We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid Isolation”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Splendid Isolation”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There are some things that could be useful to know: the hotel's easy to find, being within sight (but not sound) of Route 1, but don't try getting there via public transport - it's too remote. The nearest shops etc are a 15-minute drive away in Hvollsvollur, so the hotel has a monopoly on food and drink. The restaurant is superb, with an extensive buffet selection for breakfast which was kept well topped-up by attentive staff, and the evening meals are wonderful cuisine. You don't really need to order starters, as you'll get a free taster of the delicious mushroom soup before your main course. Options are cod, lamb, chicken, vegetarian barley or fish of the day...so just about enough for you to have something different every day for a week. I recommend the ice cream, the skyr and/or the chocolate pudding for dessert. Of course, the wine list isn't cheap, and the bar prices are also high, but you have to expect that. Some of our party spent an evening whisky-tasting - which didn't quite break their bank! The staff are all very friendly, professional and pleasant at all times.
The reception area is quite compact, so that with six of us and our luggage, it felt full. I think checking in and out as a larger group could feel uncomfortable. We arrived at 12 noon and couldn't check in until 3pm, but were offered free coffees, and then went out to explore in our cars for a while. On return, check-in was very quick, and we had deluxe double rooms overlooking the river, which have decking and outside seating and easy access to one of the (three) hot-tubs. The view's not majestic, but it is very peaceful, with lots of birdsong. The rooms have black blackout blinds as well as curtains, and seemed well soundproofed, making it easier to get a good night's sleep in midsummer. Bathrooms of a good size, flat-screen tv, large mini-bar (which we left alone), and enough space for clothes and luggage. Very comfortable beds, and all immaculately clean. The hospitality tray was stuck in an awkward corner behind the door, and for some reason included one small teacup and one tiny coffee cup, which was our only niggle.
The hotel does seem to be used as a stopover by touring groups, so you might be unlucky and meet a large noisy party in the restaurant, but other than that I'd highly recommend staying here for at least a couple of nights, if you can afford it. There's much to enjoy in the eccentric décor, the attentive owner and staff, and the general ambience.
Apparently it's good for the Northern Lights in winter, too. We picked the wrong time of year for those, but would be happy to go back some time.

Room Tip: Go for a south-facing river view, not a north-facing car park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    368
    101
    27
    4
See reviews for
256
942
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Mass
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Even the positive reviews did not prepare us for the great experience we had at the Ranga. We were upgraded to the Asian suite, which was creatively (and authentically?) decorated in traditional Japanese style, which alone was quite a treat, but we also noticed attention to numerous details (including construction/architectural details) throughout the hotel. This is a beautiful and inspiration place to stay.

The dining experience also lived up to the venue, with a world-class meal served by an attentive staff. My only regret was that the finest wines on their list were priced a bit out of my range (e.g., decent Burgundies at about US$500), so we settled for a step down in that department.

I can truly say that our stay here was a highlight of our trip around the Ring Road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you ever take a drive along the south coast of Iceland, and I strongly recommend that you do so, make your luxury stop at this property. Of log cabin design it is not a rough wooden building but a "proper" building clad in Canadian split logs for effect. Everything in this hotel is designed to impress, from the large bathrooms with jacuzzi baths to the generous public areas. Service and the restaurant and bar are designed to impress too and they do. Everything happens under the watchful eye of the owner for whom this hotel is a passion. What hopefully escapes his eye, and hopefully those of too many others (although British privacy is not too much of an Icelandic trait) are the outdoor hot tubs where you can relax and unwind.

Tips: Give yourself time for a good meal in the hotel restaurant, there is nowhere else nearby to eat and you won't be sorry if you do eat here, the chef is excellent.
Ask for a room on the river-side, ground floor if possible.
Bring a bottle of wine to enjoy in the hot tub or you'll only be jealous of the others who did.
Don't expect it to be inexpensive.

Room Tip: Get a river facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

- Deluxe rooms are large with excellent facilities.
- 5 Star service from a 4 Star hotel
- Beautiful location in Southern Iceland
- Excellent outdoor heated spas
- Great room service
- Helpful staff
- Free onsite parking

Room Tip: It is expensive! But an excellent hotel and amazing location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fantastic place to spot the aurura borealis. The hotel offers a call anytime during the night if the aurora gets spotted into the sky. The hotel is far away from any city, so the darkness is perfect. Hotel is on the side of a small river and not far away from same of the good attractions of Iceland. From the hotel, with their help, you can book any sort of attraction. We did the daily tour to the vulcano which last had a big eruption. We went big big foot jeep and it was very good. Rooms are big, restaurant is good both for dinner and for breakfast. Price ... avarage like the rest of the country, so quite expensive.... There are 2 small jacuzzi outdoor which in the middle of the winter is an experience to do, even if it could be for sure something more fashionable. Is just a tube in the garden.

Room Tip: All the rooms has the same view, so the difference between then is just the distance from the centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FilippoP_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was wonderful! Stayed two nights here at the Hotel Ranga and was very pleased. Very clean rooms and the dining was superb! Their cod is not to be missed. Front desk was helpful answering questions about near by attractions. Their hot tubs were a wonderful way to relax after a full day of sight seeing.

Room Tip: Was in a room with two children; ask about the rooms with a pull out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

excellent meal. Fish of the day (Ling) was cooked just right and nicely plated. The mushroom soup is tops. Do not miss it. Nice setting, overlooking river. Vaguely reminiscent of Jackson lake lodge. Warning: Backroads uses facility and very, very noisy. Killed the ambience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Biz&LeisureTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
42.2 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Property: Hotel Ranga
Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing