We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hella
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hvolsvollur(Hvolsvollur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Selfoss(Selfoss)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hot Springs Hotel(Hveragerdi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
23
54
40
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
54
40
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas stationrenovated roombit outdatedfree internet accessring roadclose to the hotelbudget hotelgolden circlebreadincluded breakfastbeds were very comfortablewonderful hotelthe ground flooricelandic standardsnight staygreat place to stayroad trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hospitality was astounding. After being caught hiking in a storm, we caught a bus and stumbled into Mosfell asking for a room. The front desk clerk graciously upgraded us to a room with a private washroom with a shower after seeing our discomfort in our cold, wet clothes. We had lost our luggage and the clerk did everything he could to help us out. He looked up phone numbers, translated, and let us use his phone for free.
Room was clean and decent sized. The continental breakfast was more than enough to kick-start our day. The sitting area had very comfy chairs and couches to lounge about on and utilize the free WiFi.
The swimming pool was located just down the street, and a grocery store and delicious bakery right around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2CrazyCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed there for one night before taking the bus to Landmannalaugar to do the 4 days hike. The hotel is clean and staff is friendly and helpful. It's true that the furnitures are not modern ikea style and everything is a bit old fashioned but we found it quite funny and did not care much as long as this was clean (and clean it was). The rooms are not huge but adequate per European standard. The breakfast is quite nice with a lot of different options. The staff gave us very helpful advice and what to do in the Soth after our hike. They also let us park our car on their parking lot for 4 days. All in all, better service than a simple guesthouse that justifies a slightly higher price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourchette_Sacados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Paper thin walls (1950's panelling) in 2.5m /
8' wide rooms (I could almost touch both walls) and the previously mentioned shared bathrooms which are inadequate for the number of rooms, make this a very poor choice. On hot days the rooms overheat quickly - I assume because there is little or no insulation!? Outdated & definitely Not Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonB-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I think the best thing about this place was the service. The girl at the front desk was really nice and helpful. The room was just decent, because it was very small and had no TV or bathroom, but I guess they probably have better rooms available. They also had free breakfast, Internet, and free chocolates at the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellyPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have been to this hotel both this year and three years ago, so we saw both interior faces.
The old part is classic Icelandic. Small rooms for two, shared facilities, dark interior - simple and clean.
The new part with the family rooms is much lighter and has in-room facilities.
As for the service, you have to remember that a lot of the staff is hired only for the tourist season (July/August). So you will meet a lot of students on summerjobb, farmers and other people managing the hotels in the countryside. Not the professional *****-staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beate Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews