We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As nice as everyone says”
Review of Guesthouse Nonni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guesthouse Nonni
Ranked #3 of 11 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Guest house Nonni is run by a very kind man who will cater for your each and every need. The rooms are good and very clean. Breakfast takes place in the owner’s dining room and it was a real pleasure to be his guest. I only regret that our time together was so short.

As a bonus we saw the Northern Light's from the terrace !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seat_9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

Unbelievable reviews so far and Nonni himself was also flabbergasted when we mentioned all the tripadvisor hype to him!
We stayed with Nonni for two nights in his home. Great place, clean and comfortable. He has three rooms upstairs, one slightly bigger than the two but perfectly adequate. Large bathroom upstairs and two toilets downstairs. We used his place as a base from our travels from the golden circle (first night) and to and from Jokulsarlon (second night).
It is truly a great place to stay and his breakfast is out of this world, each morning we woke up to the smell of waffles and a hot pot of tea. To put the icing on the cake, we were lucky enough to see the northern lights from his garden! Perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamthatiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We did not see Nonni in Lonely Planet; Trip Advisor led us to this one, and a great choice it was. Nonni was exactly as described by others in glowing reviews-- affable, professional, and a gentle soul. He greets guests with tea and excellent listening skills. We had a series of burning questions and he answered them all before we meandered off, over the hills outside his door to meet some Icelandic horses. Nonni's was the only place we booked with a shared bathroom, and I was expecting it to be a lesser choice for that reason. I was wrong. When done well, a shared bathroom offers no less comfort than a cramped private bathroom. Nonni has travelled extensively, and it shows in every aspect. His guest bathroom offered a long counter to put clean clothes and toiletry bags and it was squeaky clean with a hook on the door to hang things. I slept better at Nonni's than anywhere else. It was more than a good quality bed--he provided a place to put bags off the ground; chairs to relax; his artwork gracing the walls as a lovely focal point; and his presence set the tone for a peaceful stay. My husband is normally not big on B&B arrangements, but he is a fan of Nonni's too. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Fresh breads, waffles and much more for breakfast in a friendly relaxed atmosphere. For the price, the quality is very good - I doubt very much there is anything better in Hella. Nonni himself is a perfect host.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Saul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Clean, airy room. Fantastic host. Made us a packed lunch free of charge and also gave us a thermos filled with hot tea! It was a life saver!

Breakfast was better than average. He also sat with us at breakfast and chatted. We were made very at home. Very clean house and clean bathroom.

Will definitely recommend and visit again!

Only downside is that he only takes cash!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Nonni is the absolute perfect host. He made booking easy and our stay was incredibly comfortable. As everyone claims, breakfast is out of this world with waffles, jams, cheese, homemade breads, fruits and veggies, etc. Beds were incredibly comfortable and even though bathrooms are technically shared, there's only 5 bedrooms in total so there's never very many people around. The entire home was incredibly clean and cozy.

Nonni offered great advice about things to see and do while in Iceland. He keeps menus of the local restaurants (of which there are two) and has lots of brochures for various activities around the area. This is a great stop right off the Ring Road if you're on a self-guided tour of Southern Iceland. It provides a perfect start point for a walking tour of Solheimajokull Glacier about an hour east, or if you wanted to go all the way to the Glacier Lagoon it would be a lot easier to start/stop here than all the way back to Reykjavic. Nonni also has a great view of the Northern Lights from his porch - as long as conditions are right!

You would be remiss if you missed Nonni's on a trip to Iceland!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We wanted to stay at a good location to break up our journey around the southern part of Iceland after visiting the golden circle on our first day. Hella seemed like a good place and Nonni's came highly recommended. As everyone says Nonni is a very friendly guy who cares about making his guests welcome. He told us to behave as we would at home and we certainy felt we could relax. We were his only guests for two nights so we had his undivided attention. We enjoyed chatting over breakfast and picking up tips for our trip. The breakfast was extensive with home baked bread and lovely waffles and home made jam. He also provided ingredients for us to make sandwiches for our day at no extra cost. He kept menus for the two restaurants in town, both of which were within easy walking distance (2 - 5 mins). We ate at Arhus Hellu both nights and had very nice meals (fish pie, fish and chips, burger). The room was very comfortable and the location was quiet for a perfect night's sleep. Nonni was one of the friendliest hosts we have ever encountered on our travels. We shall certainly be returning on our next trip to Iceland.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
577 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,740 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
363 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#2 of 11 in Hella
290 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#1 of 11 in Hella
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Nonni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Nonni

Address: Arnarsandur 3 | Guesthouse Nonni, Hella 850, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range: £96 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Nonni 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is in the centrum of the village Hella, South Iceland. 1 Hour drive from Reykjavik. Home made bread and pastry every morning for breakfast. Hella has almost everything you need: Shops, restaurants, excellent swimming pool and bus stop. All around the corner! Guesthouse Nonni is a good place for the Northern lights. Only five minutes drive to be outside of Hella. And best of all, my garden is an excellent place to watch the Northern lights. Situated in the centrum of South Iceland the guesthouse is a good base for visiting all the wonders of nature you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Guesthouse Nonni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Nonni Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing