We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hrauneyjar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Reviewed 9 August 2013

we were booked in this Guesthouse via our travelagent. Our room is in the new block, and has individual bathroom and is OK. However the restaurant is a big disaster. It is very unclear how the buffet/ a la carte menu is working. It turned out that the a la carte menu is only having burgers. The alternative is the buffet, which turned out the worst buffet I ever had in my life. The salmon was overcooked, the meat was of undefined origin and looked like one pile of fat/greasy meat. The warm vegetables were also overcooked and tasted everything but vegetables. The dessert from the buffet was a 'synthetic' vanilla mousse....
Unfortunataly, the meal needs to be paid prior to starting at it... so the management is always sure to have your money first...

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Rony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Note: This is the same guesthouse as the other "Hrauneyjar". - Good location for a stay if you plan to drive the F208 to Landmannalaugar and Eldgjá or the Sprengisandur road F26 (only with a well-equipped 4WD jeep, these are rough roads with rivers to cross! - well, no rivers to cross if you only drive to Landmannalaugar and park before the river there, but lots of rivers later, and the road is still not suitable for regular cars). The road to Hrauneyjar itself is good and paved, if you drive from the southwest on road number 32. However, there is not a lot to see in the immediate vicinity. - The guesthouse offers simple, clean rooms and reasonable food - not cheap, but it's Iceland and there are not a lot of accommodation options in the area. Very friendly and helpful staff. Whether you like this place may also depend on whether you find a rustic touch of "Alpine cabin" agreeable. Oh, and they follow the Icelandic tradition: On entering the house, you have to take off your shoes, but they also offer plastic shoe covers as an alternative. I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom, my friends in a so-called "economy double room" with private bathroom. The shared bathroom was fine for me, I never had to wait for long. But note that this room has not even a lavatory, and it was located at a long hallway leading from the reception to other parts of the complex with lots of people passing by, so I could sleep only really well later in the night when the commotion was over (thin walls). My friends found their double room nice, it was apparently in a newer part of the complex and looked certainly a bit "fresher". Free WLAN internet is available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntoTheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

very nice staff and home atmosphere (you are asked abut changing shoes on the anter to the building - as in all provate houses in Iceland).
the reception desk worker answer on my own questions with smile.
frankly speaking the hotel was exciting (small rooms, location, people etc) but in my opinion too expensive for this standardvery special was

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariusz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I traveled in a group of eight, between winter and summer season. The opportunities for hiking were limited, but the staff did their best to suggest activities that would make the most of your two days stay. The hospitality and friendliness was extraordinary. We had rooms in a newly built part of the guest house. The sauna was warm, and the rooms (with private bathroom) were small but clean and the beds were comfortable. Everything was set for good sleep and rest.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 56ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here when working close by for a week. Although I wouldn't usually choose to stay somewhere like this, I was pleasantly supprised at the cleanliness of the guesthouse and friendliness of the staff.

Very basic rooms, bed, heater, shelf.
Shared showers and toilets.

The kitchen served a good breakfast, and also good fast food through the day, however the limited menu became repetitive very quickly. Pricey, but as to be expected in such a remote location.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isthatBHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a place that should be avoided at all cost. The quality of the food is very low, but the prices are very high. Hrauneyjar Guesthouse is located on the main road when crossing the highlands of Iceland and there is hardly any competition which is in my opiniune, the only reason that this place can stay open

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Pall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Considering half of the "hotel" is basically a hostel for budget minded campers/college students, that condition seemed to be over the top. No TV or phone, and no wakeup either. Dinner and breakfast were below par. Room was clean, and very basic. Shower was new, and shock upon shocks even had toiletries! Our guide told us it was formerly a barracks for hydro-electric workers, and it shows. Also, its not near to a blessed thing if you want to go to a convenience or wine store.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irulan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hella hotels
21.5 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hella
80 reviews
42.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
530 reviews
42.2 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
36 reviews
35.6 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#3 of 11 in Hella
282 reviews
19.7 mi away
Rjupnavellir
Rjupnavellir
#7 of 8 in Hella
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Center Hrauneyjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Center Hrauneyjar

Address: Sprengisandur | Spreginsandur, Hella 851, Iceland (Formerly Hrauneyjar Guesthouse)
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: £114 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Highland Center Hrauneyjar 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highland Center is a privately owned hotel and restaurants with a team of experienced and enthusiastic staff who are dedicated to ensuring guests’ comfort and pleasurable stay whilst in the Highlands of Iceland. The Highland Center aims at offering you a “complete” Highland experience from the moment you arrive in Iceland’s interior. Our staff are knowledgeable, helpful and multilingual and are always ready to assist guests during their stay. We aim to provide the best accommodation, excellent food and exciting activities at The Highland Center Hrauneyjar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Highland Center Hrauneyjar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing