We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be for hiking in Iceland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have spent quite some time last summer at the Volcano Huts and I have to say, it is a truly unique place in its own kind. It's located right in the middle of Iceland's best hiking areas, and what makes it special is the contrasting combination of complete isolation and the soothing comfort of delicious home cooked food, hot showers and cozy accomodation (but you can also choose to stay in your tent munching on dry bread if you wish so).

Staff is helpful and welcoming; even if their manner can sometime seem to have a "rugged Icelandic edge" to it, they are truly nice guys and dedicated to show you a good time.

Do take care that due to the serious rivers it is surrounded by, getting there is only possible with special buses running regularly or by superjeeps and experienced drivers. But this only ads to the charm.

And as I said the surrounding hikes are jawdropping, definietly check it out if you are planning to visit the country!

Room Tip: If you are more than 2 persons, check out the small huts, they give the most fun!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andras H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Volcano Huts Thorsmork
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

My husband, our 1 year old son and myself just stayed for two nights in a cabin. I booked it all on their website with ease. Very friendly staff, cute basic cabins, great food. For just two adults and a baby, the prize for 1 night was a bit steep, but the wonderful stay and hike made it all worth while.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuummioq73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Had a very good stay. The staff is very nice and helpful. The food was good. There are both saun bathing indoor and outdoor.
Good located for hiking peoples. Good hiking trails ans beautiful landscape.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeNaNa_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Had a great time staying here for three nights. Good accommodation, lovely food, nice people and love the new sauna! We got very good tips on day trips around the area, which by the way was amazing.we were lucky because the weather was good and we were able to enjoy the wonderful views.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ai-Linh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Arriving at the Volcano Huts (Husadalur, Thörsmork) after the 4 days Hike Laugavegur was just the perfect end. The stuff were very welcoming and the food was amazing, a whole warm buffet for dinner and excelent breakfast buffet, not forgetting the homemade bread and cakes... simply delicious!
The accommodation offer is wide, there is a camping site, 2 big and cosy wooden dormitory, huts, little cottages and private rooms, so everyone can find their place... Also at the restaurant area there is a nice sofa corner were you can hang out with other visitors and learn about their different stories while having a coffee.

There is also a little hot pool and a sauna, the best to enjoy with their cold beer!
and last but not least, the location is amazing, the Eyjafjallajokull is very close and the huge valleys covered by enormous glacier rivers are very impressive.

Bus connections are available twice a day with Reykjavik excursions, bus tickets can be bought there.There are some rivers to cross in the way there, what makes the trip more exciting and special. We went back by bus at "sunset" from the ring road, and the light was making the landscape so beautiful...

Many nice hikes can be done in the area, also glacier hikes and many other guided programs. The stuff were wisely advising us, so we could enjoy great views from Valanukur and Rjupnafell.

We will definetly come back...!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariamariaThorsmork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

In the summer of 2012 we hiked the fantastic path called „Fimmvörðuháls” (22 km) from Skógarfoss through an extremely beautiful terrain with waterfalls, glaciers, hot lava from the 2010 eruption of Eyjafjallajökull and an incredible downhill slope towards Þórsmörk where the Volcano Huts are located. If you´re in to hiking, this is the place to be! The surroundings of the Volcano Huts are extremely beautiful and offer numerous of routes to hike with great variety. So don´t forget your camera. The staff is both friendly and helpful so don´t hesitate to ask them for a route that suites your needs and abilities.
Þórsmörk is definitely a “must see” if you want to experience Iceland´s nature at its best and for a nice accommodation I would recommend to stay at the Volcano Huts… if you dare to cross the glacier river Krossá.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had an amazing time! Personal tour Guides, evening trubadoring and Cave exploring all within Thorsmork, one of the most beautifull places I have seen! I especially recommend one of the daily tours as well as asking the guides for reccomendations!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icepreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
11.6 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
280 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,637 reviews
24.9 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel Fljotshlid
Hotel Fljotshlid
#2 of 17 in Hvolsvollur
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solheimahjaleiga Guesthouse
20.6 mi away
Farmhouse Lodge
Farmhouse Lodge
#2 of 11 in Vik
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Huts Thorsmork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Huts Thorsmork

Address: | Located inside Þórsmörk, Via Þórsmerkurvegur road no. F249, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Hvolsvollur
Price Range: £113 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Volcano Huts are located in Húsadalur Valley in the THórsmörk Nature Reserve in Iceland, right next to the Eyjafjallajökull Volcano & Glacier. The unique nature of the THórsmörk area make this an ideal place for hiking and nature exploring. We offer rustic mountain hut accommodation, local food, tours and activities for groups and individuals. Volcano Huts offer simple accommodation in small cottages, shared cabin-dorms, small private bedrooms and camping grounds. Our accommodations are quite rustic and in keeping with other mountain huts in Iceland but offer the option of small private cottages and rooms with made up beds. THórsmörk Nature Reserve, has one of Iceland's most dynamic and beautiful landscapes, where active volcanoes and towering glaciers rise above the lush valleys below. The THórsmörk area has endless hiking trails and is connected to the Landmannalaugar Nature Reserve via the Laugavegur hiking trail and Skógar via the Fimmvorduhals trail. The LavaGrill Restaurant & bar offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, snacks, homemade cakes and coffee. We can also send you off with a packed lunch to take with you on your hike. The bar offers a selection of local beers and other drinks. How to get here - IMPORTANT! Please note that you will have to take a special mountain bus to get here as you will have to cross big rivers on the way. You can take the bus all the way from Reykjavik or leave your car and hop onboard the bus at various stops along the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Volcano Huts Thorsmork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Huts Thorsmork Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing