We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booking.com screwup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse at Hestheimar
Ranked #4 of 9 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Booking.com screwup”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Last summer, my family circumnavigated Iceland over two weeks. Best trip ever. Our last night before departing, I booked two rooms through booking.com at Hestheimar. When we arrived in the evening, however, the host insisted we had only booked on of the rooms. In addition, there were no more rooms available, so my wife and I had to take a room where the staff lived. The host was nice and let us stay in this extra room for free. Despite this nice gesture, this mixup wasn't what we were expecting.

To top it off, a worker hit our rental car before we left. Not the best way to conclude our trip.

I think an "average" rating is appropriate, despite these big hiccups, because I think our short experience was an aberration. But I hope the management now has a better grasp on using booking.com to reserve its rooms. (I confirmed once back in the States that he had, in fact, booked both rooms.)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    47
    17
    11
    9
See reviews for
58
75
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We checked in very late to the guesthouse after a long day driving. The hosts were friendly and made check-in easy. It felt like arriving in paradise - totally quiet, with a hot pot all to ourselves overlooking the meadows, nothing but birds, horses, and one wandering cat. And the midnight sun. The beds were very comfy too and the shower was excellent. Nice bathrobes provided and a homey, tranquil atmosphere all around. Good value. My only regret is that we didn't have more time there. Would've loved to ride the horses in that pretty spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjkielpinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussigny-pres-Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Definitely the best place at which we spent a night during our trip in Iceland! We were lucky enough to sleep in one of the new cottages which are awesome. They organize tours with their horses, but we unfortunately did not know this beforehand. The owners are lovely and the area is really beautiful. I definitely would recommend this place!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nyenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages and it was beautiful. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen well stocked. My only regret is we didn't stay for more nights.

The horseback riding was one of the highlights of our trip. If you have kids, the pool in Heckla (nearby) is a great addition. Besides the requisite hot pot, they have a great set of water slides.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCT04421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was staying for 5 days at riding clinic in the main building.Very friendly,cozy atmosphere and great hospitality.Nice ,clean rooms and bathrooms. Food was excellent. Great place to stay too if you plan to travel around southern Iceland.Stay here and come back in the evening for tasty dinner!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiina209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

this is a guesthouse on a horse-riding farm. very nice interior, and super helpful staff. heard/smelt the yummy breakfast, but since we are in a rush to get to our next destination, we decided to skip it. spotlessly clean room. no hestiation staying in the same place again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at Hestheimar our first night in Iceland, and it was a great experience. The cottages are so cozy, cute, and clean. It was a relaxing way to get over our jetlag. The next day we signed up for the one-hour horse riding, which was great as well. Next time I'm in Iceland, I want to stay there again! Oh, and the breakfast was delicious too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chitra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
6.1 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Borealis
Hotel Borealis
#3 of 8 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
6.1 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#3 of 9 in Hella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
7.2 mi away
Guesthouse Bitra B&B
Guesthouse Bitra B&B
#3 of 26 in Selfoss
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse at Hestheimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse at Hestheimar

Property: Guesthouse at Hestheimar
Address: Asahreppi Hestheimar, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse at Hestheimar 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Hot tubs. One outside the main building, the other by the Guest house. Great view over volcano Hekla and Eyjafjallajokull. Only 1 hour's drive from the capital, Reykjavik. Free Wi Fi. Free parking. Great location in South Iceland. Horse rental open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse at Hestheimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse At Hestheimar Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing