We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse at Hestheimar
Ranked #4 of 10 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Excellent hospitality, very welcoming and helpful with excursion ideas. Lovely accommodation and breakfast. I got to see the northern lights from the hottub what could be better! Excellent location just off the 1 with the attractions of the south coast (waterfalls and glacier walking) all within 20-40 minutes away. Close to Hella for great meals at the Cafe Arhus. Can't wait for my return. What a lovely place and lovely people.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseTab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    47
    17
    11
    9
See reviews for
58
75
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glarus, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have just come back from my fourth stay at Hestheimar this year, 4 days of autumnal golden sunshine and excellent horse riding conditions - the staff was friendly as ever - though changing over the year - and the food delicious as one has got used over the years. The cosy room in the main building provided a comfortable retreat for the few hours not spent on horseback
After dinner i enjoyed the starlight and full moon in the hotpot... dreams came true even without northern lights this time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

This is located a really convenient distance from the main city. The breakfast is really amazing, with fresh breads, lovely jams, some hot eggs. Our room was the apartment next to the horse barn. It had a nice little kitchenette, a bedroom with 2 full beds and a day bed in the family room. The family room also had a couch and nice coffee table.

A few drawbacks to the place were that the curtains were not really effective in blocking out the light, and the horseflies were quick to come in through the front door. But these were minor annoyances.

We did go horseback riding one day, and it was fun! The ponies were quite short and docile. The guide knew her stuff, and put up with me as a novice rider. It was the classic Icelandic Dude Ranch!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KangaTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The room was just ok-about average, We shared a bath with the staff girl from Switzerland. Room had no sink, most other hotels with shared bath do include a private sink, but no big deal or problem. Perhaps I should have splurged on a private bath room, they are larger too. Hotpot is a plastic model, but the view is superb. Horses about 15' away browsing grass while we soak.

You need at least 2 nights here, that way you can go horseriding. We are no experts but it's lots of fun. Icelandic horses are famous for the tölt, a unique gallop style. A major reason for stopping here is to ride. If you are just stopping for a night, this is too far off the beaten trail and there is nothing nearby. Our guide was from Austria, very friendly but only mediocre English.

The owner, Leah, is very friendly and is there for BF and dinner. She is avid horse girl and well traveled. I think she must speak about 100 languages. She was chatting everybody in various tongues.

The best BF and and food of our trip. The cook (also from Switz- the boyfriend of hostess) does a great job. Homemade muffins, cookies all day long, fried eggs, definitely a step up BF from average hotel fare. Since you are middle of nowhere, dinner with the family is highly recommended. They started with salmon and other appetizers, then eventually moved to leg of lamb (don't be in a hurry-your not at McDonalds, this is an all evening affair), and finished with homemade Icelandic skyr for desert (yogurt-ice-cream-cottage cheese cousin). The dinner was great, very filling, very traditional. All the family comes up to the guesthouse to eat with the customers, so this doesn't feel like a restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werl, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I arrived by chance at Hestheimar and was welcomed very warmly. My room was in a nice decorated cottage with a great and comfortable kitchen and living room. All the people were very friendly and helpful. If you like to ride this is a very recommendable adress. For the first time after 35 years I sat on a horse and they chose one of these friendly nice horses and I enjoyed it a lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is probably my favorite place we stayed at during our trip to southern Iceland. We stayed two nights. We like horses, but aren't avid riders but thought it would be fun and different to stay on a farm..Boy was it, the location is beautiful with rolling hills as far as the eye can see with horses everywhere. The young staff were very kind and helpful and breakfast was excellent. They made homemade breads and pastries, mini pancakes and eggs along with an assortment of items to choose from. rooms are basic but clean. But what really made this place special for me was sitting in the hot tub watching the sun go down surrounded by all these horses. Priceless!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank paulandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We are family of 5 (parents + 3 adults). We stayed two nights at Hestheimar (2 rooms). Nice rooms, nice views, horses outside. Also hot tub. Good family atmosphere, very welcoming. Rich breakfast (we also had good dinner). One comment, the 3rd bed in the kids room is a folding bed, not very comfortable (the same case also in other places we stayed in).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
6.1 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
466 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,582 reviews
5.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
189 reviews
7.1 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
318 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#2 of 10 in Hella
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse at Hestheimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse at Hestheimar

Property: Guesthouse at Hestheimar
Address: Asahreppi Hestheimar, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse at Hestheimar 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Hot tubs. One outside the main building, the other by the Guest house. Great view over volcano Hekla and Eyjafjallajokull. Only 1 hour's drive from the capital, Reykjavik. Free Wi Fi. Free parking. Great location in South Iceland. Horse rental open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse at Hestheimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse At Hestheimar Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing