We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfect and worth travel for”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Olstykke, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Close to perfect and worth travel for”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I stayed on night in Hotel Ranga as we was going to Explorer the South part of Iceland. I have heard it was the best hotel in the region, and be sure it is correct. The hotel lays in the middle of nothing, just by a river. It is constructet in huge timber and it gives it all a rough look wich I do like. Must be importet as we have not seen any forrest here ;)
We got the four dishes menu and included wines. All was perfect and each portion nearly to big (did I write that) we got a nice buzz as the wines was plenty and perfect mach to each dish. The owner of the hotel Mr. Fridrik Palsson took the time to stop at our table in the resturang and we got the history of his life, nice to meet a hotel ovner WHO cares about the guest. The beds where perfect suitet for us after a long day at the golden circle. All in all we can really recomend you to take atleast on night at Ranga while in Iceland. Unfortanaly the Price kept us for staying longer

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    373
    103
    28
    4
See reviews for
266
958
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've stayed at the Ranga several times, having first seen it when it was little more than the fishing lodge it once was. What marks it out from the ordinary is despite having morphed from tiny lodge to larger hotel, it hasn't lost its specialness along the way. The food is some of the best to be had in Iceland, the owner driver service still suffuses everything and everybody and it's kept things a little quirky. The location is also perfect for the south coast: you can get along to Jokulsarlon and back in a day, up on to Myrdalsjokull in half an hour and do the Golden Circle on your way to or from Reykjavik.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoratioN05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just recently stayed for 3 nights in Hotel Ranga, and our stay was really lovely. The restaurant was excellent esp the lobster. Sweet and tender as can be. Breakfast buffet had all you needed.
The hotel is a little bit tucked to the side in Hella, but still easy to find. The region offers wonderful day adventures and the reception staff is always happy to help and suggest.
We had a suite upstairs (and if you bring a lot of luggage, this could be one factor to consider, you gotta carry it up!). It was the South-American suite, which was not our favourite. We had a peak in the other suites and preferred their styles. Our's seemed quite dark, crammed with furniture and one sofa less would have been a lot better and still kept it in style. Also in that suite is no shower curtain for the bath-tub shower, which made it a bit messy if you weren't careful. The rooms and location is very quiet, but if someone arrives in the middle of the night or leaves in the morning, you will hear the luggage rolling outside your door due to tiled floors. We have not inquired about any of these observations. We requested a different pillow due to a feather allergy and within no time we received new pillows and duvets all without feathers. Big PLUS for the helpfulness and consideration.
We surely enjoyed our stay and for Icelandic standards, the Ranga resort is the best on the island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milkmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were there at the end of March 2014. The food and service was excellent. We even got to visit their new star gazing hut with fantastic telescopes. The outdoor chairs and blankets were a great touch for viewing Northern lights. The restaurant was so nice that we came back for dinner later in the week although we had moved to a different location. The room was very clean and comfortable. We were also pleased with the location for visiting the glaciers, falls, iceberg lagoon etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mihal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I really didn't know how to rate this hotel, First the staff and the restaurant are absolutely superb. When we first arrived we did encounter a surly receptionist who directed us a room that clearly was not the suite we had booked. This was corrected immediately when we pointed it out. The suite itself I found oppressive and very dark in what is already a dark place. I did glance at the open door of a suite nearby and it looked a lot more attractive. The whole point of coming to this area is to see the spectacular landscape nearby and hopefully the northern Lights. The hotel is promotes as isolated which it really isn't. Overlooking a salmon river the lodge is comfortable and for me the main attraction was the sensational food and service. I had wild mushroom soup which was simply delicious followed a very good steak in a a jus and mashed potatoes followed by a warm chocolate cake. overall Hotel Ranga was nice but sparse I would have liked to see a spa with massage facilities etc although you could request this. I think the problem lies in it doesn't know what it wants to be

Room Tip: I found our suite on the second floor very dark and oppressive but i know that the one next door was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monasheaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
916 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I loved this hotel; while it is true that the rooms are not "special", it is the whole package of Ranga that makes the resort so delightful.

From the wonderful location to the friendly staff, from the delightful hot-tubs to the relaxing lounge areas, the Hotel Ranga offers a terrific experience. It is certainly true that North American visitors seeing a "four star" rating might be expecting a slightly different sort of resort, but one in in Iceland for its astounding scenery and ambiance, and in these matters the hotel scores well.

It is an easy two-hour drive from Keflavik, and makes for a rather ideal place to start one's journey to this terrific country. I shall be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just recently I had a very high end incentive group of 70 people spend 3 nights at Hotel Ranga. Unfortunately during the site inspection, I missed the opportunity to experience the hotel firsthand. They were wonderful to work with over the internet although upon first sight, from the road, my husband and I gave each other a look that said, "Uh Oh". Let me tell you that first impressions can be very deceiving.

From the moment you walk in the door, you know you picked the right spot. We were greeted by the staff, Kolbrun, (Kola for short) the reception and group manager, Hadi the Chef & David the Banquet Manager. What an absolutely amazing staff. I never heard the word NO. Every request, need and addition to the program was embraced with enthusiasm and executed brilliantly.

The food prepared by Chef Hadi is a treat for both the eyes as well as the taste buds. Chef even created special limited lunch menus that were really well received by our guests. The restaurant and meeting space is both comfortable and inviting with views of the Salmon River.

Our stay was not without drama, with three of our attendees having medical issues, however Kolburn was on it with us providing for our every need and assisting us with quick resolution to these issues with lots of follow-up that felt a lot like love.

Not only did we have lovely meals at Ranga, but the group stayed up late at the bar, which they did not close until our last peps went to bed. David, the banquet manager stayed well past the time allotted to us to turn rooms for the next days events with his crew, and believe it or not, there he was with a smile on his face the next am.

OK, so the rooms at Ranga are not the Four Seasons. Nor are they the Marriott, but they are warm and cozy, and the beds with fluffy comforters are oh so yummy. Besides that, the owner of the hotel is on site most of the time. Since many of our guests were curious about how the hotel came to be, Freddie the Fish Monger, as he is lovingly known, spoke to the group prior to dinner on the second night of our stay. A real plus since he's well spoken and a comedian as well.

And to close, we were all hoping to see the norther lights, which were not in our cards, but the hotel has just installed an observatory and all who wanted got views of Venus and Mars with commentary by a professional astronomer.

Ranga is also the perfect jump-off point for snowmobiling, Ice hiking, horseback riding, river rafting and ATVing.

What a great example of "Service".

Room Tip: Rooms on the South Side have doors to go outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FosterOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
480 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
31 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
123 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
269 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Property: Hotel Ranga
Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranga 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing