We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque Hotel in an Idillic Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Country Hotel Anna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Hotel Anna
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Certificate of Excellence
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Picturesque Hotel in an Idillic Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

A lovely tastefully furnished hotel. Unfortunately we had booked 2 rooms for one night and the hotel had us down for 1 room for 2 nights. After some phone calls one couple (us) was relocated to Hotel Skogafoss, about 15 minutes away (DON'T STAY THERE!). The Hotel Anna did offer us 2 free 3 course dinners. So we joined our friends at the hotel for dinner. The food was outstanding; one of the best meals we had in Iceland. We also had breakfast there. They offered fresh home made baked bread and scrambled eggs. A first for us in Iceland. The hotel is a great choice for a stay in the countryside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    104
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
49
153
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had an amazing time on Hotel Anna, when we stayed there 1 night this weekend. I wished we could have stayed longer! The location is beyond good... The walking paths and the scenery around is beautiful. I loved waking up, go straight out (private exit) and meet the friendly horses right next to the hotel and listen to the bird sing.
The food is GREAT - the service really good - the rooms romantic and spacious. A great hotel I can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerlaMagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I cannot comment on the hotel as we did not stay there, though we came to eat at the restaurant as our hotel did not have one. The food was sensational, the soup was unbelievable, and both the salmon and the chicken were delicious. The service was friendly but the waitress did not take several hints that we were ready for the bill, and after waiting with empty plates for nearly half an hour, and the waitress being gone for nearly twenty of those minutes, we decided to get up and go to the front desk to enquire. Outside of this it was a great dinner.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KRob147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niederkorn, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was one of the last Hotels on our Iceland Trip and we were truly blessed with the Icelandic hospitality though the entire trip. This Hotel made of course no exception. Nice welcome, fast check-in like we were used to.

We had a well sized and cozy room on the upper floor with comfortable beds and an “OK” bathroom (could have been a little bit bigger). The furniture is kind of oldish but this adds somehow to the coziness of the whole room.

The highlight of our stay was definitely the perfect dinner which I can only recommend. The fish as well as the meat were just mouthwatering and beautifully presented. Compliment to the chef.

Breakfast was average.


What we liked a lot:

- Top WIFI
- Spacious, cozy and clean room
- Perfect dinner
- Friendly welcome
- Fast check-in and check-out
- Location

What we liked less:

- Small bathroom
- Average breakfast


In short: Stay here and you won’t be disappointed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were totally captivated by the location of Country Hotel Anna. Driving in from the highway we saw a large flock of what we assumed were geese in the field but after some research discovered they are Whooper swans. Across from our room were some small Icelandic horses. The scenery is dramatic with high cliffs and snow-capped mountains.

We had a wonderful stay, the room was inviting with traditional antique chairs and double bed, very comfortable with feather duvets and soft pillows. Our room had an external entrance to the carpark as well as the usual internal door and we woke to a serene view across fields to the mountains. What more could you ask for? Breakfast was good with scrambled eggs, the ever pleasing Icelandic home baked bread, muesli and Skyr and yoghurt, jams etc.

A delightful guesthouse and we would definitely return if we ever have the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The photographs of the hotel don't look impressive but driving west you pass a couple of huge headlands and then this vast space opens up, a series of farms strung out under the mountainside. Anything human in this landscape is insignificant. I'm not sure what people want from a hotel but Country Hotel Anna suited me to the ground. The bedroom was roomy and comfortable but the lounge downstairs has a terrific view of the mountains through a huge picture window, in early May the sun sets over these mountains giving some spectacular evening light.
The food is really good, lots of fish and the horse steak was excellent - give it a try. The staff were excellent, friendly and very attentive. I stayed four excellent daysand it was a thoroughly relaxing holiday, I went for the walking and wasn't disappointed, perhaps later in the year when the snow line is a little higher if you want to get high up.
When I go back to Iceland I will be staying here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipian2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laytonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is where we had our first dinner, had our first nights good sleep and first experience with Icelandic breakfast. The Inn was very easy to locate (the first plus), within 30 minutes of the ferry, and had a restaurant. The dinning room was very popular and the fish dinner was very tasty. The beds were comfortable, and I really liked the antique decor. My mom and I were the only two people in the restaurant super early the next morning and we had a great time trying everything! The staff at check in and in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. The gentleman on duty in the morning translated an email I received from the ferry service late the night before. His help was key to our morning running smoothly. I would recommend this very clean, cozy country hotel to anyone looking for a prime location to stay in the south.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
9.4 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
18.3 mi away
Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse
11.6 mi away
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
#2 of 13 in Hvolsvollur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hotel Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hotel Anna

Property: Country Hotel Anna
Address: Moldnup I, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Hotel Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Country Hotel Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Hvolsvollur
Country Hotel Anna Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing