We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference”
Review of Hotel Leirubakki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Leirubakki
Ranked #10 of 11 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Very friendly and helpfull staff.
Location was between many places that we visited.

They also have free wi-fi in reception and "livingroom".

The rooms are simple, but on the other hand, when you visit Iceland, you should not stay in your room.
The bathrooms are not new, but they at kept in shape and have what I consider, high standard for beeing a simple hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Beautiful location, excellent food, friendly staff. Stayed in sleeping bag accommodation option which is good value.
Had a fabulous view of Hekla from the hottub, just the thing after a long day's cycling!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I wouldn't recommend this hotel. It's vastly overprized - it has simple rooms without TV or Wifi, the hot tub is not clean (dead flies), and it's far away from the coast with nothing to do outside the hotel. Breakfast was ok, but staff was slow to clear the tables, so we ate next to other people's empty plates. Reception staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

HOTEL REVIEW # 212 Leurrabakki

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences. LOWER YOUR EXPECTATIONS FOR ICELAND AS FEW HOTELS WILL IMPRESS IN THIS COUNTRY.

LOCATION: Out of the way from most places but a charming area close to and with great views of the Hekla volcano.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Rent a car. 35 minutes from Hotel Ranga.

TYPE OF ROOM: I think all rooms are standard.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed was one of the more comfortable ones in our Iceland trip. Sheets were not luxurious but were comfortable. Pillows were a bit thick in my opinion.

LIGHTING: Adequte lighting in bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Small like most of Iceland but at least the shower has it’s own enclosure versus sharing the same floor with the toilet (many Iceland hotels are this way).

TOILETRIES: Best to bring your own.

CLEANLINESS: Entire hotel and room is spotless.

A/C: None but heat works well.

STYLE OF ROOM: Basic Ikea-like furniture.

COMMON AREA: There is an area to hang out upstairs that is OK with some couches. The Jacuzzi is really in a scenic area but the water was too cold to enjoy.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room was quiet and was the only hotel in our 6 hotels we stayed at that all of the sunlight could be blocked (there is a metal shade that comes down on the outside (we almost missed this feature)

FOOD: Dinner at the restaurant was amazing (and I am VERY picky). The trout was very fresh and the sauce was delicious. Perhaps the best mashed potatoes I have ever had. Skyr dessert was very good. Breakfast was typical of Iceland… choice of 3-4 cereals, a few salami type things, yogurt, nothing hot.

TV/INTERNET: TV was small and we didn’t use it. Internet didn’t work in the room but was fine in the common area. Rooms closer to the front desk are likely to have service in the rooms but a worse view (view will be of parking lot versus outdoor space and trees).

SERVICE: Didn’t ask for any service so didn’t receive.

SUMMARY: Great place to stay (I probably wouldn’t think this before staying at so many other of the best hotels in Iceland. Reduce your expectations and enjoy the location and great dinner.

Room Tip: The last room from reception as the best view but the worst wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Our Iceland trip accomodations consisted mostly of farm lodgings. Leirubakki sort of has the same 'sleep in a container' vibe, but that's not necessarily a negative comment. The rooms were clean upon arrival and the view out on Hekla is wonderful, especially from the restaurant.

The lady who welcomed us was friendly and, more importantly, made us a delicious meal.

I read some other comments and can only say this: there was wireless internet when we stayed there, so that problem has been fixed, and we did not pay much more than in other Icelandic places for food and beverages. Cheap it was not, but that is sort of typical for the country.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AutoBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night during our two week Iceland tour in 2011.

The room (with private facilities) was big and clean enough.

Hotel doesn't have wirelles internet, there is a computer you can use for a fee. There was no one at reception when we got to the hotel, and we had to phone them and then wait for another 10 minutes before we could get in..
Staff were not the friendliest.

The restaurant was poor and Iceland priced, avoid it if you can. Breakfast was fine

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadowwisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed here for one night after one week on Iceland and with many experiences from accommodation before. This hotel was on the top level we had been. Very clean rooms, hot baths, friendly staff. And restaurant was great - not cheap, but meal was from the first class = excellent lamb steak or grilled fish - we can recommend. Area near volcano Hekla was interesting. We were very successful here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Svatopluk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hella hotels
16.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
565 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#2 of 11 in Hella
288 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hella
80 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#1 of 11 in Hella
124 reviews
26.2 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leirubakki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leirubakki

Address: Hella 851, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range: £113 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Leirubakki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Leirubakki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leirubakki Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing