We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 14 Hvolsvollur B&B and Inns
Green River, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and accommodating”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Even during the off season, this was a lovely stay. We stayed at the Eldsto Guesthouse for one night during our March 2014 trip. The room and bathroom were clean, comfortable, and spacious. We were ate getting into town, and the host was still very accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sykesmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
31
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We ate a quick lunch here in June 2014.

Atmosphere: was very cute- there is a little art gallery in the back, so you can browse ceramics and other art items while you wait for lunch. There was also local music playing in the background which made for a peaceful little stop from Route 1.

Food: We both got the soup of the day (cauliflower) and coffee. The soup was wonderful and came with one free refill and bread. A perfect filling lunch.

Prices: Reasonable- our soup/bread was about $15 and the coffee around $4 for a latte. Great food for the standard Iceland prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldcalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Eldsto Guesthouse for one night during our May 2014 trip. The room was clean, cozy, and very comfortable. Wifi was free and the signal was strong. We utilized the kitchen facilities and thought they were well-equipped. Location is very convenient for exploring the area. Only minor consideration would be to know that Eldsto is on the main road, so that you do get a little traffic noise at times. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stopped for a quick break between Westman Islands and Reykjavik, blown away by the food, service, pottery, and warm welcome. Shared the daily fish special with soup and it was amazing. Fresh, perfectly cooked, great seasoning for the fish and soup. The pottery caught our eye and the server (also the owners' son) was quick to tell us more about it and even brought his parents up to better explain. The works are beautiful and unique and the potters/owners are wonderfully passionate about their work. We left with three pieces and another great spot in Hvolsvelli to return to on our next trip to Iceland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stopped in Eldsto Art Cafe on our way through Hvolsvollur and I'm glad we did. We both had the pan seared lamb with cream of mushroom sauce for our entree. The food was presented beautifully and tasted even better. Don't forget to save room for dessert

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

On our way to Porsmörk we stopped here for a lunch break.

The bistro is nicely decorated (with home made pottery) and cosy. You order/pay at the counter.

We were the first customers that afternoon, so no one was present on the counter. After a while we used the bell and a young guy (oldest son we guess) came to help us.
We ordered the soup of the day, a vegetable pie, coffees and a piece of cheese pie.

When the waiter served our food at the table he isn't friendly. He puts everything on table without saying a word. No 'please', 'thank you', 'enjoy your meal', etc. Being young isn't an excuse.... we think. In comparison: his (younger!) brother is a lot friendlier.
We noticed that guests who came in a bit later, were also annoyed by his behaviour. He should work on his attitude.

The food was delicous!!! Soup was fresh, bread was super, vegetable pie was great and cheese pie...was like heaven!!! We only think that the prices are a bit too high.

We recommend this bistro!

TIP: use the bell for service

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stienro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gudlaug Helga I, Owner at Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for rating Eldstó Art Café. I take every criticism seriously and we are working to improve the service. I hope you will visit Eldstó again and experience a better service next time. Thank you and be very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at Eldsto for one night whilst driving towards Reykjavik. The building, once the town's post office, now is a charming cafe and guesthouse. The room was efficient and the floor had two bathrooms. Fortunately there was only one other room being used that night, so we never had issues sharing the space. The guesthouse is above a cafe/art gallery. The owners are artisans, making pottery and jewelry, which they sell as well. The menu offered great options and the best lemon skyr that we had. Overall, a happy experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
7.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
18.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
21.6 mi away
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
#4 of 13 in Hvolsvollur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Fljotshlid
Hotel Fljotshlid
#2 of 14 in Hvolsvollur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse

Property: Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse
Address: Austurvegur 2 | Highway, Hvolsvollur 860, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ART CAFE AND BISTRO IN SOUTH ICELAND. Eldsto Art Cafe/Bistro is an artistic cafe where all tableware is handmade on the premises by the owners G.Helga Ingadottir, pottery artist and singer and Thor Sveinsson, potter. Eldsto Guest House is right above the cafe and gallery. There are 5 rooms for 2-4 people and two bathrooms, each with a shower. A small kitchenette and a sitting room are accessible to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing