We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly place for the night”
other travellers have booked this property
Álfasteinn Country home Guesthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Álfasteinn Country home Guesthouse
Álfasteinn Guesthouse Álfasteinn Guesthouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Álfasteinn Country home Guesthouse
Álfasteinn Guesthouse
Álfasteinn Guesthouse
Álfasteinn Guesthouse
Álfasteinn Guesthouse
Álfasteinn Guesthouse
Álfasteinn Guesthouse
Álfasteinn Guesthouse
Tower room
Tower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Hella, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Momto2_12
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly place for the night”
Reviewed 7 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stayed here for one night during our quick trip to Iceland. The guesthouse is quite charming, located in the middle of fields and surrounded by horses and a few houses and not much else. The beds were comfortable, breakfast was delicious, the coffee was hot and strong. Agust was not there but his sister and her big beautiful dog were there and the sister was very nice. My only note is that the directions to get there can be a bit confusing. You take the first right down a dirt road when you turn off where Agust tells you to and then you drive down a dirt road and turn left when you see the house with the grass roof. We got a bit lost looking for it but were happy when we did. Thanks for a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kit C
1 review
“First class spot”
Reviewed 28 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Agust, the owner, is a great guy. Very warm, attentive, sharp and knows the country and spots to see as well as anyone in Iceland. Great choice, very glad we chose to stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy C
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Welcoming Country Home”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Our stay at Alfasteinn Guesthouse was great! The location is ideal for exploring the southern coast of Iceland. We loved our little cabin--roomy, quiet, and comfortable, and breakfast included an assortment of healthy choices that would suit any one. Most of all, Agust, our host, was exceptionally welcoming and helpful. He had great recommendations for restaurants and activities in the area and made us feel at home. I wish we had had time to go on one of his tours as I feel certain they would have been excellent.

Additionally, we had our United flight back to the U.S. cancelled just a few hours before our departure, and he helped us through the stressful process of rebooking; we were especially appreciative of that! He even baked a birthday cake for one of his guests! What a grand host!

This area worked well for us--as we avoid staying in cities--for exploring and for flights in and out of Iceland. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure...
1 review
“Hella, Alfastein Guesthouse, A perfect place to relax, enjoy and have fun”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We were a group of 19 persons, and we booked the cottage via Trip Advisor. We saw the pictures, and felt, this is the place, where we are going. And we were right, it is a very cozy place, and the host : August, he is fantastic. He is very helpfull, he is a fantastic cook, and he has a great sense of humor. We had a lot of laughs together wit him, during our stay.
The house has a lot of rooms, perfect for housing a larger group.

Hella is the perfect location, for exploring. We rented cars, and drove to see waterfalls, caves, geysers and much more, everything within driving distance (1-2 hours).

We really enjoyed our stay at Alfasteinn Contryhome Guesthouse, and we would recommend to all, to stay there, when visiting Iceland.
Soren

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeginsb...
Beaulieu-sur-Mer, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely guest-house, great host and tour guide”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Alfasteinn consists of a main house and (currently) two separate chalet-style "cottages". The accommodation is comfortable, and Agust is an excellent host. We stayed five days, during which he acted as our chauffeur, tour guide and chef, providing us with the perfect introduction to south-east Iceland and all it has to offer, including horse-riding, hiking, hot pools and history, not to mention glaciers, volcanoes and puffins. "You ain't seen nothing yet" could be Agust's motto - we really enjoyed the opportunity to see sights that would have been inaccessible to us as independent travellers. And we are very much looking forward to coming back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim c
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely quiet spot just off Route One”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A brilliant stay with the helpful and dynamic Agust and his lovely family who all pitch in when needed.
We followed his recommendations and had great days travelling into the Interior and onto the Westman Islands. We were self driving in a hire car but Agust routinely offers a full package including airport pick up , accom, guided tours etc.
The modern house is a beautifully built with wood and a turf roof - best of all worlds. Rooms very warm and comfortable beds. Food also excellent; lovely salmon etc.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Thanks again Agust, Jim Jane Emma and Harry

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byrna W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Top notch guest house, clean, good amenities, ideal location, lovely host.”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I was a bit skittish about staying in a guest house - sharing bathrooms and mealtime. But, I would do it again, and hope to. Lovely place. Felt like we were visiting an old friend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing