We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for base of lava fields , great quality”
Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Doesn't look much but rooms were nice, breakfast included and dinners were first rate quality. Like a lot of Iceland, expensive even compared to London ! Good "out there location" providing opportunities for lava field exposure and walking trails. If we hadn't gone that far to stay, unlikely to have travelled into the lava fields, down to landmannalauger ( 35 klm) across some strange country and "roads" . Friendly staff

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

We drove the F208 (stunning scenery) in the obligatory 4x4 on the way to the Highland Hotel, which sits pretty much in the middle of nowhere just below a small power station (don’t let this put you off) and I guess about 1k from another very busy/popular hotel (think it was a hotel). That’s it out here.

The hotel is interesting in its own weird way. It’s not attractive from the outside in any way at all and is built for a purpose - to withstand harsh winter weather and be functional. Fantastic open views 360 as far as the eye can see. Bet this place is cold and windy in winter.

Room 1, a suite, had a spacious & comfortable lounge area, bathroom that could have done with some anti-mould treatment and grouting, plus a good-sized bedroom. It was stuffy (needed airing) which we sorted by leaving the front/back doors open.

The restaurant was like stepping back in time but the fish main course was very good and my wife thought her cod was the best she’s ever had, anywhere. Service was quick and the staff very jolly and attentive.

We woke to the sound of sheep. Wasn’t expecting that in the middle of nowhere. They seemed to find the metal ladder on the outside of our room perfect for scratching their head and horns on hence the odd banging sound at 6am. It initially confused us then amused as and is all part of what made the Highland Hotel memorable.

Cold breakfast only.

As is the case with Iceland, it’s not cheap. £392 for a room, 2 course dinner and basic bottle of white wine.

Just arrive with low expectations. It’s a place I’ll remember.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Free wifi! That's a first here in iceland, you often pay 1500 ISK (8 dollars/euros's) per day for that. Everything is relatively modern and very clean. Food is good. Has a hot-tub if you're into that. The manager is a very nice iceland-buff and knows everything and actively tries to improve your journey. That last thing is new as well in this country (worst service anywhere in the world i recon).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimNomNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Located closest to the Landmannalauger hiking area and trails, it is an excellent place to stop. For us we stayed in the area 4 nights and need a place to relax and spread out after all the travelling and hiking over the past few days prior to getting there and before doing more hikes. Although the price is higher for the suite, on the cost per area you are getting three times the room size but not for three times the price. It overlooks the open spaces and serves great food.

Room Tip: I think the suites are worth the extra cost if you are staying several nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed for three nights here on a group tour of Iceland.

We weren't expecting great things from this hotel, based on how remote it is, but it exceeded our expectations.

The hotel appears to be run by a husband/wife team acting as receptionists/waiters/cleaners etc, plus a chef in the evenings. Considering the small team, service was excellent. Dinners were among the best meals we had in Iceland, and the choice at breakfast was enough to satisfy everyone.

Rooms were comfortable and clean, but nothing special - but our days were so filled with activities that we hardly spent time in them during the day, and at night we spent time viewing the Northern Lights.

The only real issue with this hotel is it's location. It takes over an hour to reach route 1, meaning that for at least two hours each day, we spent driving before or after our tour. If you want to be in the same area and avoid this driving, then Hotel Ranga is better positioned - but I don't know how it compares in other respects. For our trip, there was no real advantage in the location of the Highland Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delapre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

As we too were travelling with "Discover the World" on the "Northern Lights and Volcanoes" trip, our experience echoes that of previous reviewers. The road to the hotel was very icy when we were there, so the driving was quite hairy, although our driver, Otto, was excellent. Because the hotel is so remote it took ages to get to other sights on our itinerary, over an hour of which was on the same stretch of road to and fro. The owner of the hotel is passionate and very knowledgeable about the Northern Lights and gave us an interesting, but long, talk on our arrival, raising our hopes that we might see them, but unfortunately we did not! Facilities were quite basic, but comfortable, and the food portions were generous. Breakfasts were good, but there was no hot option. We declined the cod liver oil available on the breakfast bar! The hot tub was popular with guests, but the sauna was too hot for most!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building mean you don't get cold and risk slipping over on the ice when going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed here on the Northern Lights and Volcanoes trip with Discover the World. It is basic but relatively comfortable with friendly and helpful staff, plus quality food at dinner. The standard rooms offer nothing much other than a bed and a good shower - in a very small ensuite with thin walls! However we slept well and were always warm. We knew that the hotel was inland, but with the ice and snow conditions it regularly took an hour to 90 minutes to get up or down to the coastal road. For anyone booking during the winter, don't forget that's a lot of travel in the dark.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiltshireBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
20.8 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,699 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
20.4 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
21.3 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Address: Road F26, Hella 850, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: £62 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Highland is a three star hotel situated at the edge of the Iceland’s most impressive and active volcanic area. From here it is a short distance to many of the most beautiful and popular tourist attractions in the highlands. The area is teeming with great sites for adventure and is the perfect base for visiting as many of them as time allows. It also has a great location to try out all the activities the region has to offer. The vastness and lack of human impact on the surrounding area makes it truly one of the last places in Europe where freedom, natural beauty and solitude are combined in a breathtakingly powerful experience. Hotel Highland offers 16 standard rooms and 4 suites, 2 Family suites for up to 6 people and 2 Luxury suites for up to 4 people. In addition Hotel Highland offers a gourmet restaurant, bar, sauna and outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel is well accessible by paved road all year round and is only 150 km from Reykjavik. We recommend guests that are planning on staying with us during Winter season to have a 4WD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing