We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
30
92
62
30
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
92
62
30
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews remote hotel vegetarian burger blue plastic hot tub staff was extremely helpful sleeping bag accommodation skyr your luggage wheel drive tiny bathroom reception area decent size after a long day gas station soup bread family room
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We drove the F208 (stunning scenery) in the obligatory 4x4 on the way to the Highland Hotel, which sits pretty much in the middle of nowhere just below a small power station (don’t let this put you off) and I guess about 1k from another very busy/popular hotel (think it was a hotel). That’s it out here.

The hotel is interesting in its own weird way. It’s not attractive from the outside in any way at all and is built for a purpose - to withstand harsh winter weather and be functional. Fantastic open views 360 as far as the eye can see. Bet this place is cold and windy in winter.

Room 1, a suite, had a spacious & comfortable lounge area, bathroom that could have done with some anti-mould treatment and grouting, plus a good-sized bedroom. It was stuffy (needed airing) which we sorted by leaving the front/back doors open.

The restaurant was like stepping back in time but the fish main course was very good and my wife thought her cod was the best she’s ever had, anywhere. Service was quick and the staff very jolly and attentive.

We woke to the sound of sheep. Wasn’t expecting that in the middle of nowhere. They seemed to find the metal ladder on the outside of our room perfect for scratching their head and horns on hence the odd banging sound at 6am. It initially confused us then amused as and is all part of what made the Highland Hotel memorable.

Cold breakfast only.

As is the case with Iceland, it’s not cheap. £392 for a room, 2 course dinner and basic bottle of white wine.

Just arrive with low expectations. It’s a place I’ll remember.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Free wifi! That's a first here in iceland, you often pay 1500 ISK (8 dollars/euros's) per day for that. Everything is relatively modern and very clean. Food is good. Has a hot-tub if you're into that. The manager is a very nice iceland-buff and knows everything and actively tries to improve your journey. That last thing is new as well in this country (worst service anywhere in the world i recon).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimNomNom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Located closest to the Landmannalauger hiking area and trails, it is an excellent place to stop. For us we stayed in the area 4 nights and need a place to relax and spread out after all the travelling and hiking over the past few days prior to getting there and before doing more hikes. Although the price is higher for the suite, on the cost per area you are getting three times the room size but not for three times the price. It overlooks the open spaces and serves great food.

Room Tip: I think the suites are worth the extra cost if you are staying several nights.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I traveled in a group of eight, between winter and summer season. The opportunities for hiking were limited, but the staff did their best to suggest activities that would make the most of your two days stay. The hospitality and friendliness was extraordinary. We had rooms in a newly built part of the guest house. The sauna was warm, and the rooms (with private bathroom) were small but clean and the beds were comfortable. Everything was set for good sleep and rest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed for three nights here on a group tour of Iceland.

We weren't expecting great things from this hotel, based on how remote it is, but it exceeded our expectations.

The hotel appears to be run by a husband/wife team acting as receptionists/waiters/cleaners etc, plus a chef in the evenings. Considering the small team, service was excellent. Dinners were among the best meals we had in Iceland, and the choice at breakfast was enough to satisfy everyone.

Rooms were comfortable and clean, but nothing special - but our days were so filled with activities that we hardly spent time in them during the day, and at night we spent time viewing the Northern Lights.

The only real issue with this hotel is it's location. It takes over an hour to reach route 1, meaning that for at least two hours each day, we spent driving before or after our tour. If you want to be in the same area and avoid this driving, then Hotel Ranga is better positioned - but I don't know how it compares in other respects. For our trip, there was no real advantage in the location of the Highland Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delapre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews