We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All what you need”
Review of Hotel Hella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hella
Ranked #9 of 10 Hella B&B and Inns
Bochum, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All what you need”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Good location, clean and a very friendly staff !
Price- performance ratio is fine !
Steyn, the host, is a great communicator with a lot informations all around Island !
The location is well placed, if you want to explore the south.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 134Kai_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    38
    32
    20
    8
See reviews for
18
56
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Hotel Hella is very well located Hotel, at Ring Road of Iceland, road no 1.
Very nice, helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable and clean.
Continental breakfast, very good. Free parking, free internet, free coffee and tea.
Sleept very well, had good rest in good bed. Recommend it.
Looking forward for my next visit.
Jon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel is conveniently located: just a couple yards from the Ring Road 1, almost next to a supermarket, gas station, restaurant and the nice thermal swimming pool.

Rooms are proper and clean with everything we needed. The rooms have very thick walls, that keeps some noise outside but also the wi-fi connection. That was not a problem for us as they have a spacious living area with big-screen sat. tv and high speed wi-fi connection.
Complimentary tea and coffee is available there as well.
Breakfast was nice, with all local Icelandic ingrediënts made. No need to worry for Class B food.

The best of all was the service. Really great owners with a lovely character a willing to answer all questions and help you with everything.

We had a great time at Hotel Hella and we'll come back if we visit Iceland in the future!

Room Tip: All rooms are (about) the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is now under new ownership and has been renamed the hotel Hella. The new owners are very friendly and the rooms are very comfortable. They could not do enough for the school group during our four night stay. They provided excellent home cooked food in the evenings super breakfasts and great packed lunches. They were a mine of information about weather conditions and alternative excursions when our planned events could not take place because the weather changed. Really lovely people who are determined to provide a high level of Icelandic hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgeways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hospitality was astounding. After being caught hiking in a storm, we caught a bus and stumbled into Mosfell asking for a room. The front desk clerk graciously upgraded us to a room with a private washroom with a shower after seeing our discomfort in our cold, wet clothes. We had lost our luggage and the clerk did everything he could to help us out. He looked up phone numbers, translated, and let us use his phone for free.
Room was clean and decent sized. The continental breakfast was more than enough to kick-start our day. The sitting area had very comfy chairs and couches to lounge about on and utilize the free WiFi.
The swimming pool was located just down the street, and a grocery store and delicious bakery right around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2CrazyCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed there for one night before taking the bus to Landmannalaugar to do the 4 days hike. The hotel is clean and staff is friendly and helpful. It's true that the furnitures are not modern ikea style and everything is a bit old fashioned but we found it quite funny and did not care much as long as this was clean (and clean it was). The rooms are not huge but adequate per European standard. The breakfast is quite nice with a lot of different options. The staff gave us very helpful advice and what to do in the Soth after our hike. They also let us park our car on their parking lot for 4 days. All in all, better service than a simple guesthouse that justifies a slightly higher price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourchette_Sacados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Paper thin walls (1950's panelling) in 2.5m /
8' wide rooms (I could almost touch both walls) and the previously mentioned shared bathrooms which are inadequate for the number of rooms, make this a very poor choice. On hot days the rooms overheat quickly - I assume because there is little or no insulation!? Outdated & definitely Not Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonB-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hella hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
477 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,598 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
123 reviews
42.1 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
0.2 mi away
Arhus Hellu
Arhus Hellu
#2 of 6 in Hella
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hella

Property: Hotel Hella
Address: Thrudvangur 6, Hella 850, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hella is a 2/3 star type tourist class hotel offering 35 rooms with shower/wc and 18 rooms with shared facilities. Situated in Hella village just off Iceland's Ring Road, Hotel Hella offers a convenient place to stay for tourists travelling around Iceland. Hotel Hella has free parking and the local gas station and supermarket are located just one minutes' walk away. Selfoss is the largest town in the South of Iceland and is located 35km away. Guests can choose from single, double or triple rooms with private facilities. All of these rooms have recently had Wi-Fi installed for uploading all your great pictures! We also have double rooms with shared facilities and guests can access Wi-Fi in public areas. A continental breakfast is included in the price and it is served each morning in Hella Hotel's dining room. Arhus restaurant is located just across the street and serves a rich variety of local plates and global favourites. Also at Arhus there is an information centre where you can find out about popular activities in the area include hiking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hella Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing