We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern enlightening - Great time”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Wow - just back from a 3 night / 4 day break - Hotel Ranga is an approx 2 hour drive from Keflavik airport, but with stunning scenery and great roads its all part of the experience. We had extreme weather, snow, blizzard conditions the second day, believe it or not -13 (all this is most unusual) it should have been around 0 / -1, but thought it was great.

Good job we had an upgraded 4x4 though. So Hotel Ranga? - Warm rooms, warm staff, great food, generous breakfast buffet. Jacuzzi bath, nice bed, large TV / DVD if you want that for a cosy night in. Cosy lounge bar area. Hot tubs in the middle of a field with icy river running past. Great sport for Northern lights, which were seen twice! Don't expect them to look like the postcards though, but if you catch them for a moment, its fab. So yes make the trip to Hotel Ranga if you're comfortable with driving and want a great South Iceland location, near the Glacier for snowmobiling etc, all highly recommended. Trip of a lifetime rest assured. Couple of points - Iceland is never cheap - £100 three course meal (not inc bottle of wine). Great Cod & Chips at harbour in Reykjavik £20 each though!

If you want to keep the budget down a bit, buy wine /drinks in duty free shop as you come through at airport 50% saving - good idea for cosy room drinks. Also supermarkets have plenty of stock for snacks for the room, again at much cheaper prices than the mini bar in the hotel.

Room Tip: North side really handy for keeping a late night eye on the lights, If you're not bothered by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

We booked the 4 day Age of Aurora deal which I think was worth it. We could have done the honeymoon package for a similar price with a better room, but one night less, and I'm glad I had the extra night in Ranga.

The room was small but very cosy and rustic. We didn't plan on spending too much time in the room anyway so the size was not an issue. There was a nice big circular bathtub and everything was very clean and cosy.

The hot tubs were right outside which was great, we used them nearly every day. Even when it was raining they were good fun! On one of the nights the skies cleared and we could see so many stars, including a few shooting ones! Very romantic and perfect for a honeymoon destination.

The bar was lovely and cosy, just like a log cabin. Drinks were reasonable as was the bar food although not much choice. The restaurant was amazing, although we could only afford to eat there one night! We had reindeer and puffin and both were yummy; then lamb and cod for mains which were really good too. The lamb was so tender.
You're close to Hella and Hvolsvollur where there are a few restaurants you can choose to eat in if you don't want to eat in the hotel. We went to Gallery Pizza which was cheap and cheerful (although we were the only people as it was a Monday in November!)

The staff were so helpful and pleasant, always interested in what you did during the day and happy to offer their suggestions and advice.

Hella is well placed for the South Coast; we did drive 3 hours to Jokulsarlon to see the iceberg lake which was well worth the drive and there is plenty to do on the way back (the small hike in Skaftafell to Svartifoss, Vik, Skogar, etc).

It's also well placed for the Golden Circle which you can do in one day.

The hotel staff are very knowledgeable about the Northern Lights; and if you request it they'll call you if they come out in the night. They came out about 11pm after we'd eaten in the restaurant so we heard the hype and went out to take some great photos (the hotel staff can advise on this too!)

Make sure you have a wander round the hotel - there's a fantastic games room we would have missed if we hadn't been having a nosy. It's done up like a hunting lodge with a billiards table, chess, jigsaw and some board games.

All in all a lovely place to stay. I'm glad we visited Iceland in November as although it was off season so some trips/places were closed, it was so much more quieter. A perfect honeymoon!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minnie_munchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night only prior to 2 nights in Reykjavik mainly because our 19 year old son was keen to be in a city for some night life. I had already upgraded my husband and I to a junior suite as his 50th is looming and on our arrival we found our son had been upgraded courtesy of the Ranga to a juniour suite next door to us. The rooms were truly amazing, ours with a North American theme and The boy's an Japanese theme, very spacious with lovely bathrooms, towels and robes. Dinner was superb with locally sourced dishes, Breakfast was also lovely with a huge choice. This part of southern Iceland has stunning mountain / volcanic scenery too so we will be back to explore more and the Ranga is where we will stay! Be warned Cheap it is not! But if you can then do. 10/10 for me.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank jillcornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here in early November for 3 nights. Really lovely hotel and highly recommended.

Couple of very minor negatives (very minor though).....

Room size not huge although more than adequate....slightly larger room would have been preferable. Also, unexpectedly for a stay in Iceland, the room was too warm!! And as there is no air conditioning in the rooms the only way to lower the temperature is to open a window which is not the end of the world but a more precise method of temperature control would have been nice.

But they are the only negative points I can mention and the rest is all positive.

Excellent reception staff and very knowledgeable and welcoming.

Beautiful hotel with great facilities....the hot tubs were gorgeous.

Food was top notch....both breakfast and dinner.....great choice.

Good location and easy to find.

Not cheap - but then you are in Iceland so what do you expect?!? Nowhere is.

Northern Lights appeared on our last night and was the perfect ending to a great trip. Staff were on hand to let us know (during dinner) that there was some activity and then again later at night when we were back at our room to make sure we didn't miss the second appearance they called our room to give us the alert.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for only one night at Ranga Hotel and wished it had been longer. Truly beautiful hotel, amazing room design - Asian Suite was stunningly decorated. Warm welcome from Frederic who also ensured guests were enjoying their dinner by passing through and stopping to chat. Reception staff incredibly helpful when we decided to book a morning activity at 10:30pm they managed to book it for us. Do have dinner at the restaurant, our food was absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbornsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We (2 adults and 2 children under 12) stayed 4 nights on the Aurora offer in a deluxe room which consisted of a large double and sofa bed and beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi bath. There wasn't much room with the sofa bed out but that wasn't a problem as we didn't spend a huge amount of time in the room.

This is a very special hotel with an amazing restaurant - a massive choice at breakfasts and delicious dinners in the evening. Children could select from a children's menu or choose a smaller portion of an adult meal. Everyone who worked in the hotel was very friendly and helpful and we were very impressed that the hotel owner frequently went round the tables at dinner talking to guests.

The wake up service to see the Northern Lights at night worked very well (you tick a chart each day if you want to be woken up), but we actually saw our best viewing at 9.30pm.... dancing green and red lights lasting for over an hour.... absolutely amazing! It was lovely to sit in the hot tubs at night and watch the stars in the sky. We also made good use of the games room - a billiards room , board games and jigsaw puzzle - and borrowed DVDs to watch on the big screen in our room.

Ranga was a great base for exploring the nearby spectacular scenery. We didn't have a car but used the services of South Iceland Adventure on 2 days . Their superjeep tours were fabulous and included pick up from hotel Ranga. On our last day we paid them an extra fee and they transferred us back to the Blue lagoon after we had completed our tour. It made for a very full day but worked well for us.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank trailgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We arrived at Hotel Ranga and were greeted by very friendly reception staff. Our room was amazing and massive. The bed was huge, the bathroom with a spa bath was beautiful, bathrobes, slippers, loads of toiletries of every description, mini bar but very expensive prices to go with it, so we gave that a miss, beautifully clean throughout. Hot tup outside the room which was shared by other rooms. Went for happy hour and were greeted by the bartender from Hungary, what can we say about him, he was fabulous, nothing was too much trouble for him, he was polite friendly and really knew his job, helping me to choose the wine and the beer for my husband from the vast amount of beers on offer. Christmas beer went down well. Didn't eat from the restaurant, but had a bar snack of toastie and chips, very reasonable and tasty and very large. Beautiful chill out lounge upstairs. Breakfast in the morning was to die for, such a vast choice of everything, even make your own pancakes and if you felt like it you could pour yourself a measure of cod liver oil. We would definately come back here on our next trip to Iceland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne23Gosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
5.1 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
41 reviews
21.4 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hella
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#3 of 11 in Hella
286 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#1 of 11 in Hella
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: £249 - £829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranga 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel in South Iceland it is located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, and lies just off the main road right in the middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accommodation, and service. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientele. Hótel Rangá has 52 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing