We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate place to stay to see the area”
Review of Hotel Hella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hella
Ranked #9 of 11 Hella B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed there for one night before taking the bus to Landmannalaugar to do the 4 days hike. The hotel is clean and staff is friendly and helpful. It's true that the furnitures are not modern ikea style and everything is a bit old fashioned but we found it quite funny and did not care much as long as this was clean (and clean it was). The rooms are not huge but adequate per European standard. The breakfast is quite nice with a lot of different options. The staff gave us very helpful advice and what to do in the Soth after our hike. They also let us park our car on their parking lot for 4 days. All in all, better service than a simple guesthouse that justifies a slightly higher price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourchette_Sacados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Paper thin walls (1950's panelling) in 2.5m /
8' wide rooms (I could almost touch both walls) and the previously mentioned shared bathrooms which are inadequate for the number of rooms, make this a very poor choice. On hot days the rooms overheat quickly - I assume because there is little or no insulation!? Outdated & definitely Not Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonB-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I think the best thing about this place was the service. The girl at the front desk was really nice and helpful. The room was just decent, because it was very small and had no TV or bathroom, but I guess they probably have better rooms available. They also had free breakfast, Internet, and free chocolates at the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellyPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have been to this hotel both this year and three years ago, so we saw both interior faces.
The old part is classic Icelandic. Small rooms for two, shared facilities, dark interior - simple and clean.
The new part with the family rooms is much lighter and has in-room facilities.
As for the service, you have to remember that a lot of the staff is hired only for the tourist season (July/August). So you will meet a lot of students on summerjobb, farmers and other people managing the hotels in the countryside. Not the professional *****-staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Had to look several times at the reviews and location to make sure this was the right accommodation I was reviewing. Certainly did not see any rooms that looked like those shown. We were on the 2nd floor with long dark corridors and the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in. For over 20 twin rooms there is just 2 shared toilets and 2 showers for women and the same for the men - totally inadequate. The twin beds are both placed against the wall as there isnt enough room for them to be side by side, the faux wood panel does nothing for sound proofing and clear conversations can be heard through the thin walls. No dinner facilities and no bar. Such a shame as the best breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

During breakfast a lot of things were finished, rarely seen a member of staff, no dinner options, a lot of lights were broken or weren't working. When the power switched off the member of staff that was present did not take it seriously, and did not really know how to fixe it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel, Manager at Hotel Hella, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to give our hotel a review and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Iceland.

I read your review carefully and I wanted to let you know that we have had problems with electricity at the hotel that day and the problem has been fixed.

I am sad to hear that you didn't enjoy our breakfast which we try to have as perfect as we can.
The thing is that sometimes groups staying at our hotel leave early in the morning and then everybody comes at the same time for breakfast and the area gets very crowded. The staff does not have that much time to fill up the buffet table fast and it is understandable that customers have to wait few minutes for refilling.

Once again I hope you enjoyed staying in Iceland and we hope you will give us a second chance if you will come back to our island.

Best Regards,
Gísli Hjörtur Hreiðarsson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The front desk help was very good and very friendly. The kitchen help did not speak English. So ask for milk rather than creamer! It was a clean little hotel that has a restaurant and gas station across the way. The gas station is open till 11 with budget priced snacks, ice cream and cold drinks. The rooms were small and I had to share one with someone from a group. It was tolerable but very small compared to hotel rooms in the USA. There is no elevator so if you don't want to carry your bags up steps, get a first floor room if available. Its a quiet little hotel. It was nice to stay for a couple days but I was glad to get to Reykjavik. We stayed here while we visited the area attractions. The restaurant across the road was descent but they promised lamb for our group but only delivered chicken instead. Disappointing. Not the hotel but the only nearby restaurant. Good for a brief stay. Nice staff. Clean

Room Tip: No elevator - get a first floor room. Very tiny rooms. Local restaurant was mediocre at best. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
565 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hella
80 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#1 of 11 in Hella
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#2 of 11 in Hella
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hella

Address: Thrudvangur 6, Hella 850, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range: £67 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hella is a 2/3 star type tourist class hotel offering 35 rooms with shower/wc and 18 rooms with shared facilities. Situated in Hella village just off Iceland's Ring Road, Hotel Hella offers a convenient place to stay for tourists travelling around Iceland. Hotel Hella has free parking and the local gas station and supermarket are located just one minutes' walk away. Selfoss is the largest town in the South of Iceland and is located 35km away. Guests can choose from single, double or triple rooms with private facilities. All of these rooms have recently had Wi-Fi installed for uploading all your great pictures! We also have double rooms with shared facilities and guests can access Wi-Fi in public areas. A continental breakfast is included in the price and it is served each morning in Hella Hotel's dining room. Arhus restaurant is located just across the street and serves a rich variety of local plates and global favourites. Also at Arhus there is an information centre where you can find out about popular activities in the area include hiking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hella Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing