We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic luxury hotel..”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
japan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic luxury hotel..”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel Ranga – Fantastic luxury hotel.. from the minute we drove up the drive we just knew we were going have a wonderful time and we were right. Very friendly staff warm cosy and romantic room with a hot tube just outside our patio door from our lovely Swiss style accommodation. We made use of all the facilities which included a lovely bar which had happy hour from 4 – 6.30, the hot tub and a fantastic restaurant with amazing food. At the start of our meal the owner came round every table to introduce himself and give us the a update of the chances of seeing the Northern lights that night, we were told that the there was a very good chance and would be phone call during the night if and when they appeared. We didn’t have to wait long while waiting to order our desert the owner announced the Lights were out….the restaurant emptied in seconds as everyone including myself dash for coats and cameras , we were treated to 2.5 hour of a stunning display in the calm night sky. This was the reason for our 8 day self-drive trip to Iceland and we felt very privilege to witness this natural phenomenon. The breakfast in the morning was varied and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    373
    103
    28
    4
See reviews for
267
958
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Every now and then you come across a hotel or restaurant that takes your breath away. Hotel Ranga is both! From the minute you arrive the friendly staff make you feel looked after, we stayed 2 nights and ate in the bar the first night and the restaurant the second, the food in both was very good. The restaurant experience was made even better when the Northern Lights appeared half way through the meal, cue dining room emptying for 30-40 minutes, the chef and kitchen staff didn't flinch, when we returned they just carried on, brilliant. Nearly forgot to mention the hot-tubs with a view over the river

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eljimmador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our second visit at Hotel Ranga (the first time being late October 2011) and we found both visits to be excellent.

We booked a deluxe room for a single Saturday night. The room contained a very large double bed, with south facing windows looking across the plain and the river Ranga. The bathroom contained a bath / jacuzzi large enough for two people (doubling as shower) and was well stocked with small bottles of bathroom consumables, and several large fluffy towels. A TV, DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities and mini bar were also in the room.

Several hot tubs were located just outside our room. We used them twice in a day (in light and dark), both times in a very powerful gale which was great fun :)

There is a bar located outside the restaurant that was well stocked with a number of different drinks. I didn't note the spirits or wines (not my thing) but they did have a range of ales (I was very pleased to see the delicious Olvisholt Brugghus Lava stocked) and my wife was pleased they had kopperberg cider. We took our drinks upstairs to a lounge, from where we could look east to the glaciers.

The restaurant was excellent. Food was very 'chef-ey' and well presented modest portions of exceptionally tasty food. The Ranga Salmon was amazing! We were very happy with the meal. It isn't cheap but not incredibly expensive either - we paid about £55 per head for three courses.

We had an amazing time overall. We did ask for a wake up call in case of the northern lights appearing but sadly the gale brought rain clouds and they never came out. Next time I'm sure they will.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flint_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent three nights here in the Antarctica Suite - it was a complete indulgence but really is a great room. Aside from the theme - penguins and all - it is a lovely big light room at the very end of the hotel. It has two balconies (facing South and West) and windows on three sides. We saw the sunrise from one, the sunset from another and the Northern Lights from the third.

We enjoyed all of the hotel. It has a very relaxed feel and felt cosy despite being in a remote setting. On two of the evenings we ate in the restaurant and the other night we enjoyed happy hour and a meal in the bar lounge. We arguably enjoyed the latter more after a long tiring day.

We would love to return and work our way around the other continents and just wish it also had a gym to use.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Crellins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I feel like there are two separate components to the Ranga - the hotel and restaurant. I felt like the hotel itself was just ok, although the service was very good. The hotel has about 100 rooms - 50 on either side of the reception area. We upgraded to a deluxe and am really glad - the basic rooms seemed pretty small with no real seating area. Rooms have tvs and there is free wifi throughout the hotel. We faced towards the river and woke up each morning to the sun lighting up the grasses. The front desk was very helpful in booking an excursion for us (they called immediately while I waited) and even getting me some cold medicine (very hard to find in Iceland!) and there was a nice breakfast buffet included. The bathtub in the room was great. The external hot pots seemed kind of strange to use at night - they are under big lights and right near the restaurant, which wasn't appealing to us.

Now, for the restaurant - we did not have a good experience there. We stayed at the hotel 3 nights and went to the restaurant the first two nights. The food was all good, but the service really suffered. The first night was just ok, but the second night was ridiculous. We watched others around us eat 4 courses while we had 2. When we finally flagged a waiter, they would take care of one thing and then run off. The third night, we ate at the bar and probably had the most enjoyable meal of the stay (the food was really quite good).

Definitely a good place to use as a base for exploring the south coast - mountains, glaciers and black sand beaches.

Room Tip: Splurge and upgrade to a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripCrazyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Let's cover the basics first - Hotel Ranga is a beautiful hunting-lodge style hotel. Rooms are very comfortable and clean, the staff is friendly, and service is excellent. The location is great for viewing Northern Lights (which we saw three nights in a row), and also for touring many sites and for horseback riding. There is a lot to do from here. Breakfast is wonderful and there are a lot of options. Dinner at the restaurant is very good as well - we ate there twice and some dishes were good, some very good, and a couple are excellent (we're foodies.) The restaurant probably is a bit overpriced, but you are paying for convenience and view (nearby Selfoss has many other dining options). The restaurant and bar service is excellent.

More about the two experiences:
1) Our first and last nights at the hotel were especially enjoyable as the hotel was quiet and mostly filled with other couples. There was space in the shared outdoor jacuzzis to enjoy privately. I would rate this 5-stars.

2) The two other nights had huge tour groups (two bus loads) being hosted at the hotel. Obviously, this is good for the hotel, but as a visitor it was incredibly disruptive. The restaurant (breakfast and dinner) was so loud and I had to yell across the table for my husband to hear me. I'm not sure why they don't move these large groups to a banquet room to maintain the atmosphere of the restaurant. The hot tubs were filled with people partying (probably 10 people in each tub and wine/beer/cocktail glasses and bottles of champagne everywhere), and there were loud voices in the hallways during later hours. The hotel cannot control the behavior of the tour groups, so just be aware. Your experience will be affected on whether or not a large tour group is there. I would rate this 3-stars.

As for rooms, ours was on the north side with a view of Mount Hekla that also faces the parking lot. Thankfully we had a two-person jacuzzi tub in our room since finding room in a hot tub while the tour groups were there would have been a challenge (and not relaxing at all.) If you get a room facing the river, there is also a beautiful view but you will have the hot tubs in front of your room - it's fine when the hotel is filled with couples but be prepared for the possibility of large tourist groups partying in front of your room. For regular rooms, the hotel does not like to reserve which side you will be on in advance.

Overall, we had a good experience at Hotel Ranga. The #1 experience we had was definitely worth it. However, the #2 experience was not something I would want to repeat. I'm split on whether or not I would stay here again - it would depend on if I could avoid nights with large tour groups.

Room Tip: I preferred a room on the north side with a view of Mount Hekla - I think it was more quiet because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 13Narya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

No sign of the Northern lights sadly; however our stay was wonderful and I'm sure we'll be back. :-)

Comfortable lounge areas, a well stocked bar and fabulous food. Topped off with wonderful service (a special thanks to Lukas who also had a sense of humour and looked after us well - always ready with a chilled bottle of our preferred wine)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
482 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
31 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
328 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
269 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Property: Hotel Ranga
Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranga 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing