We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the foot of the Eyjafjallajokull volcano”
Review of Country Hotel Anna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Hotel Anna
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2010

That title doesn't really do the hotel itself justice, but seeing as no one on any site has mentioned this rather relevant bit of news, I thought I would. My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon last year, pre-eruption of course, and while we had an instance of flooding from the shower spilling over (almost no barrier to keep the water in, and the floors actually tilt toward the center of the room!), and little help from the staff, everything else about this hotel was worthwhile. Location: perfect, right up the road from Skogafoss and 15 minutes to Vik, not to mention nestled in the very foothills of the Eyjafjallajokull volcano. It may be a bit less green than when we were there. Price: expensive-ish, but reasonable compared to some of the other hotels in the area (that don't give you as nice a room, or so I hear), and what hotel isn't expensive-ish in Iceland? The rooms themselves are decorative and comfy, as is the surrounding historical barn. I worry a little about its condition as the Eyjafjallajokull volcano continues to erupt as I type this, but I'm sure they are weathering it stoically just as the rest of southern Iceland is.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seattleite_Bryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2010

Our 2nd stay at Anna was as satisfying as our first. Great: scenery, service, and solitude! Owner Johann is most accommodating and you won't be dissapointed. Great food and now that the Eyafjokulll eruption has occurred, all bets are off as to local conditions! This is near Bakki airfield if you are planning a trip to Westmann Is.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgm1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Firstly this hotel is not actually in Hvolsvelli, it is about 10-15 kilometres further south off of the No 1 Road on the 246 for Moldnupi, which is not on the local GPRS, so make sure you have a map that shows the smaller roads and regions. Tthe hotel, on first sight looks like a shack, but inside it is lovely and cosy, welcoming, warm and friendly. A couple of the rooms have patio doors that lead straight out onto the mountains with breathtaking views - which we had ( so if you are a smoker, ask for one of these when you book then you wont have to keep going out the front door) some of the others which didn't were a little bit dark for some tastes. If you are hoping to use this hotel as a base to see the Northern Lights you will have to travel further south about 15 kilometres or back north about 25 kilometres, this is because they as they appear from the North the mountain backdrop at this hotel blocks most of it out. We drove south to the glacier one night and within 30 mins got to see a lovely Aurora display. We didn't have dinner here as we felt it was a bit overpriced (4900 ISK for main with soup) and choice limited, there is a pizzeria back in Hvolsvelli (not bad, freshly made around 2000ISK), but that is the only other eatery in the region other than the odd other homestead along the No 1 road, but at this time of year a lot were shut. Anna is a bit too remote for more than a night or two in our opinion, unless you are looking for solitutde or there is a group of you, the accomodation is not luxurious, but definately cosy and friendly and very very clean, breakfast was delicious home made breads, cakes and preserves with the usual cheese/meats. Overall, we would defiantely stay again, take a walk to the little church and say hello to the lovely farm dogs that come to greet you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShadowWSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stayed here for two nights. We were delayed due to our 4x4 car getting stuck in ice, but we phoned the hotel to tell them we'd be late and they kindly offered keep the kitchen open after 9pm so that we could eat when we arrived. I had trout and my partner had salmon - both exqusitely cooked and presented. Breakfast was very good, but if you want soya milk then you'll have to bring it yourself as they didn't have any.

We stayed in room 1 on the ground floor, which was spacious although the bathroom was quite small. As the room adjoined the reception area the privacy wasn't briliant, however, we only slept and ate there and were out exploring most of the day.

The hotel is in a beautiful setting and at the end of a long drive. There was snow everywhere which added to the effectiveness.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

I spent 1 night at Hotel Anna in early August with my family. The hotel is very nice, it has a historical feel to it, with antiques from years gone by exeplifying this. It is very small - just a few rooms, it really feels more like a house than a hotel. It was very cosy, the room was a fair size, with more antiques, and we were very comfortable relaxing here after a busy time visiting the nearby area. Even in some heavy storms we were happy and warm! It has a hot-tub and sauna, as well as possessing absolutely spectacular panoramic views of the hills, mountians and glaciers. Faily near to Skogafoss waterfall as well as the hot Geysir springs.

The meals were great - I ate Spaghetti Carbonara as well as Salmon while I was there, fairly expensive (perfectly understandable as the country is expensive on the whole because of its location, as well as the isolation of this Hotel) but they were really great meals (which they began cooking straight on our arrival, even though it was fairly late in the evening!). The ever-helpful and pleasant owner and his group of cheerful staff were a pleasure to be with.

One thing to certainly make sure you do in Iceland is snowmobiling - it was easily one of the best things I have EVER experienced!

I really wish I was able to stay longer in this amazing country!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilbow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Lovely country hotel set at the base of a hillside. Waterfalls nearby, beautiful church up the road. We were one of two guest staying at the hotel and were treated with such kindness. The chef cooked the most amazing roasted lamb and baked cod. We loved the antiques in the rooms. Big rooms, large shower and bathroom. Couldn't have had a better stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelcoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Country Anna for one night in late June and were smitten by the peaceful location and antique-d room (room 4) which looked out onto the red roof of the building and the hill and Icelandic horses just beyond. We opted to have dinner at the hotel, which was pleasant (lamb and trout, I think) with a nice girl waiting the few tables of other guests. Room was very clean, with tea/coffee and a hair dryer, and a hotel information book with a few hikes around the area that was much appreciated. The bathroom was a little outdated (we found this in almost all of our accommodations this trip), but also very clean. Breakfast was fine (lots of yoghurt, meats/cheeses, coffee, great homemade jam, etc). Most of all we enjoyed the location of the hotel to Skogar waterfall and to the local hotspring.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meric7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
21.3 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,682 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
219 reviews
5.9 mi away
UMI Hotel
UMI Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hvolsvollur
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#3 of 3 in Hvolsvollur
138 reviews
17.1 mi away
Guesthouse Hamar
Guesthouse Hamar
#3 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
61 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Fljotshlid
Hotel Fljotshlid
#2 of 18 in Hvolsvollur
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hotel Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hotel Anna

Address: Moldnup I, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Price Range: £107 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Hotel Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Country Hotel Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Hvolsvollur
Country Hotel Anna Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing