We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect host!”
Review of Guesthouse Nonni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Nonni
Ranked #3 of 10 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect host!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We really loved staying here. Our room was lovely, our host was beyond gracious, and breakfast was delicious! The bed was very comfortable as well. Thank you again for the hospitality, we really enjoyed meeting you!
Liz&Tony

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aqualiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    32
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
134
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Can only echo our fellow TripAdvisor travellers here. Such a wonderful guesthouse and such a perfect host. Granted we were lucky enough to be the only visitors on the night that we stayed, so we had our pick of rooms and the upstairs bathroom to ourselves, but don't think it would have been any different even if it was full.

We spoke to Nonni in the evening about the Northern Lights, and he promised to keep and eye out and give us a knock if they appeared. We'd just dozed off when we had a knock at the door about 11pm. We joined Nonni on the patio outside and watched a 20 minute, brilliant Northern Lights display - thank you so much sir.

An amiable chat over a great breakfast and then we left on our journey.

Fellow travellers, please spend your night in Hella at this wonderful guesthouse.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank L0tusBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Guest house Nonni is run by a very kind man who will cater for your each and every need. The rooms are good and very clean. Breakfast takes place in the owner’s dining room and it was a real pleasure to be his guest. I only regret that our time together was so short.

As a bonus we saw the Northern Light's from the terrace !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seat_9F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Unbelievable reviews so far and Nonni himself was also flabbergasted when we mentioned all the tripadvisor hype to him!
We stayed with Nonni for two nights in his home. Great place, clean and comfortable. He has three rooms upstairs, one slightly bigger than the two but perfectly adequate. Large bathroom upstairs and two toilets downstairs. We used his place as a base from our travels from the golden circle (first night) and to and from Jokulsarlon (second night).
It is truly a great place to stay and his breakfast is out of this world, each morning we woke up to the smell of waffles and a hot pot of tea. To put the icing on the cake, we were lucky enough to see the northern lights from his garden! Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamthatiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We did not see Nonni in Lonely Planet; Trip Advisor led us to this one, and a great choice it was. Nonni was exactly as described by others in glowing reviews-- affable, professional, and a gentle soul. He greets guests with tea and excellent listening skills. We had a series of burning questions and he answered them all before we meandered off, over the hills outside his door to meet some Icelandic horses. Nonni's was the only place we booked with a shared bathroom, and I was expecting it to be a lesser choice for that reason. I was wrong. When done well, a shared bathroom offers no less comfort than a cramped private bathroom. Nonni has travelled extensively, and it shows in every aspect. His guest bathroom offered a long counter to put clean clothes and toiletry bags and it was squeaky clean with a hook on the door to hang things. I slept better at Nonni's than anywhere else. It was more than a good quality bed--he provided a place to put bags off the ground; chairs to relax; his artwork gracing the walls as a lovely focal point; and his presence set the tone for a peaceful stay. My husband is normally not big on B&B arrangements, but he is a fan of Nonni's too. Excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Fresh breads, waffles and much more for breakfast in a friendly relaxed atmosphere. For the price, the quality is very good - I doubt very much there is anything better in Hella. Nonni himself is a perfect host.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Saul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Clean, airy room. Fantastic host. Made us a packed lunch free of charge and also gave us a thermos filled with hot tea! It was a life saver!

Breakfast was better than average. He also sat with us at breakfast and chatted. We were made very at home. Very clean house and clean bathroom.

Will definitely recommend and visit again!

Only downside is that he only takes cash!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
466 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,583 reviews
42.0 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
27 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#2 of 10 in Hella
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#5 of 10 in Hella
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Nonni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Nonni

Property: Guesthouse Nonni
Address: Arnarsandur 3 | Guesthouse Nonni, Hella 850, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Nonni 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is in the centrum of the village Hella, South Iceland. 1 Hour drive from Reykjavik. Home made bread and pastry every morning for breakfast. Hella has almost everything you need: Shops, restaurants, excellent swimming pool and bus stop. All around the corner! Guesthouse Nonni is a good place for the Northern lights. Only five minutes drive to be outside of Hella. And best of all, my garden is an excellent place to watch the Northern lights. Situated in the centrum of South Iceland the guesthouse is a good base for visiting all the wonders of nature you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Guesthouse Nonni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Nonni Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing