We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place to Stay Between Golden Triangle and Vik”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Stay Between Golden Triangle and Vik”
Reviewed 6 July 2007

Very nice place. Wooden lodge style hotel. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Bathroom is huge and room looked out onto a small river. Restaurant is top-notch - recommend the Iceland Surf and Turf - and they even had my favortie brand of Scotch in the bar upstairs. Will go back.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Travellin_Chad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    368
    100
    27
    4
See reviews for
256
940
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Ranga. Ok, the rooms are pretty small, but that seems to be normal in Iceland. But the restaurant and the location around the hotel make up for the cosy rooms. Furthermore, the hotel is conveniantly located for most of the major sight in the south of Iceland, including the Westmaenner Islands. Do take a day to go out there!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SofieZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Ranga in November for 2 nights and it's a perfect time of year to visit.

Our room was warm and cosy with a great bathroom and although it overlooked the car park turned out not to matter at all beacuse that was the side of the hotel the northern lights were visible from so we could view them in the comfort of our own room.

The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and in the evening served a buffet which was delicious.

The staff were really helpful and friendly. They called our car hire company for us when we had a bit of trouble with our car, they took time out in the busy restaurant to explain all the food, the chef came and spoke to us and in the evening they checked the satelitte to show us the best place and time to see the northern light. They even turned off the car park lights to make sure we got the best possible view.

The hot tubs were great fun in the evening with a glass of wine in the freezing temperatures.

If your looking for fresh air, peace and quiet, great food then we'd really reccomed the Hotel Ranga.

  • Liked — Cosy, romatic Christmas feel
  • Disliked — It is remote so there is no other choice of dining without a drive.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gwladys-Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

This hotel is not all that great actually. They tried to put us in a cheaper, smaller room on check-in despite our written confirmation of the booking in hand and the fact that we had already paid for the room in full prior to arrival via our travel agent (Note: this seems to be a common occurrence in Iceland as it happened at every single hotel we stayed at whilst there) and only after we refused to accept the downgraded room the "unavailable" room suddenly became available. The room itself is mediocre. The breakfast was lovely. The staff was surly. The hot tubs were outside in the middle of no-where exposed to all manner of elements e.g. rain, wind etc. A bit over-rated. Bathroom was nice with a lovely big corner bath.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Mediocre room
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anothermember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton ,England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2006

Stayed here for one night in early August, on arrival we found we had been upgraded(free) to one of their executive suite which was a lovely unexpected surprise. The room was lovely, although the bed rather hard, with plasma tv, dvd, sound system etc a lovely large bathroom with corner bath.
Although it had outdoor hot tubs we didn't use them and as another reviewer stated the small patio area needed chairs to sit out on.
The breakfast buffet was one of the best we had in Iceland. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Riviman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward.levine2@verizon.net
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2006

A very lovely hotel with a fine restaurant. Don't make a special trip to go there as there is nothing just around the hotel. The nearest site is a fine waterfall about a half hour away. But if you are in the neighborhood, I recommend it. Excellent, helpful, friendly staff is found here.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — little sites in the vicinity
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank trip3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

OK, now anyone who has been to Iceland knows that the lodging options and standards are different from those to which one might be accustomed when traveling elsewhere in Europe or the U.S., so our expectations were already somewhat lowered. On the other hand, Hotel Range bills itself as the only four start property in southern Iceland, so we re-raised our expectations for this particular property...in the end, we would have been much happier had we gone in with our original (lower) expectations.

This is a nice hotel. The rooms are OK, but nothing special: good beds, nice bathroom. We had oped to pay extra for the rooms with the outside balcony, which turned out to be a waste of money as the "balcony" was really just a patio leading out onto the lawn and they didn't have any tables/chairs out there, which renders the patio just this side of useless (would have much preferred having the patio as extra indoor space). Otherwise, nothing else really special about the rooms (that would make you think "four star"), but they were fine.

Dinner was excellent (but pricey) and there's a great bar/lounge upstairs from the restaurant that was very nice as well. There are two outdoor hot pots which were nice as well (unfortunately, though, they're right in front of the dining room and bar windows, so there's no sense of seclusion at all).

The staff were excellent, from different places round Europe, and were very helpful (in fact, they suggested that we alter our itinerary and spend a day heading to Landmannalaugar instead, which turned out to be fabulous!!).

So this is a fine place, right up there with some of the nicer properties in Iceland. But as you prepare to pay 4-star prices, just make sure to temper your lodging expectations some on the "four star" front.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank PhillyBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
42.2 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Property: Hotel Ranga
Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing