We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not terrible, but I probably wouldn't recommend it...”
Review of Hotel Hella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hella
Ranked #9 of 9 Hella B&B and Inns
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not terrible, but I probably wouldn't recommend it...”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Pros:
- The bathrooms were clean and serviceable, although a blow dryer would have been nice.
- Breakfast was actually pretty good and included a small section of hot breakfast including pancakes and sausages.
- Free wifi in the lounge and dining areas.
- The staff were nice and helpful.

Cons:
- Beds are a thin layer of foam on a very flimsy box spring. This is perhaps tolerable if you sleep very easily or are only staying for one night
- The décor in the rooms is very dated and could certainly use updating. The room did have new looking laminate floors, so perhaps they are slowly remodelling?
- Hotel has no elevator, so if you are staying on the second floor, be prepared to drag your luggage up the stairs.
- The curtains do almost nothing to block out the late night sun.
- Hella is a very small town with very little to do and only one decent restaurant. Selfoss is relatively close by and offers many more options for accommodations, leisure and dining.

I am actually really conflicted about how to rate this hotel. For heavy sleepers on a tight budget this hotel would probably be perfectly fine.

However, I would not recommend this hotel if you can afford to spend a little bit more - especially if you are planning on staying for more than one night.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so ask for a first floor room if you don't want to drag your luggage up st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomanynouns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    37
    31
    19
    8
See reviews for
16
54
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

If you want to stay in a hotel that hasn't been refurbished with IKEA stuff yet and still breathes the 1970's....go to this place. Its comfortable, big, friendly staff and very quiet so you'll have a good sleep after your trip of the day. Only tip for the hotel would be to replace the too soft matresses but overal no complaints

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvesDebroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A great hotel for exploring Southern Iceland and just off the Ringroad.
Spotless rooms and well equipped ..tourist class. This hotel reflects the standard of most hotels in Iceland..your going to see Iceland not the interior of your hotel!
No restaurant on site but a short walk away from Cafe Arhus which we can recomend. The hotel does offer breakfast onsite which was great.

Room Tip: Book as part of an "On the road" package via the Fosshotel website especially if travellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazzerlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed as part of a bus tour of the Golden Circle. There seemed to be two blocks and our block above reception had shared facilities ,very small rooms and paper thin walls. Breakfast was OK Enjoyed the swimming pool two blocks away

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hella hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Very strange hotel. Both the rooms, the breakfast room (there is no restaurant on site) and the sitting area seemed like a flashback from 1959. A lot of wood, a lot of Ikea furniture but always the old-fashioned one. Some might call it rural or rustic but also a bit depressing.

In the rooms are boxsprings with very thin matrasses. Not really uncomfortable but if you move a lot in your sleep the covers tend to loosen. Sometimes there is a weird, indefinable smell in the hotel. Tiny bathroom and not enough electric sockets.

The breakfast is kind of basic but maybe that was also due to the fact that there were little guests.

For dinner it's best to drive to Selfoss that offers more opportunities than Hella.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hanssterkendries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We booked our trip on the 26th of April and suppose to have reservation at this Hotel. We figured since we have a paid reservation we thought we can arrive when ever we feel like. When we arrived there around 5 we were told that the Hotle overbooked and they waiting for a bus load of people. I don't think is i fair that they bump you off just because same travel company brings a busload. So we were send across to a camping/trailer/cabin place. The cabin was very small and had no TV. We had no complain about the food there but the room was not at all what we had reservation for and no discount or refund was offered. I would not recommend this Hotel at all just because of the reasons mentioned before hand.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
264 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Stayed here the night after we had stayed at the Fosshotel in Skaftafell. Considering this was half the price of Skaftafell were weren't sure what to expect - particularly as it does look a little utilitarian from the outside. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was spotlessly clean, plenty of space and the showeroom clean and functional. The rate included breakfast with all the options you could want and was well supplied by the staff. There was a large coach party staying when we were there but the receptionist had warned us about it when we checked in. She also recommended eating dinner at Arhaus acrosss the road which was a good choice in a town with few options.
There isn't a lot in Hella but it was a good starting point for our backwards 'Golden Circle'.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HUNTINGPARTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
42.1 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#3 of 9 in Hella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#5 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arhus Hellu
Arhus Hellu
#1 of 4 in Hella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hella

Property: Hotel Hella
Address: Thrudvangur 6, Hella 850, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hella is a 2/3 star type tourist class hotel offering 35 rooms with shower/wc and 18 rooms with shared facilities. Situated in Hella village just off Iceland's Ring Road, Hotel Hella offers a convenient place to stay for tourists travelling around Iceland. Hotel Hella has free parking and the local gas station and supermarket are located just one minutes' walk away. Selfoss is the largest town in the South of Iceland and is located 35km away. Guests can choose from single, double or triple rooms with private facilities. All of these rooms have recently had Wi-Fi installed for uploading all your great pictures! We also have double rooms with shared facilities and guests can access Wi-Fi in public areas. A continental breakfast is included in the price and it is served each morning in Hella Hotel's dining room. Arhus restaurant is located just across the street and serves a rich variety of local plates and global favourites. Also at Arhus there is an information centre where you can find out about popular activities in the area include hiking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hella Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing