We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Highland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is where we saw the magical Northern Light. The staff will alert you if the Light appears.
We found the staff were very friendly, helpful through out. The food was excellent and the hotel was very clean.
However, we found our room was very compact, not enough heating in sub zero temperature ( I had to ask for extra blanket) and there was a strong musty smell in the bathroom even though it was clean. The extractor fan didn’t work so the smell lingers. We were told the hotel normally shuts for winter and only open specially for our big group, may be this was why. TV reception was poor and limited channels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldeneye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Let me start by saying that it is important not to be put off by the external appearance of the hotel - or the reception area. This really is a cracker of a hotel!
First, depending on which direction you approach the hotel, it is important to leave plenty of time for the trip because this hotel really is rural - and with a capital "R".
As I have noted, it looks pretty bleak at first sight and when we arrived it was dark, lashing down with rain and our main idea was escaping. However, inside it is a delight. We had a lovely room for the price which was graciously furnished - again for the price - immaculately presented and thoroughly pleasant.
The staff - Polish itinerant workers like many of the hotels in Iceland - could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful.
However, the best was still to come. We had a superb, reasonably priced meal - and that's not a comment that we made often regarding food in Iceland - which showed the very best of authentic Icelandic cuisine. Naturally, the chef was Polish!
In the morning, we had the best breakfast of our whole trip.
Overall, the whole experience was absolutely perfect and we would make a diversion to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had the very end room which had magnificent views over the rugged moorland and this would be our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gooddayahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were a group of 8 persons( 3 families) shared 2 family rooms. The location was great after a day on beautifull F208 road and hiking in langmannalauger. The family rooms has 2 bedrooms 1 double/twin and the other has 2 bench beds on obove other. The beds are comfortable. The living area is large and the kitchen was well equiped . We cooked dinner and ate all together in one of the rooms. A lot of shampoo , body lotions etc, Hair dryer.
The breakfast was one of our best in iceland.
The price was higher then average . But due to location , facilities abd breakfast is was good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efrat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We drove the stunning highland route Sprengisandur over the abandon lava desert. Amazing drive over 200km on gravel roads hardly encounter any traffic. Fantastic.
We had a wonderful night sleep at Hotel Highland. Quite and spacious rooms, remote and nice hotel. Stunning sun set and great healthy breakfast.
Our family-room was an apartment with everything you needed for the night - incl. cooking if you like. Separate master bedroom with good fairly new beds and bunk beds for the kids on the other side of a small corridor. Nice living room and small hall. All decor was retro nordic '70-style. Rates are expensive but for once we had lots of space and a good healthy cold breakfast.
Very friendly and competent staff. Free wifi.

Room Tip: Try the hot tub. Open the cabinet at the bathroom and find lots of shampoo etc. All family rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Doesn't look much but rooms were nice, breakfast included and dinners were first rate quality. Like a lot of Iceland, expensive even compared to London ! Good "out there location" providing opportunities for lava field exposure and walking trails. If we hadn't gone that far to stay, unlikely to have travelled into the lava fields, down to landmannalauger ( 35 klm) across some strange country and "roads" . Friendly staff

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We drove the F208 (stunning scenery) in the obligatory 4x4 on the way to the Highland Hotel, which sits pretty much in the middle of nowhere just below a small power station (don’t let this put you off) and I guess about 1k from another very busy/popular hotel (think it was a hotel). That’s it out here.

The hotel is interesting in its own weird way. It’s not attractive from the outside in any way at all and is built for a purpose - to withstand harsh winter weather and be functional. Fantastic open views 360 as far as the eye can see. Bet this place is cold and windy in winter.

Room 1, a suite, had a spacious & comfortable lounge area, bathroom that could have done with some anti-mould treatment and grouting, plus a good-sized bedroom. It was stuffy (needed airing) which we sorted by leaving the front/back doors open.

The restaurant was like stepping back in time but the fish main course was very good and my wife thought her cod was the best she’s ever had, anywhere. Service was quick and the staff very jolly and attentive.

We woke to the sound of sheep. Wasn’t expecting that in the middle of nowhere. They seemed to find the metal ladder on the outside of our room perfect for scratching their head and horns on hence the odd banging sound at 6am. It initially confused us then amused as and is all part of what made the Highland Hotel memorable.

Cold breakfast only.

As is the case with Iceland, it’s not cheap. £392 for a room, 2 course dinner and basic bottle of white wine.

Just arrive with low expectations. It’s a place I’ll remember.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Free wifi! That's a first here in iceland, you often pay 1500 ISK (8 dollars/euros's) per day for that. Everything is relatively modern and very clean. Food is good. Has a hot-tub if you're into that. The manager is a very nice iceland-buff and knows everything and actively tries to improve your journey. That last thing is new as well in this country (worst service anywhere in the world i recon).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimNomNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
20.8 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
543 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
21.4 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
21.3 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Address: Road F26, Hella 850, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: £62 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Highland is a three star hotel situated at the edge of the Iceland’s most impressive and active volcanic area. From here it is a short distance to many of the most beautiful and popular tourist attractions in the highlands. The area is teeming with great sites for adventure and is the perfect base for visiting as many of them as time allows. It also has a great location to try out all the activities the region has to offer. The vastness and lack of human impact on the surrounding area makes it truly one of the last places in Europe where freedom, natural beauty and solitude are combined in a breathtakingly powerful experience. Hotel Highland offers 16 standard rooms and 4 suites, 2 Family suites for up to 6 people and 2 Luxury suites for up to 4 people. In addition Hotel Highland offers a gourmet restaurant, bar, sauna and outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel is well accessible by paved road all year round and is only 150 km from Reykjavik. We recommend guests that are planning on staying with us during Winter season to have a 4WD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Fastbooking so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing