We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet oasis, but slightly isolated.”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I spent six nights here whilst touring the south of Iceland as part of a group. Check in was quick and my wife and I were allocated a lower grade room overlooking a meadow with views towards the river. I got the impression that most guests only stayed one or two nights as part of a tour or as a special treat. On the whole it was peaceful with only birdsong to wake you in the morning. There was a hot tub right outside our window which could be noisy if you wanted an early night, although there was a cut off time of 23.00hrs. The room was fairly small but comfortable with mini bar, kettle etc, combined corner bath and shower. The black out blinds/curtains were good but could have been imroved.
The bar was expensive, but no more so than anywhere else, it had a happy hour between 16.00 and 18.30 and had a great range of local beers and a hugh selection of whiskeys. I ate here on all nights but chose not to dine formally. There was a bar menu and it was possible to cherry pick individual dishes from the main menu. For any one staying any length of time and without access to transport this could be a slight problem as the choice was limited.
Breakfast was terrific, selection of cereals skyr, fruit, meats, cheese, breads with hot scrambled egg bacon and porridge. Plenty of good coffee.
My only other grumble would be that the only way this hotel had to control the heating appeared to be to fling the windows open. At times I found the room and communal areas uncomfortably warm.
There were massage facilities and a communal games room which I did not use.
The owner/ manager? was particularly attentive and had a strong presence throughout the hotel.
The wooden decor, polite staff and beautiful setting made this a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget then ttry to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed there unfortunatelly just for one night. The views from the hotel are fantastic, the room is comfortable with a lovely bath tube in the bathroom. The common areas are very comfortable. Appero, dinner and breakfast were fantastic. I forgot my sleeping mask and the hotel kindly sent it to me back to Switzerland. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank semf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 6 nights with the hotel as our base to explore the South of Iceland.
The room we were allocated upon arrival (18h) had not been made so we were upgraded from a room with a queen to a kingsize bed. We were very pleased as the queen beds are too narrow for our liking. This pleasant hick-up was the only small thing we could say anything negative about in Ranga.
We found dining expensive so most of the time we had a bar meal, also for not eating too much at night. What was served however was of high quality and delicious.
Buffet breakfast was amazing! A very wide choice of things of the highest quality. The staff was very attentive, so at no time was there any tray, jug etc. empty on the buffet tables.

We were there in a group travelling in a bus, which left a small part of the group at the hotel situated 5-6km outside Hella. We felt ourselves sometimes a bit stranded without a car.
Overall it was great to be at Ranga, a superbly well run hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a kingsize!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_p_j_seip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

There are some things that could be useful to know: the hotel's easy to find, being within sight (but not sound) of Route 1, but don't try getting there via public transport - it's too remote. The nearest shops etc are a 15-minute drive away in Hvollsvollur, so the hotel has a monopoly on food and drink. The restaurant is superb, with an extensive buffet selection for breakfast which was kept well topped-up by attentive staff, and the evening meals are wonderful cuisine. You don't really need to order starters, as you'll get a free taster of the delicious mushroom soup before your main course. Options are cod, lamb, chicken, vegetarian barley or fish of the day...so just about enough for you to have something different every day for a week. I recommend the ice cream, the skyr and/or the chocolate pudding for dessert. Of course, the wine list isn't cheap, and the bar prices are also high, but you have to expect that. Some of our party spent an evening whisky-tasting - which didn't quite break their bank! The staff are all very friendly, professional and pleasant at all times.
The reception area is quite compact, so that with six of us and our luggage, it felt full. I think checking in and out as a larger group could feel uncomfortable. We arrived at 12 noon and couldn't check in until 3pm, but were offered free coffees, and then went out to explore in our cars for a while. On return, check-in was very quick, and we had deluxe double rooms overlooking the river, which have decking and outside seating and easy access to one of the (three) hot-tubs. The view's not majestic, but it is very peaceful, with lots of birdsong. The rooms have black blackout blinds as well as curtains, and seemed well soundproofed, making it easier to get a good night's sleep in midsummer. Bathrooms of a good size, flat-screen tv, large mini-bar (which we left alone), and enough space for clothes and luggage. Very comfortable beds, and all immaculately clean. The hospitality tray was stuck in an awkward corner behind the door, and for some reason included one small teacup and one tiny coffee cup, which was our only niggle.
The hotel does seem to be used as a stopover by touring groups, so you might be unlucky and meet a large noisy party in the restaurant, but other than that I'd highly recommend staying here for at least a couple of nights, if you can afford it. There's much to enjoy in the eccentric décor, the attentive owner and staff, and the general ambience.
Apparently it's good for the Northern Lights in winter, too. We picked the wrong time of year for those, but would be happy to go back some time.

Room Tip: Go for a south-facing river view, not a north-facing car park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Even the positive reviews did not prepare us for the great experience we had at the Ranga. We were upgraded to the Asian suite, which was creatively (and authentically?) decorated in traditional Japanese style, which alone was quite a treat, but we also noticed attention to numerous details (including construction/architectural details) throughout the hotel. This is a beautiful and inspiration place to stay.

The dining experience also lived up to the venue, with a world-class meal served by an attentive staff. My only regret was that the finest wines on their list were priced a bit out of my range (e.g., decent Burgundies at about US$500), so we settled for a step down in that department.

I can truly say that our stay here was a highlight of our trip around the Ring Road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you ever take a drive along the south coast of Iceland, and I strongly recommend that you do so, make your luxury stop at this property. Of log cabin design it is not a rough wooden building but a "proper" building clad in Canadian split logs for effect. Everything in this hotel is designed to impress, from the large bathrooms with jacuzzi baths to the generous public areas. Service and the restaurant and bar are designed to impress too and they do. Everything happens under the watchful eye of the owner for whom this hotel is a passion. What hopefully escapes his eye, and hopefully those of too many others (although British privacy is not too much of an Icelandic trait) are the outdoor hot tubs where you can relax and unwind.

Tips: Give yourself time for a good meal in the hotel restaurant, there is nowhere else nearby to eat and you won't be sorry if you do eat here, the chef is excellent.
Ask for a room on the river-side, ground floor if possible.
Bring a bottle of wine to enjoy in the hot tub or you'll only be jealous of the others who did.
Don't expect it to be inexpensive.

Room Tip: Get a river facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baradon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

- Deluxe rooms are large with excellent facilities.
- 5 Star service from a 4 Star hotel
- Beautiful location in Southern Iceland
- Excellent outdoor heated spas
- Great room service
- Helpful staff
- Free onsite parking

Room Tip: It is expensive! But an excellent hotel and amazing location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosephLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
545 reviews
5.1 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
41 reviews
21.4 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hella
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
212 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#3 of 11 in Hella
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: £247 - £827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranga 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel in South Iceland it is located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, and lies just off the main road right in the middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accommodation, and service. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientele. Hótel Rangá has 52 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing