We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but enjoyable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hvolsvollur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Youth Hostel Fljotsdalur
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very basic but enjoyable”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely hostel in a beautiful location. Quite a drive up a gravel road but worth it. We appeared to have arrive in the middle of renovations but it was very nice nonetheless. We arrived quite late but the friendly English owner greeted us and showed us the room. Mattresses were on the floor (not sure if this is the norm or just due to the work) but was comfy. The kitchen was tidy and a good size. The garden is lovely and next to a field filled with friendly (if slightly noisy) sheep. View from the hostel of the Eyjafjallajokull volcano which is interesting plus some nice hikes nearby (so we were told). Electricity and running water but the shower is a bucket outside which none of us were brave enough to try...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilyB307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed here with 2 of my friends from Germany and Spain.
This old, charming, authentic house has breathtaking view in a peaceful region of southern Iceland. This place is run by kind, energetic lady who is willing to help her guests in every way. She sat down with us and searched for our accommodation options for our next stays. The house has a little rustic library with countless old books, which I liked very much.
You will have to travel on gravel, but you will be rewarded much more when you arrive there.
Do not expect modern amenities like wi-fi and hot indoor shower(?) but if you are a person who appreciate story and nature, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sangthehobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We've stayed at this very tiny hostel the first night in Iceland.
that gives you immediately the idea of what Iceland is, the position is perfect, the view is great, there is so much silence and the road to get there is beautiful.
there is a wide kitchen where you can to cook all your meals. in case you don't have linen you can rent some.
The last 8 km are oon a dirty road but even 2xwheel cars can easily approach it. Be aware of the sheeps! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefania76c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

It's not as traditional an Icelandic house as I thought (there is grass on a tin roof over a wooden frame house), but it really is cozy and sweet. Twenty minutes after my arrival I was hiking up a nearby hill as recommended by Judi, communing with sheep and the mountains. Perched by a lovely wide valley facing two glaciers/volcanos, with lawn space to eat outdoors if you like. I ate my breakfast cereal watching the mist drift by the mountains and the sheep graze on the dry river bed. Friendly hosting, feels like you are staying in a friend-of-a-friend's house. Good kitchen facilities (4 burners, so if there were a full house you might jockey for cook space). No shower, though, so be prepared! No internet yet either, although it may be in the works. And if you have a 2WD car, you have to walk up a short hill with your bags, as only 4x4s can make it up the gravel.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, both with basic bunks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank two6heave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hostel is a fair trek off the beaten path but this adds to the appeal given its remoteness and proximity to Eyjafjallajokull. It came highly recommended in our guide book as an accommodation with good local character and it was. The hostel is small with only a single bathroom and the shower is outside if you choose to use it (we didn't). There are two rooms each with 2 bunkbeds in each as well as a room in the attic. This was the cheapest accommodation we had in Iceland but also the most basic facilities. The kitchen is better equipped than you would expect and recent renovations have enlarged it. These renovations have also replaced a section of the turf roof with corrogated metal which disappointed us just a bit. There are lots of very curious and friendly sheep roaming about and excellent hiking all around with views of the volcano. Our host, Margaret, was very nice and entertained all of our questions about the volcano eruption and their evacuations as well as other recent volcanic eruptions.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tkbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, België
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The "road" to the hostel is amazing, long and endless...
This is what adventurers are looking for. Don't expect luxury, there is only a cosy dining room/library (+2000 books) in the shadow of the famous Eyjafjallajökull.
All rooms are dormitory style without private facilities. The surrounding area is great for hiking, with hikes ranging from less than 2 hours upto 2 days.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bram_Snoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
0.0 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
Fosshotel Glacier Lagoon
#1 of 3 in Vatnajokull National Park
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
#5 of 15 in Hvolsvollur
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arhus Hellu
Arhus Hellu
#2 of 6 in Hella
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fljotshlid
Hotel Fljotshlid
#2 of 16 in Hvolsvollur
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Fljotsdalur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Fljotsdalur

Property: Youth Hostel Fljotsdalur
Address: Fljotsdalur, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Fljotsdalur Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing