mapped out a great sightseeing plan and it didn't dampen our spirits. The food was wonderful. Strangely again no skyr at breakfast. Great free wifi, face cloths, hair dryer, communial hot tub, Kettle for bring your own coffee and tea. Nice terry robes and slippers. And for the first time black out blinds- with cracks, but better than nothing in summer. Loved the place- really relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in an apartment- sleeps at least four- if two are children (bunk beds for two).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We went on a trip organised by Discover the World and this included a 3 night stay in Hotel Highland which was very well placed to see the sights and the Northern Lights which did appear during our stay! Although the rooms are fairly compact the general standard of the hotel was excellent. The staff were superb. The beds comfortable and the food outstanding! There were cosy seating areas and a small bar. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaypeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

During an organized bus tour through Iceland, I have stayed at this hotel for one night.

After reading the not so good reviews, I was a bit wary, but ended up being satisfied with this hotel. The rooms are very clean and quiet, the food in the restaurant was excellent, with a quick and friendly service. The bed was comfortable and I slept really well here. I had Wifi in the room, but that may be because it was located directly beside the lobby. I saw people with their laptops sitting there, so Wifi may not be available in all rooms. There was also a jacuzzi available (and bath robes in the cupboard) which unfortunately I had no time to use.

What I didn't like so much: There was not enough space for putting the suitcase or for a desk. There was a cupboard, but space could have been organized a bit better I think. The shower door had become unhinged somewhere and was quite hard to open and close. I was afraid I would end up holding it in my hand. Also the reception is only open from 15:00 which forces you to settle everything the night before or when you arrive.

Overall, I would stay here again for a night or two, but probably not for longer. It's a good starting point for trip into the Landmannalaugar area though.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GundamWing101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
20.8 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
531 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
21.4 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
348 reviews
21.4 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
36 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Address: Road F26, Hella 850, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: £63 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Highland is a three star hotel situated at the edge of the Iceland’s most impressive and active volcanic area. From here it is a short distance to many of the most beautiful and popular tourist attractions in the highlands. The area is teeming with great sites for adventure and is the perfect base for visiting as many of them as time allows. It also has a great location to try out all the activities the region has to offer. The vastness and lack of human impact on the surrounding area makes it truly one of the last places in Europe where freedom, natural beauty and solitude are combined in a breathtakingly powerful experience. Hotel Highland offers 16 standard rooms and 4 suites, 2 Family suites for up to 6 people and 2 Luxury suites for up to 4 people. In addition Hotel Highland offers a gourmet restaurant, bar, sauna and outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel is well accessible by paved road all year round and is only 150 km from Reykjavik. We recommend guests that are planning on staying with us during Winter season to have a 4WD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing