We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guesthouse Nonni
Nearby Hotels
US$162
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$392
US$353
Ranga Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$89
Hotel Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hvolsvollur(Hvolsvollur)
US$121
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Hekla(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Selfoss(Selfoss)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arctic Nature Hotel(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$557
US$391
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Borealis(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
206
35
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
35
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffleshomemade breadone nightquiet streetother guestsicelandic languagekind hostshome madeexcellent breakfastshared bathplace to staynorthern lightspateboiled eggswonderful staysouth coastcomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at Nonni's for only one night, enough to get his secret home baked bread recipe. So fresh and tasty in 4 different savoury versions just in case someone turned out to be difficult to please! My family is kind of big...we are 2 adults and 5 teenagers. Nonni managed to make us all very happy over breakfast after having slept like babies and giggled like kids on a school trip the night before heading to bed. The whole feeling to the house was comfortable and relaxed, Nonni was the sweetest host....
definitely, again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariasole1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and parents had a fantastic time with Nonni during our visit in March 2013- we learnt so much about Iceland by Nonni kindly sharing his knowledge with us, while at the same time we felt so relaxed in his company and in his house!! The breakfasts are soooo good! So much varied breakfast food, it kept us full up 'til dinner!! The homemade bread was delicious! The apricot bread was my favorite.

The location of the guesthouse is perfect for visiting Geysir, Gullfoss...we also did snowmobiling on the glacier that sits ontop of Katla (which is about 1 hour drive away)... the scenery in the area is stunnning. And we even decided to drive the (3.5 hour each way) journey to Jokulsarlon along the south coast, which i would say is well worth the trip!!

Overall, 5*'s for Nonni for being a fantastic host!! And we will be back one summer for hiking!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room downstairs which was smaller than the room my parents had upstairs which also benefitted from better views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LakeTahoe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Guesthouse Nonni is the perfect stay in Hella. He is friendly and helpful, and most importantly, knowledgeable. He is able to advise you on the best places to get to in the area, and on trips and tours you can do. He has also travelled well and has lots of interesting stories.

Breakfast was great - bread, salad, eggs, meats, etc.

We saw the northern lights from inside the guesthouse. He also has a deck which you can stand on and watch, but it was much warmer inside! Also, you can drive into the middle of nowhere in under 5 mins from here.

The room was nice, with a clean shared bathroom. The bed was very comfy and there was no noise overnight.

Theres a couple of resturants nearby which Nonni has menus for - otherwise its a trip to Sellfoss.

Thanks Nonni!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tungstenthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed two nights with Nonni and can recommend it highly (we used it as a base to drive along the south coast to the glacier lagoon and back in one day). Nonni could not be more hospitable as a host, providing maps and ideas about where to visit over a cup of tea and liquorice.

Breakfast is great, with home made breads each morning and a delicious array of things to put on the bread. The rooms are clean (three rooms up stairs and one down), with two shared bathrooms. Just one or two small things were in process of being fixed (for example one of the windows in our bedroom didn't open), but overall simple and comfortable accommodation.

If you don't get directions before you head for the guesthouse ask at the garage on the roundabout as you enter Hella. There is a map on the outside window of the garage, with the guesthouse just two minutes away.

The only other thing to recommend is to book early as I believe he gets booked up well in advance, especially during the summer months. We certainly hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We really loved staying here. Our room was lovely, our host was beyond gracious, and breakfast was delicious! The bed was very comfortable as well. Thank you again for the hospitality, we really enjoyed meeting you!
Liz&Tony

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aqualiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews