We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2008

This hotel is fantastic well worth the drive from the airport.
the room was spacious and well equiped. The hotel staff are so helpful and friendly nothing was to much trouble for them. Room service was delicious!
To top it off the hot tub outside our room was such a bonus. To be in the tub at night, -5 and snowing what an experience!!!
Highly recommend this hotel. We have been to Iceland on several occasions and this hotel is certainly top of our list!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jane_JohnWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,532 - 1,538 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2008

I stayed here for a night with my boyfriend and we had a FABULOUS time! We took a bus tour to the south of the island and we stayed there on the way back (the driver kindly left us at the door of the hotel!)

The staff were possibly the nicest whilst we stayed in iceland! We got a beautiful room with views of the river (and hot tub!)
Our room was a deluxe room- it was very big with jacuzzi bath!
We had a door which led out to the gardens and hot tub outside.
The hotel was very quiet...only a handful of other guests stayed there.

Dinner is expensive- but that is known in iceland anyways. We both ordered lamb, which was superb! Buffet Breakfast was fantastic- served till 11am...nice bonus!

Because we depended on public transport, we had to get the bus back to the city, which was at 5pm. They allowed us to have late check out (4.30pm) without any extra cost and One of the staff (could have been the manager/owner?) gave us a lift to the town to catch the bus, now thats hospitality!

If anyone decides to stay in the south of the island, this is the place. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank IrishChatterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2008

I followed Trip Advisor advice and booked this hotel for our anniversary. What a good tip. This hotel was super. We felt like the only guests in the place. The rooms were big, bathrooms huge, and there was a nice view to the river. Even in December, we made use of the hot tub and had a nice drink in the bar. We were really happy with our whole stay.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn_in_kokomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

Possibly the best hotel we stayed in during our trip round iceland (Hotel Bjork close second). Good location on ringroad. Rooms were nice but ours wasa little small and had twin beds rather than double. restaurant food was really nice but a litlle more expensive than what we are used to (though on reflection probably no more expensive than eating in any 4* hotel in london). would recommend

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank KateSkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

I booked this hotel just for somewhere to sleep for two nights, but when we got there, we didn't want to leave! It was really nice style, the room was very nice too! The jaccuzis outside were really nice in the cold evenings. The staff working there was really friendly. We left something behind at the hotel, but when we got back home to London, we E-mailed them, and they really kindly sent it back here. I really reccomend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank hotelgreg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

The room was a reasonable size with a good sized bathroom,with a large corner bath complete with lots of bathroom accessories together with plenty of clean towels daily. Excellent controllable radiators, great for drying out wet clothes. We had 3 full days of rain! The room overlooked the rear of the hotel,and close to one of the hot tubs, and veiws over the river.

The dining was OK, rather quality than quantity, but by UK standards expensive, allow about
£85 per couple for a main course, a bottle of house wine,and coffee. Breakfast was a large choice of cold meats and fruits, but very good.

The staff extremely polite and helpful. Would recommend it if you are not on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fourstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

Beautiful hotel, fabulous room (we stayed in superior room No. 1), room was very clean, comfortable, but eat dinner elsewhere - the food was extortionately expensive, highly pretentious and tinny portions. We left hungry. There were lots of very raudy groups disturbing dinner. The Arhus restaurant/campside in Hella has good, tasty food at reasonable prices at a lovely view. Overall a beautiful hotel, but eat dinner somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MOvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
545 reviews
5.1 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
41 reviews
21.4 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hella
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
212 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#3 of 11 in Hella
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: £247 - £827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranga 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel in South Iceland it is located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, and lies just off the main road right in the middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accommodation, and service. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientele. Hótel Rangá has 52 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing