We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My stay at Hotel Ranga (2 nights) was perfect. We had no problems at all, the check in process was easy and swift and although we had one of the cheaper rooms it was spacious, very cosy and the bed was huge! We also had a jacuzzi in the bathroom and one right outside our room. There are also themed rooms available such as the Africa, Australia and Arctic suites which all looked fantastic. Breakfast was excellent, a buffet of fresh bread and spreads, meats, cheese, fruits, fish, a waffle iron with maple syrup, cereals and of course sausage, hash browns, bacon, egg and beans and much more, i had 5 plates of food both mornings! Dinner in the evening is excellent, the soups were delicious and creamy, the chicken and fish were ever so tender and full of flavour and last but not least the skyr cake was fantastic. The hotel offers a wake up call service, if you tick your room number on the sheet at reception they will call you if the northern lights appear, we received 3 of these calls in one night and were very lucky to see the aurora, it was a surreal experience and one that we will never forget. I highly recommend a stay here and you must not leave without having your photo taken with the enormous polar bear in the reception!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneiro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    358
    100
    27
    4
See reviews for
253
910
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Hotel Ranga can be found 8 km past Hella on Route 1. Very easy to get to from the Airport. Beautifully placed in the countryside and a great base to see the Northern Lights, except we were unlucky and the lights wouldn't come out to play.

The Hotel is warm, clean and the staff are welcoming. Food is expensive but then it is in Iceland. Food was great, recommend the surf and turf (Lamb and Languistine) and Duck. Alcohol is very expensive, water comes with the meal for free. I'd buy alcohol on route or from duty free. Breakfasts are wide ranging (fruit, cold meats, cheese, waffles, bacon, eggs, sausages etc).

Rooms are a great size, sofa, large TV and big bed. There were two hot tubs outside which appear to be shared between approx 10 rooms (on our side) probably with the rooms on the other side too.

The base was a great place to explore, Skogafoss, Gullfoss (waterfalls), huge cliffs, VIk etc before going on to Reykjavic for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has a view and from which you can access the hot tubs easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelyabsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Log cabin appearing building, outdoor geothermal tubs, beautiful landscapes as far as the eye can see, and northern lights. Food A+

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights, with the aim of seeing the Northern Lights. I was not fortunate enough to see the lights but I still enjoyed my stay. Our room was located at the rear of the hotel with a a view over a vast wilderness and one of the hot tubs right outside the door. Relaxing in the hot tub in the evening whilst watching for the lights was fantastic.
The food was gorgeous, which was a pleasant surprise as I am a vegetarian and did not have high hopes. The breakfast was also gorgeous and extensive.
In the evening you can spend time in one of the two bar areas, both great locations to keep an eye out for the elusive lights. The bar has a great choice of beverages and was very reasonably priced. About £4 for a glass of wine, vastly different from what I had expected, (having been to Norway).
The room we had was not large but was very comfy and had a great feel to it.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the rear as it has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snobbybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

It's great to write a really positive review! We really couldn't fault Hotel Ranga. I'm sitting here trying to think what could be improved; but very little really.

We stayed in the "Africa suite"; it was outstanding in every unique detail and had a fab bath with room for two. The hotel has a variety of "themed suites" including one incomplete room ("Europe") as the owner is still searching for a suitable theme. We thought this strangely appropriate given the economic and political situation in Europe (incomplete or falling appart????).

The food was delightful with much attention to detail. Fish, unsuprisingly was outstanding. Try the "catch of the day". Other dishes were worthy of your attention; Puffin and Raindeer for example, but beware of the latter, as it really is completely raw!

We loved Icelandic beer, which if not the cheapest, is probably the purest (must be something to do wth the water). I had a preference for "Viking".

The best aspect of the hotel were the staff. Everyone was exceptionally friendly and helpful from the owner and manager to the receptionists. Icelander's have a good sense of humour and laugh and joke at any opportunity. We found bar staff, waiters and waitresses chatty, interesting and informative. Talk to them and you will learn everything you need to know (and more) about this marveous country.

The hotel reception will organise any trip you fancy - just ask.

We intend to revisit the island and propbably tour the whole place, and will definately return to Hotal Ranga.

Room Tip: Beware using google maps/sat nav. The first Hotel Ranga you come to is a farm! Follow the instructio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthurbowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had a lovely stay here, good food, good room. Had a dip in the hot tub, thankful for the courtesy dressing gown and slippers. The lights didn't appear sadly, too cloudy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simply1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just returned from 3 days at this hotel it was fantastic, right from the staff at the reception deck
very friendly and informative. The buildingwas like a giant log cabin type structure, bedrooms large with plenty of seating, comfortable double bed and large basthroom with whirlpool bath and all the hot water you could wish for.Breakfast was a hepl yourself type but plenty of choice all well presented. The evening meals could be expensive, but you get fine dinning at its best alchol is a little more expensive. They also have a very good system if you want to see the lights mark your room number on a notification sheet at the fron desk then no need to waitup for them the hotel will call your room if the lights appear. And with me it worked I got the call at 11:30 looked out of the bedroom window and there they were absolutly fantastic well worth the trip

Room Tip: Always ask if you can have a free upgrade ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derekfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.6 mi away
Hrauneyjar Guesthouse
24.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Property: Hotel Ranga
Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing