We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ranga
Nearby Hotels
Stracta Hotel(Hella)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hvolsvollur(Hvolsvollur)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Hekla(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Selfoss(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arctic Nature Hotel(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$624
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Borealis(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,815)
Filter reviews
1,815 results
Traveller rating
1,231
424
121
32
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,231
424
121
32
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightshot tubwake up callpolar beardeluxe roomthe hotel managersalmonranch stylegolden circlebeautiful hotelsmoked puffinbar menupool tablelog cabinsouth coastfour nightsset menu
Filter
Updating list...
1,026 - 1,031 of 1,815 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Royal Suite at Hotel Ranga from 16th - 20th March 2014. In the room, there was a notice asking for feedback so I thought I would take this opportunity to write them.

Here are our recommendations for improvements to the room:

1) We found the mugs a little small.
2) The room was so large we would have appreciated another bin.

You will notice that this is a very short list. This is because we had the most extraordinary stay at the hotel. Quite apart from the beautiful location, we found the hotel comfortable and well-equipped, and every member of staff friendly and helpful. We organised a tour with South Iceland Adventures through reception with minimal effort from us and were given excellent advice with regards to the Golden Circle tour.

This was our first visit to Iceland and we had been concerned that we might run out of places to eat in the area. We need not have worried - we loved the restaurant so much that we ate there every evening and one lunchtime. The food was some of the best we’ve eaten (and we have had a lot of experience in eating!). We also appreciated the effort your manager made to come round the tables every evening - it was welcoming without being intrusive.

We had been looking forward to visiting Iceland for some time, and can honestly say that we were not disappointed. We fell in love with this astonishing country and this wonderful hotel: so much so that we are looking to book another visit for later on this year.

Sjáumst.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Sorry, that joke is obligatory.

Stayed at Ranga for four nights, the hotel facility is very nice but the people are above-and-beyond nice. The optional "wake me if there are northern lights" service is why we first chose to stay there, and the last night of the cloudy time we were there, the clouds parted and the show started. Power had been knocked out, so the staff went up and down the halls with candles alerting those who asked to be called. The owner was there, an is charming and considerate and very willing to assist with anything you are trying to work out. If you had a problem with the hotel, he'd surely be as helpful, but we had no problems.

The restaurant is good, if I had to nitpick I'd say it would be nice if they rotated the menu during the week a bit, for those who dine there several nights. But that's minor -- the menu has some good variety and the food was excellent. (Well, the puffin was not excellent, but that's because puffin is terrible, nothing to do with Ranga!)

The bar is well stocked and a pleasant place to relax, the upstairs lounge is also nice.

It is bit in-the-middle-of-an-empty-palin -- this is not as scenic in the daytime, but assures maximum beauty of the aurora at night, so is a positive feature in balance. There is also plenty of room for your helicopter to land, if you choose to arrive by helicopter, which somebody did while we were there. And if you don't helicopter in, I will lose all respect for you! DO IT! ^_^

I'd go back in a heartbeat, and hopefully will soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side, facing the car park, would have some view of the northern lights from their window, if you don't want to go outside. Better to go outside, but you'd have the option. Daytime view, as well as access to hot tubs, is better on the south side away from the car park.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMartJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here for one night and it was amazing. The hotel staff was great and showed us our room options with the different views (it was during the off season). We ended up eating at the restaurant right at the hotel which was very good (pricey, but as is everything in Iceland). Beautiful views, great hot tub, and the best part is the staff will get you up in the middle of the night to see the lights. They have these fun wooden lounges to see the lights with cozy blankets to keep you warm. Breakfast the next morning was very good as well. We would love to come back and stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATELYN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a lovely ranch type hotel we had a room looking out over the river and hot tubs. Everything was clean and well laud out and organised. This hotel is in middle of nowhere nearest tone is Hella about 5 mins drive away where there is a couple of cafés and a garage. The hotel restaurant is very over priced and very slow we had 4 main courses and some drinks at a cost of £150. We waited over an hour for our meal and when it arrived it was nothing special considering it's price tag. Everyone was very helpful though and it is a lovely setting. We will definitely go here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CORNISHGIRLXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed six marvelous nights at Hotel Ranga in March. We were hoping to see, and photograph, the dancing lights of the aurora borealis.
The hotel location is lovely: rural, and nestled alongside a river. It is a joy to get outside and walk about this property, and once outside, one has easy access to neighboring locations for continuing to walk and drink in the fresh air and serene vistas. One of our favorite sights was the wild swans in the river.
The food is first class. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning, and the dinners are always a special treat.
Aurora hunting, of course, is totally dependent upon the weather, and we were blessed with wonderful auroral displays on three of our six nights. The hotel offers an “aurora watch” signup list, where you can choose to have a telephone call to notify you right in your room if the aurora shows up! No worries! As for weather variety, we experienced both clear days and days of heavy snowfall!
The staff is totally attuned to friendliness and helpfulness. They arranged a taxi to transfer us from Reykjavik to the hotel, and then to transfer us to the Keflavik airport at the end of our stay. While we were at the hotel, they amazed us with their efforts to provide for our needs.
We were travelling with friends, and we had plenty of time to enjoy the pool table and the hot tubs. We even visited the new “observatory”, which has two classy telescopes and a motorized roof which pulls open to allow star gazing.
How highly do we recommend Hotel Ranga? Well, we made reservations for another week there in 2015!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star_Peepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews