We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal site for Aurora Borealis”
Review of Hotel Laekur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Laekur
Ranked #2 of 10 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An ideal site for Aurora Borealis”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Hotel Laekur is located 11km off the ring road no. 1 which implies by nature it is a dark site. This is an ideal condition for observing Aurora Borealis. You only need a clear night and an active Sun to have a good show of the natural wonder. While you don’t have much control over the nature, Hotel Laekur offers you an excellent environment ready for show. My family spent two nights at the hotel in early November 2013. Both nights were very fruitful because our primary objective of the trip to Iceland was for Northern Lights. Solar Cycle 24 has gone through its peak and the Sun’s activity is probably diminishing gradually. Those who are interested may wish to check the NOAA web for more information. We saw the “breakup” phenomenon of Aurora Borealis in the first evening and a magnificent display of different shapes and combinations of color in the following evening (after midnight actually). We spent four hours observing, photographing, and most importantly enjoying ourselves in the first evening and another 3 hours in the following. For all these, we were most grateful to the hotel host who kindly gave us alerts for Northern Lights. To us, it’s unforgettable experience. If it so happens you are looking for a suitable site for Northern Lights in southern Iceland we would recommend this one to you wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north are best for Northern Lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alice_Wong_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    53
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
136
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had difficulty to find this hotel in the dark, their road signs were not so clear and stand out, but after an overnight stay we really wanted to spend more days at this petite beautiful cozy hotel. Small room but everything we need were prorvided, very clean, nice decorations, great breakfasts and friendly family owners. Definitely wanted to return if travelling in South Coast Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theaulait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Laekur in November and can not say enough good things about it! Others have praised the hotel - all of which we agree with - in addition I really appreciated the way they went out of their way to accommodate my need for a gluten free / pesco-vegetarian diet. We ate breakfast, packed out lunch and ate dinner at the hotel each day.
It was also wonderful to be woken to see the Aurora Borealis.
Thank you Gunnar, your family and staff for a wonderful stay and introduction to hospitality in Iceland!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Absolutely fantastic stay! Friendliest family ever that helped us with our day tours and guidance. Beautiful rooms, very clean and perfect location to spot the Northern Lights. We will return. The hotel is also building a jacuzzi - big plus! The breakfast was also marvelous. I can highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PL111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is the best Bed & Breakfast I have ever stayed in and I can't recommend highly enough. The owners are generous, warm and friendly, giving great recommendations of what to do in Iceland including finding remote geothermal pools! Clean, comfortable rooms with two duvets on the double beds, spare heaters and extra blankets if needed, we didn't need the spares and it was -2 at night outside. A home away from home with a warm lounge area upstairs looking out on all sides to give a great Northern Lights view (if you are lucky enough to see them) and views to Helka. They also offer Northern lights wake up calls. Complimentary tea, coffee and cake available in the dining room all day. We recommend you stay for dinner, we did all three nights! Lovely home cooked meals, delicious foods, fresh fish caught from the river behind the property, lamb from their farm. Each course was introduced and so much care is taken to ensure you have everything you need. We decided to book a one hour pony trek with them too, great to chat about Iceland, the landscape and the family whilst you trot over the fields nearby. A good location to explore the South, we travelled as far as Jokulsarlon and back in a day. Thank you for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKSales_Rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

This is off the beaten track and might be difficult to get to in the depths of winter, as the last couple of KM is a gravel road. However we had no such problems. Gunnar, the owner, was very welcoming, and dinner was superb and pretty good value, even though we were out of season. Breakfast was great and although we did not see the northern lights, Gunnar is constantly checking through the night, so f there is any activity you will be the first to know. All in all a great place and I would def go back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Macky111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Even though the weather was awful, this was a wonderful place to stay. Very friendly and helpful family and beautiful location, great breakfast. The most comfortable beds we had on our week long trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsalot341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
7.3 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
480 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,598 reviews
8.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
123 reviews
15.7 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
328 reviews
7.2 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#3 of 10 in Hella
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laekur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laekur

Property: Hotel Laekur
Address: Hroarslaekur, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laekur is a small and cosy country hotel in a beautiful location in south Iceland. The hotel was built in the year 2012. The hotel is a renovated old barn, but with all the comforts of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laekur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laekur Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing