We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the Best by far !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just the Best by far !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just returned from 3 days at this hotel it was fantastic, right from the staff at the reception deck
very friendly and informative. The buildingwas like a giant log cabin type structure, bedrooms large with plenty of seating, comfortable double bed and large basthroom with whirlpool bath and all the hot water you could wish for.Breakfast was a hepl yourself type but plenty of choice all well presented. The evening meals could be expensive, but you get fine dinning at its best alchol is a little more expensive. They also have a very good system if you want to see the lights mark your room number on a notification sheet at the fron desk then no need to waitup for them the hotel will call your room if the lights appear. And with me it worked I got the call at 11:30 looked out of the bedroom window and there they were absolutly fantastic well worth the trip

Room Tip: Always ask if you can have a free upgrade ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derekfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    357
    99
    27
    4
See reviews for
253
907
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just got back from a trip to southern Iceland, which we booked particularly to see the Northern Lights. Apart from a low level glimpse of the northern lights on Monday 20th Feb, nothing more was seen due to cloud density and bad weather. When we arrived we were told that there had been great lights in January but no lights for 10 days or more. Disappointed is understatement. Hotel was lovely - really warm inside and we loved the outside hot tub. Beds were really comfortable. The staff were friendly and the owner is charming. The restaurant only provides a 4-star gourmet menu, and whilst expensive we had pre-calculated the cost of 4 nights dining in our trip. The 'surf and turf' main of lamb and langoustine was our favourite. Also loved Skyrr desert. Breakfast choice includes an English breakfast, which was great. The alternative to gourmet dining is a room service cheeseburger (which was nice - and cheaper of course!).
Some practicalities to save on your packing weight - the room provides a kettle and tea/coffee, mini bar, iron and ironing board, toiletries, hairdryer, towelling robe, complimentary slippers so no need to take any of these items. We also bought some duty free wine and beer at the airport on arrival to drink in our room, which was a good piece of advice to keep costs down a bit. The weather in iceland in February is pretty harsh, we took thermals and waterproofs with us and wore them all the time. We also took ski trousers and proper weather proof jackets and were so glad we did. Hats, gloves and scarfs never came off. Heavy duty walking boots essential. Some of the trips out got really cold, especially gullfoss waterfalls - freezing cold winds! We hired a 4x4 and again, were so glad we did as some of the mountain pass roads were pretty icy. We toured the golden triangle (gullfoss/geyser/Thingvellir park), took a dog sledding trip which was fun, drove to Jokulsarlon, the glacier lagoon in the south east, which was a whole days trip to get there and back, stopping to walk behind a waterfall which was awesome and lunching in at the small coastal village of Vik. Our glacier hike and ice wall climb was cancelled due to high winds and bad weather, (gutted!) so we went to Reykjavic instead for a walk round, and we also went to the Blue Lagoon on the last day, which is literally 15 mins or so from Airport so no point doing that any other time. (£35 each to have a swim, but you just have to do it!). All in all, we have really enjoyed our trip, iceland has some dramatic weather shifts, so do take the right clothing to accommodate this and it will make your trip so much more fun. Hotel Ranga is a luxury location to return to after experiencing the rugged extremes that iceland has to offer.

Room Tip: We travelled as a couple with our grown up daughter. They had originally booked us in a deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Loved our Africa suite, bathroom seemed dark but there's a knack to brightening the lights, just ask. Everything was perfect except the northern lights failed to appear, nothing anyone could do about that. Happy hour worth indulging in as alcohol expensive as elsewhere in Iceland. Overall a wonderful experience. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for three nights in February 2012 - in a Deluxe Room.

We did brave the snow to enjoy the hot tubs - and it was worth it. This hotel is in a great location, by the river, well off the main road. We were unfortunate in the weather - but can't complain about cloud cover in Iceland in February...

The accommodation was very good indeed - exactly as advertised... the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, no request was too much for them. The knowledge of the staff regarding the sights, road conditions, weather was superb and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dacre
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This hotel is in a glorious location in a wonderful part of Iceland. The staff are welcoming and friendly and the guests all seem to be there on a mission- see the Northern Lights - and the staff do everything they can to ensure you don't miss out when they appear.

The restaurant has a very fancy menu, full of foams and fish with extraordinary names and this would be perfect if you were staying for only one night. However, by the second night, we were longing for something less rich. The breakfast was a frustrating experience on both days, needing us to chase up waiters to refill milk jugs and replenish the basics that inevitably run out in a busy restaurant.

Staying in the hotel was an extraordinary experience and it feels a little ungracious to pick holes. However, I wish someone had cleared the snow and dangerous ice from the front doorstep and from the little deck outside the room. I wish they had cleared up the piles of cigarette ends from the bench outside the room. It was the small touches that were missing which is a shame when this hotel has absolutely everything going for it. My advice to the very charming and attentive owner would be that if If you set yourself up to be luxurious, and charge accordingly, then attention to details is what ultimately wins through.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keptcalmandcarriedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at Hotel Ranga for two nights and had an amazing time. The hotel is in a great location for exploring. We hired a car from Reykjavic and it was really easy to explore along the main Road 1 from Hotel Ranga. The staff were very friendly, rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was great. The scenery around the hotel is lovely, with a beautiful river flowing by, and it was wonderful to be able to sit in the hot tub while it was snowing! The food in the restaurant is divine and worth every penny, and made our stay even more special. A stay at this hotel is a must for any visit to Iceland.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SK74Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel Ranga is a beautiful building and the staff are very good. We were extremely lucky and got upgraded to the Royal Suite, so the experience for us was simply wonderful. The room was, needless to say, first class and the hot tubs were well used by adults and kids alike. The restaurant is very good although expensive. The knowledgable staff will provide plenty of information on your meal although my only (minor) gripe was that the portions were quite small. The setting is free of cultural light although we were not fortunate enough to see the aurora - you can book at reception to be woken should the Northern Lights make an appearance. It was a real treal to stay here and a welcome bit of luxury during our whistle stop tour of this fantastic country.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
42.6 mi away
Hrauneyjar Guesthouse
6.7 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#1 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Property: Hotel Ranga
Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing