We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very old/classic design and poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hella
Ranked #9 of 9 Hella B&B and Inns
Best, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very old/classic design and poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

During breakfast a lot of things were finished, rarely seen a member of staff, no dinner options, a lot of lights were broken or weren't working. When the power switched off the member of staff that was present did not take it seriously, and did not really know how to fixe it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel, Manager at Hotel Hella, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to give our hotel a review and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Iceland.

I read your review carefully and I wanted to let you know that we have had problems with electricity at the hotel that day and the problem has been fixed.

I am sad to hear that you didn't enjoy our breakfast which we try to have as perfect as we can.
The thing is that sometimes groups staying at our hotel leave early in the morning and then everybody comes at the same time for breakfast and the area gets very crowded. The staff does not have that much time to fill up the buffet table fast and it is understandable that customers have to wait few minutes for refilling.

Once again I hope you enjoyed staying in Iceland and we hope you will give us a second chance if you will come back to our island.

Best Regards,
Gísli Hjörtur Hreiðarsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    36
    28
    18
    8
See reviews for
15
51
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
152 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The front desk help was very good and very friendly. The kitchen help did not speak English. So ask for milk rather than creamer! It was a clean little hotel that has a restaurant and gas station across the way. The gas station is open till 11 with budget priced snacks, ice cream and cold drinks. The rooms were small and I had to share one with someone from a group. It was tolerable but very small compared to hotel rooms in the USA. There is no elevator so if you don't want to carry your bags up steps, get a first floor room if available. Its a quiet little hotel. It was nice to stay for a couple days but I was glad to get to Reykjavik. We stayed here while we visited the area attractions. The restaurant across the road was descent but they promised lamb for our group but only delivered chicken instead. Disappointing. Not the hotel but the only nearby restaurant. Good for a brief stay. Nice staff. Clean

Room Tip: No elevator - get a first floor room. Very tiny rooms. Local restaurant was mediocre at best. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

There is only one reason you stay at a place like this: to use it as a base for exploring the southern Highlands. The rooms are small, basic, and clean, and wifi is free but available only in the common area. Breakfast is good. If you plan day trips to Landmannalaugar, Thjórsárdalur and areas nearby, Fosshótel Mosfell serves as an ideal base at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voiceofgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Pros:
- The bathrooms were clean and serviceable, although a blow dryer would have been nice.
- Breakfast was actually pretty good and included a small section of hot breakfast including pancakes and sausages.
- Free wifi in the lounge and dining areas.
- The staff were nice and helpful.

Cons:
- Beds are a thin layer of foam on a very flimsy box spring. This is perhaps tolerable if you sleep very easily or are only staying for one night
- The décor in the rooms is very dated and could certainly use updating. The room did have new looking laminate floors, so perhaps they are slowly remodelling?
- Hotel has no elevator, so if you are staying on the second floor, be prepared to drag your luggage up the stairs.
- The curtains do almost nothing to block out the late night sun.
- Hella is a very small town with very little to do and only one decent restaurant. Selfoss is relatively close by and offers many more options for accommodations, leisure and dining.

I am actually really conflicted about how to rate this hotel. For heavy sleepers on a tight budget this hotel would probably be perfectly fine.

However, I would not recommend this hotel if you can afford to spend a little bit more - especially if you are planning on staying for more than one night.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so ask for a first floor room if you don't want to drag your luggage up st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toomanynouns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

If you want to stay in a hotel that hasn't been refurbished with IKEA stuff yet and still breathes the 1970's....go to this place. Its comfortable, big, friendly staff and very quiet so you'll have a good sleep after your trip of the day. Only tip for the hotel would be to replace the too soft matresses but overal no complaints

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvesDebroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

A great hotel for exploring Southern Iceland and just off the Ringroad.
Spotless rooms and well equipped ..tourist class. This hotel reflects the standard of most hotels in Iceland..your going to see Iceland not the interior of your hotel!
No restaurant on site but a short walk away from Cafe Arhus which we can recomend. The hotel does offer breakfast onsite which was great.

Room Tip: Book as part of an "On the road" package via the Fosshotel website especially if travellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazzerlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed as part of a bus tour of the Golden Circle. There seemed to be two blocks and our block above reception had shared facilities ,very small rooms and paper thin walls. Breakfast was OK Enjoyed the swimming pool two blocks away

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hella hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
42.6 mi away
Hrauneyjar Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#3 of 9 in Hella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#5 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#2 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hella

Property: Hotel Hella
Address: Thrudvangur 6, Hella 850, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hella is a 2/3 star type tourist class hotel offering 35 rooms with shower/wc and 18 rooms with shared facilities. Situated in Hella village just off Iceland's Ring Road, Hotel Hella offers a convenient place to stay for tourists travelling around Iceland. Hotel Hella has free parking and the local gas station and supermarket are located just one minutes' walk away. Selfoss is the largest town in the South of Iceland and is located 35km away. Guests can choose from single, double or triple rooms with private facilities. All of these rooms have recently had Wi-Fi installed for uploading all your great pictures! We also have double rooms with shared facilities and guests can access Wi-Fi in public areas. A continental breakfast is included in the price and it is served each morning in Hella Hotel's dining room. Arhus restaurant is located just across the street and serves a rich variety of local plates and global favourites. Also at Arhus there is an information centre where you can find out about popular activities in the area include hiking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hella Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing