We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.”
Review of Guesthouse Nonni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guesthouse Nonni
Ranked #3 of 10 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay.”
Reviewed 26 March 2012 via mobile

We have just left Guesthouse Nonni after two nights in Hella. We found Nonni to be a wealth of information and very helpful sorting out a days trip for us when our first choice was cancelled due to roads being closed. We saw some great sights that he recommended off the beaten tourist track. Breakfasts were special with a lot of the breads being homemade. Also fascinating to hear first hand about Icelandic news and culture. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colin7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
139
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Thanks Nonni for inviting us to your home. We very much enjoyed the wonderful breakfast and your wonderful company.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hansley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

A year ago my husband and I started to make plans for our honeymoon in May to Iceland, looking for a place to stay we found the "Guesthouse Nonni" it was the best place we could stay. Nonni is just adorable and the best guide you can find, he has inside tips and stories to tell, you can even learn a bit of the language too. Breakfast was the best time to talk about the day and planning where to go, it feels like home!
We wanted to come back to Iceland, and next time we will repeat our stay there.
Thank you for everything! It was such a great time. I'm sorry I'm writing this a year later, things happens… everyday I remember how great was last year, May is near and I know I will miss to be there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolina_Ruiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, and Nonni made us a honeymoon cake (see picture!). This is a great place to stay in the Hella area and if you don't mind guesthouses. Nonni is so welcoming, friendly, and goes out of his way to make sure you are comfortable. If you're happy, he is happy! (We had also stayed in another place called Hellirinn in Hella, and Nonni's does not compare to this other place). Definitely a lovely host and highly recommend if you are going through this area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I don't think I could have found a better place to stay.
Nonni is proud of his country and makes a considerable effort to ensure that his guests make the most of their time visiting. I think he'd be upset if anyone left his guesthouse less than 100% satisfied with their stay.
The house is warm and comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast served was a variety of breads, waffles and pancakes, mostly homemade, served with cold meats, eggs, jam and salad. All delicious and always more than I could eat. Good coffee too.
I learnt more about Iceland and its history over breakfast than I ever could have done in a Tourist Information office.
I have never felt more welcome and comfortable whilst traveling abroad.
Thank you Nonni!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xfwng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo mesto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Our two nights at Nonni's were the highlight of our trip through winter Iceland. The rooms were comfortable, clean, breakfast was delicious and there are no words to describe Nonni. He is just the best host you could possibly think of... warm, kind, entertaining, very helpfull (got all the information about our trip), an excellent cook...
A stay at Guesthouse Nonni is a must if you are visitng Iceland. We are surely staying here on our next visit to this wonderful country!
Thank you very much Nonni!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We visited Nonni at August 2011 and that was our best stay in Iceland (and we made the whole circle!) Nonni is e extremely helpful, excellent cook and one of the wormest personalities I've ever met. We are not very sociable but at nonni's place we had one of the best evenings round the table. We are really looking forward meeting Nonni again. As to the environment - house has a small lawn in front of it, kitchen is well equipped, rooms are comfortable, and so on. It is a perfect place not just to stay for a sleep, but to live for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marinka239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonni43, Owner at Guesthouse Nonni, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Marina and Vlad!
So good to hear from you, and thank you so much for your great review. What a privilege for me to stay at my home and get such a nice guests like you are staying with me.

I really hope to meet you again, may be in St. Petersbourg, a town I very much would like to visit.

All the best
Nonni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
501 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,618 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
334 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#2 of 10 in Hella
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#4 of 10 in Hella
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Nonni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Nonni

Property: Guesthouse Nonni
Address: Arnarsandur 3 | Guesthouse Nonni, Hella 850, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Nonni 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is in the centrum of the village Hella, South Iceland. 1 Hour drive from Reykjavik. Home made bread and pastry every morning for breakfast. Hella has almost everything you need: Shops, restaurants, excellent swimming pool and bus stop. All around the corner! Guesthouse Nonni is a good place for the Northern lights. Only five minutes drive to be outside of Hella. And best of all, my garden is an excellent place to watch the Northern lights. Situated in the centrum of South Iceland the guesthouse is a good base for visiting all the wonders of nature you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Guesthouse Nonni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Nonni Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing