We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guesthouse Nonni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guesthouse Nonni
Ranked #3 of 9 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Most lovely stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Guesthouse Nonni was a wonderful find!!! Our host was so gracious and helpful. He made reservations for our dinner at a nearby restaurant on the night of 1 Jan. He chose perfectly because just as we drove up, we saw the northern lights!!!! We would not have seen them if it hadn't been for Nonni!! He also set up our glacier tour for a few days after. Breakfast was great and we conversed over many different topics. We feel like we know so much more about the area and the people of Iceland. The room we had was very comfortable. There were plenty of clean linens in the bathroom. We highly recommend a stay here if you are in Iceland!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renea I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    30
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
130
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed with Nonni for 4 nights in August 2013 with our 3 children (ages 15-22). Nonni was a fantastic and gracious host who gave us great tips for our stay in Iceland. The guesthouse is immaculate and Nonni is very attentive to every detail. We had 2 rooms, one on the 1st floor and the large room on the 2nd floor. The bathrooms and the guest house were very clean. Breakfast was delicious and Nonni made us a special cake for our 25th anniversary on our last morning. We really enjoyed getting to know Nonni and would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyjim45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Nonni was a wonderful host! We finished the golden circle and spent the night in Hella (which is a perfect rest stop afterwards). Nonni's house is beautiful, his dog is very adorable, and our room upstairs was a good size, comfortable bed and blankets, and could easily see the skyline on our hunt for the northern lights (didn't see them yet :( but still looking). Difficult for us to say how easy it is to share the bathroom since we had it all to ourselves, but it was Very clean, good temperature shower, His breakfast was delicious, he makes his own bread and a lot of different varieties, and it's great to wake up to the smell of baking bread. Wifi worked perfectly well, and he was a very great person to talk to. We loved our stay here!

Room Tip: Our room was top of the stairs, the one at the far left, very big good size with even a desk and cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briteyellowness m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here on our second night in Iceland. We had a nice room upstairs with a sloped wall on one side that we kept bumping our heads into, because we're clumsy that way. The shared bathroom upstairs was nice and clean with clean towels provided for all guests.

Breakfast was the standard Icelandic cold breakfast with delicious homemade goodies made by Nonni himself. It even came with the standard awkward B&B-style breakfast table conversation. It was a lovely conversation nonetheless and Nonni complimented me on my pronunciation of Eyjafjallajökull. I still like to brag about it. Thanks, Nonni! :-)

We went to Heimaey island that morning only to realize that my husband had forgotten to leave to room key before we left the guesthouse. Ooops! We had to drive back to Hella when we were back from the island in the late afternoon to drop off the key before driving to Vik but no one was home when we got there. We left the key and a note of apology. We hope that Nonni received the key and accepted our sincere apology!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatduckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at this beautiful guest house at the start of september 2013 for only 2 days!
The guesthouse is located in a nice area with nearby good restaurants and nice baths. If you´re really lucky you are able to see some northern lights!
Nonny is a perfect gentle host who is helpful in all belongings and a master chef of a perfect breakfast and of course a well known dog ranger! :-)
Nonny - the next time we should continue with our Scottish topics including uisge beatha! :-)
Greetings from Vienna, Nicolas & Andreja

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Nonni makes you feel right at home. His breakfasts are homemade and delicious. I had a downstairs bedroom with a full-size bed which was comfortable and convenient to the shared bathroom. Nonni gave me the best travel advice that I'd received anywhere in Iceland: Go see Kerio! He drew a map for me and gave me information about it. He really seems to enjoy serving and interacting with the guests. As a solo traveler, I enjoyed sitting at the communal kitchen table and talking with the other guests. I will definitely return to Guesthouse Nonni.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Setauket3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Nonni is a great host, provids ample tourist infoemation, he even took the time to go over our next days travel plans recomending what to see and what to skip. His house is nicely designed and comfortable. During our stay we really got the feeling that he truely enjoys hosting guests. Thanks nonni! We don't understand how someone wrote a bad review

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadilending
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
441 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,547 reviews
42.0 mi away
Hrauneyjar Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#5 of 9 in Hella
53 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#2 of 9 in Hella
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Nonni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Nonni

Property: Guesthouse Nonni
Address: Arnarsandur 3 | Guesthouse Nonni, Hella 850, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Nonni 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is in the centrum of the village Hella, South Iceland. 1 Hour drive from Reykjavik. Home made bread and pastry every morning for breakfast. Hella has almost everything you need: Shops, restaurants, excellent swimming pool and bus stop. All around the corner! Guesthouse Nonni is a good place for the Northern lights. Only five minutes drive to be outside of Hella. And best of all, my garden is an excellent place to watch the Northern lights. Situated in the centrum of South Iceland the guesthouse is a good base for visiting all the wonders of nature you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Guesthouse Nonni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Nonni Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing