We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Seasonal Stay”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Ranga in November for 2 nights and it's a perfect time of year to visit.

Our room was warm and cosy with a great bathroom and although it overlooked the car park turned out not to matter at all beacuse that was the side of the hotel the northern lights were visible from so we could view them in the comfort of our own room.

The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and in the evening served a buffet which was delicious.

The staff were really helpful and friendly. They called our car hire company for us when we had a bit of trouble with our car, they took time out in the busy restaurant to explain all the food, the chef came and spoke to us and in the evening they checked the satelitte to show us the best place and time to see the northern light. They even turned off the car park lights to make sure we got the best possible view.

The hot tubs were great fun in the evening with a glass of wine in the freezing temperatures.

If your looking for fresh air, peace and quiet, great food then we'd really reccomed the Hotel Ranga.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gwladys-Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,518 - 1,524 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2007

This hotel is not all that great actually. They tried to put us in a cheaper, smaller room on check-in despite our written confirmation of the booking in hand and the fact that we had already paid for the room in full prior to arrival via our travel agent (Note: this seems to be a common occurrence in Iceland as it happened at every single hotel we stayed at whilst there) and only after we refused to accept the downgraded room the "unavailable" room suddenly became available. The room itself is mediocre. The breakfast was lovely. The staff was surly. The hot tubs were outside in the middle of no-where exposed to all manner of elements e.g. rain, wind etc. A bit over-rated. Bathroom was nice with a lovely big corner bath.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anothermember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2006

Stayed here for one night in early August, on arrival we found we had been upgraded(free) to one of their executive suite which was a lovely unexpected surprise. The room was lovely, although the bed rather hard, with plasma tv, dvd, sound system etc a lovely large bathroom with corner bath.
Although it had outdoor hot tubs we didn't use them and as another reviewer stated the small patio area needed chairs to sit out on.
The breakfast buffet was one of the best we had in Iceland. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2006
6  Thank Riviman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2006

A very lovely hotel with a fine restaurant. Don't make a special trip to go there as there is nothing just around the hotel. The nearest site is a fine waterfall about a half hour away. But if you are in the neighborhood, I recommend it. Excellent, helpful, friendly staff is found here.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank trip3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

OK, now anyone who has been to Iceland knows that the lodging options and standards are different from those to which one might be accustomed when traveling elsewhere in Europe or the U.S., so our expectations were already somewhat lowered. On the other hand, Hotel Range bills itself as the only four start property in southern Iceland, so we re-raised our expectations for this particular property...in the end, we would have been much happier had we gone in with our original (lower) expectations.

This is a nice hotel. The rooms are OK, but nothing special: good beds, nice bathroom. We had oped to pay extra for the rooms with the outside balcony, which turned out to be a waste of money as the "balcony" was really just a patio leading out onto the lawn and they didn't have any tables/chairs out there, which renders the patio just this side of useless (would have much preferred having the patio as extra indoor space). Otherwise, nothing else really special about the rooms (that would make you think "four star"), but they were fine.

Dinner was excellent (but pricey) and there's a great bar/lounge upstairs from the restaurant that was very nice as well. There are two outdoor hot pots which were nice as well (unfortunately, though, they're right in front of the dining room and bar windows, so there's no sense of seclusion at all).

The staff were excellent, from different places round Europe, and were very helpful (in fact, they suggested that we alter our itinerary and spend a day heading to Landmannalaugar instead, which turned out to be fabulous!!).

So this is a fine place, right up there with some of the nicer properties in Iceland. But as you prepare to pay 4-star prices, just make sure to temper your lodging expectations some on the "four star" front.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PhillyBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2006

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in Hotel Ranga for 2 nights as part of our 1st anniversary trip to Iceland.

We drove from Snaefellnes peninsula which took 2 - 3 hours, but it is actually only about an hour or so from Reykjavik.

We got a bit lost trying to find the hotel because it's actually about 3km out of Hella and it's not signposted. If you're driving from Reykjavik on Route 1, go through Hella and keep on going. It's on the RHS with a big wooden gate/structure making it's entrance.

We were shocked to see a huge stuffed polar bear (Hrammur from Greenland) standing to greet us as we entered the reception!

We stayed in a deluxe room with river view which was lovely. The staff were particularly friendly. The bathroom was huge with a corner bath! They even provide you with candles so that you can make it as romantic as you like.

There are two hot tubs outside on the banks of the river, however, it was raining during our stay, so we didn't get to use them.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night, and the food was delicious (as was all the food we had in Iceland). The menu even goes so far as to explain about all the ingredients. The breakfasts here were also good - complete with make your own waffles! Yum!

The hotel is about a 30 minute drive to Selfoss where there are other restaurants. We went to the only Thai restaurant there which was good value (for Icelandic standards) and quite delicious.

The hotel is well situated for Thingvellir, Gulfoss and Geysir. It took less than an hour to dirve there. If you go the other way (south) on Route 1 towards Vik, you'll find various waterfalls and other natural wonders which are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MeiFan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2005

I stayed in Hotel Ranga two nights when I travelled around Myrdalsjökull and enjoyed it very much.

The wooden architecture of the hotel makes it very cosy and comfortable. The restaurant is excellent and good value. Rooms are ok with a small balcony and breathtaking view across the river.

Wireless Internet is provided but the reception too poor if you are at the southeast side of the hotel.

Recommended for travellers to Gullfoss, Stori and Myrdalsjökull.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hypermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
531 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
36 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
283 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
136 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: £253 - £785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel in South Iceland it is located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, and lies just off the main road right in the middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accommodation, and service. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientele. Hótel Rangá has 52 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing