We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hella
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at Hrauneyjar Highland Center for one night, at first I was disappointed to see the run-down very basic facilities and furniture. However we had such a fantastic service that the look of the guesthouse didn't really matter.
The staff welcomed us, answered all our questions, helped us plan our trip, prepared the sauna for us, prepared dinner, arranged for us to have breakfast early, replied to my email a week later when I thought I had lost my driving licence in the hotel....I could go on, but the point is they are very friendly and helpful.
The room we originally booked was clean but quite small and old. We were upgraded to a nicer room since the bathroom fan in our room was broken. The new room we stayed in was lovely and modern.
We also enjoyed using the sauna and the dinner was very good.
Thank you to Hrauneyjar Guesthouse for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marla412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    34
    27
    14
    26
See reviews for
9
63
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I spent a night here during February which was very cold with very little to do, we were also the only guests staying that night. However i was pleasantly surprised by the room. It might have been quite small but it was one of the newer ones and was nicely decorated and furnished, felt warm and was clean. The only thing i wasn't so sure about was the frosted glass wall for the bathroom.....leaves nothing to the imagination when the bathroom lights are on. The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is basic but the food is good and well priced for Iceland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DynamicAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed in Hrauneyjar for 3 nights to make trips to the Golden Circle in the west and the glaciers towards the east. We arrived at night, and the snow and ice was already pretty deep on the roads - the drive from Keflavik was long but very exciting! Driving in the snow requires a 4x4 vehicle which we had hired and it can be slow progress. The scenery around the area is absolutely amazing.

We arrived at 9pm on the first night, where the staff had a 3 course meal waiting for us, which was really lovely. The staff were amazing and the food generally was good to very good. The waiter provided us with very informed information about where to travel and what to see and was perfectly polite and amenable. The chef obviously took a lot of pride in his food and we were given a good variety over the 3 nights. Pate with salad, salmon 3 ways and spicy cauliflower soup for starters over the 3 nights, mains were lamb, schnitzel and beautiful spicy/lemon cod. A lovely dessert was provided too. Water and bread were left on the table ready for our arrival each night, on a perfectly laid table.

We were given a spread of cold meats, cheese and toast for breakfast or jam, marmalade & butter with plenty of coffee. They provided packed lunches for our excursion days, and also for our flight back day which was a pleasant surprise.

We were the only guests in the guest house for the 3 nights so it may be very different when they have to provide for the 100 or so rooms, so I imagine the food & service may differ at peak times but I can't imagine the staff being anything other than polite and helpful. We found the place charming. Warm and comfortable, basic rooms with wet room but with clean bedding & towels and perfectly suited our needs. A sauna is available in the building.

I can't rate the fitness centre or swimming pool as I did not use it. That could be one small fault that we were not shown these areas, or maybe they were closed as the hotel was quiet. The sauna was open though.

5 stars for me!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I went to this place twice only, during a journey through the interior of Iceland. The first time was to use the bathroom facilities. They were clean and a payment was required, which I gladly paid. Actually I had met this payment request for bathroom facilities during my stays in Iceland previously over the last 4 years. I think it is a good thing. It provides a perception that the bathroom will be clean, fresh, and well stocked with the ordinary and necessary requirements for a 'toilet break' It was.

To enter, from my understanding, it is a requirement that shoes be removed, or one is provided with the 'sexiest blue plastic overshoes' money could buy. These are free however, and discarded. Unless the staff sneak them back into the new box, later:-) But if not what a waste

The toilets are clean and fresh, but there is a charge as I said.

The second time we went for dinner. We were staying near-bye, but decided to eat at the centre, instead of the Hotel where we were staying, which was expensive. After donning those sexy blue overshoes, we went into the dinng room to eat. There was a set buffet style 'all you eat' option, or a menu to make a choice. Both my companion and myself chose this option, and we both chose hamburgers, which in this environment seemed an ideal choice

Mine was burger with a blue cheese sauce, and it was more than edible, and in-expensive. Water was available, and free.

A reasonable option, and a good meal. It is an interesting place, in a lovely environment. The staff friendly, and competent. The service good. I can not say anything about the accommodation. I did not require that.

Note I gave this facility a 5 rating, solely because it serves a purpose, for the passing through traveller. It was clean, neat and the only option in the area! It provided what I wanted from it, nothing more, and nothing less.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiegrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

we were booked in this Guesthouse via our travelagent. Our room is in the new block, and has individual bathroom and is OK. However the restaurant is a big disaster. It is very unclear how the buffet/ a la carte menu is working. It turned out that the a la carte menu is only having burgers. The alternative is the buffet, which turned out the worst buffet I ever had in my life. The salmon was overcooked, the meat was of undefined origin and looked like one pile of fat/greasy meat. The warm vegetables were also overcooked and tasted everything but vegetables. The dessert from the buffet was a 'synthetic' vanilla mousse....
Unfortunataly, the meal needs to be paid prior to starting at it... so the management is always sure to have your money first...

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hella hotels

Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Note: This is the same guesthouse as the other "Hrauneyjar". - Good location for a stay if you plan to drive the F208 to Landmannalaugar and Eldgjá or the Sprengisandur road F26 (only with a well-equipped 4WD jeep, these are rough roads with rivers to cross! - well, no rivers to cross if you only drive to Landmannalaugar and park before the river there, but lots of rivers later, and the road is still not suitable for regular cars). The road to Hrauneyjar itself is good and paved, if you drive from the southwest on road number 32. However, there is not a lot to see in the immediate vicinity. - The guesthouse offers simple, clean rooms and reasonable food - not cheap, but it's Iceland and there are not a lot of accommodation options in the area. Very friendly and helpful staff. Whether you like this place may also depend on whether you find a rustic touch of "Alpine cabin" agreeable. Oh, and they follow the Icelandic tradition: On entering the house, you have to take off your shoes, but they also offer plastic shoe covers as an alternative. I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom, my friends in a so-called "economy double room" with private bathroom. The shared bathroom was fine for me, I never had to wait for long. But note that this room has not even a lavatory, and it was located at a long hallway leading from the reception to other parts of the complex with lots of people passing by, so I could sleep only really well later in the night when the commotion was over (thin walls). My friends found their double room nice, it was apparently in a newer part of the complex and looked certainly a bit "fresher". Free WLAN internet is available.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntoTheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

very nice staff and home atmosphere (you are asked abut changing shoes on the anter to the building - as in all provate houses in Iceland).
the reception desk worker answer on my own questions with smile.
frankly speaking the hotel was exciting (small rooms, location, people etc) but in my opinion too expensive for this standardvery special was

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariusz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
42.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
42.2 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
42.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.0 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#3 of 9 in Hella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solheimahjaleiga Bed & Breakfast
35.6 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#2 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Center Hrauneyjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Center Hrauneyjar

Property: The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Address: Sprengisandur, Hella 851, Iceland (Formerly Hrauneyjar Guesthouse)
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Highland Center Hrauneyjar 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highland Center is a privately owned hotel and restaurants with a team of experienced and enthusiastic staff who are dedicated to ensuring guests’ comfort and pleasurable stay whilst in the Highlands of Iceland. The Highland Center aims at offering you a “complete” Highland experience from the moment you arrive in Iceland’s interior. Our staff are knowledgeable, helpful and multilingual and are always ready to assist guests during their stay. We aim to provide the best accommodation, excellent food and exciting activities at The Highland Center Hrauneyjar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Highland Center Hrauneyjar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing