We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History brought to life”

Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The soldiers who died in Custer's Last Stand, now known as the Battle of Little Bighorn, are memorialized at this monument, featuring a statue of the legendary Custer, whose men were outnumbered and slaughtered in a battle against the Plains Indians.
Cumming, GA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“History brought to life”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a wonderful 1/2 day to full day tour. It really brought the battle to life as we listened to a park ranger tell the story of the Sioux and soldiers and how they met on the battlefield. I would love to see this place again and spend even more time here. I walk up a slight incline to the top of the hill to see where General Custer made his last stand is a must.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jvteach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,030
    281
    36
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A piece of American history”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I listened to an audiobook about the Battle of Little Bighorn while driving from Illinois to Wyoming. Visiting the monument really brought to life the accounts of the various charges and retreats. One really has to visit this place to understand how the US Army was defeated. The visitors' center has some excellent displays of Native American and Army clothing, uniforms and equipment. Buy the CD that gives the tour of the battlefield--it is worth it! The place is hot in August but that gives a visitor just a small idea of how the soldiers felt during the battle. You will have to visit the cemetery at West Point to see Custer's grave--his remains were moved from Wyoming and re-buried at USMA. Custer, his two brothers and his brother-in-law, Lt. James Calhoun, lost their lives at this battlefield.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Solemn experience”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It's worth the drive to this bleak outpost. Hugely educational, a sobering personalization of the bloody conflict between two civilizations, very somber and peaceful. Great place for the adult or history buff to read all the stones and markings, and to imagine the Last Stand, and excellent for kids who don't have the patience to linger as long as the adults.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Custer's Last Stand”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just about an hour east of Billings MT along I-90 you can see this memorial and battle field.
You have to ask yourself what was Custer thinking? The site is among rolling hills with no tree cover. Custer and the 7th never had a chance.The 7th cavalry had about 200 soldiers while the combined forces of the Cheyenne, Lakota, Arapaho, Sioux, and Crow nations amounted to many thousands of Braves.The wide open battle field was recipe for failure. There are signs indicating points of interest like where Chief Crazy Horse and Braves were waiting for any escaping cavalry on a nearby ridge.

You will see the monument with all the soldiers names, but keep an eye out for the head stones scattered around of where the soldiers fell. The cavalry stones are white while the stones of the Warrior Braves are brown, take note of these too.
To visit this in July expect temperatures around 104 F.
Also take note of the signs along the walkways they show a diagram of a rattlesnake indicating they inhabit the tall grass. Take this to heart
Take in the museum it will only take 45 minutes and take time to visit the military cemetery nearby. These Vets deserve your time too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Little Bighorn National Monument”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We got here about 20 minutes before the Ranger walk. The ranger was extremely knowledgeable and answered everyone's questions. He recommended listening to the next ranger talk down the visitors center. The walk ended with about 20 before the next ranger gave his talk. We got there early and took seats in the second row center and were glad we did. The ranger, a retired school teacher, has been studying the battle for many years. He was so riveting that I didn't realize how much time had past by the time he was done.

We had intended to only stay until the end of his tale and then leave. However, after listening to him, we had to drive the route that takes you to the different locations of the battle. There is an app you can use on your smartphone to get an explanation of what occurred at the location near each turnout. You can also use that link as you walk through the cemetery.

There is small museum and gift shop. We were going to get "Archaeology , History, and Custer's Last Battle" by Richard Allan Fox, Jr when one of the visitors, who said he comes here every year, recommended "Archaeological Insights into The Custer Battle" also by Richard Allan Fox, Jr. He said you can't have one without the other. I must say he was right. I haven't gotten too far into the first one yet and have only glanced at the second, but they both are intriguing.

Overall, we spent more than twice the time we had planned there, but it was time will spent. We hadn't intended come here at all, however, we had to modify our route home and the change brought us past the monument. We are fortunate that it did or we may never have seen this special place nor heard such excellent story telling about the battle.

We also saw Mount Rushmore on this trip. I would recommend the Little Bighorn National Monument over Mount Rushmore any day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing