We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fljotshlid
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Hvolsvollur(Hvolsvollur)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spoi Guesthouse(Hvolsvollur)
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midgard Base Camp(Hvolsvollur)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurora Lodge Hotel(Hvolsvollur)(Great Value!)
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borg Apartments(Hvolsvollur)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fagrahlid(Hvolsvollur)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UMI Hotel(Hvolsvollur)
US$417
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$406
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
62
43
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
43
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingskyrhot tubbreakfast spreadpool tableworking farmnorthern lightsclose to the hotelcountry staywould highly recommend staying heremain entreelamb dinnerbreadcold cutswe loved our stayyogurtlovely farm
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The scenery and surroundings are lovely, the Hotel is quiet and cozy and the Hotel-staff is one of a kind. I particularly recommend the restaurant, the Chef is first class.

All in all a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valgerður María S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel section and really enjoyed it. This is a beautiful rural area.
We took a short walk to visit the horses - our first encounter with the Icelandic variety. They were very friendly and full of personality.
We had a fantastic dinner the first night. So good we went back the next night too. Great food and charming service.
Rooms are good. Breakfast very nice, includes farm eggs and home made preserves.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikesandtunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The scenery is beautiful at Smaratun, the people are nice and the atmosphere is very relaxed -although there is plenty to do. As for a countryside visit in Iceland, it doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valborg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I went to Hótel Fljótshlíð in February with a friend. We had the best dinner and the service was great. The host gave us great informations about activities in the neighborhood. I'll wisit Hótel Fljótshlíð again it felt like home

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agustst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This family owned establishment was well worth the extended drive to get to it. To find it on Road No.261 (off Route 1) just note that the right hand turn off indicates Smaratun, but not the name of the hotel. On arrival there was a large group of teenagers (American) so we were a little concerned about noise etc, but they were very well behaved and accommodated at in a separate building, so absolutely no problem. We had a lovely room overlooking the farmlands on the right side of the main building's wing (after having requested a change from the left hand side which overlooked the parking area). All staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful and we had a very nice dinner at the hotel (there is nowhere close by to find a meal) and the breakfast buffet was also plentiful. The rooms were quite spacious, very nicely decorated and with good bathrooms. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want to get off the main route a little and be in a rural environment. Wish I could remember the name of the family member who was both on Reception and served us for dinner - she was a pure delight!

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking farmland rather than car park area.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews