We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, old fashioned with good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fosshotel Reykholt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fosshotel Reykholt
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reykholt
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Expensive, old fashioned with good service”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We expected much more from one of the most expensive hotels in our Iceland trip. This hotel needs an urgent facelift. Everything looks so old! The couches in the lobby look 50 years old, the entrance door look the same, the white walls and ceiling look as if they are constructed of long wood planks which were once used to build shelters in my country…. And finally, the TV set in the room was at least 20 y/o.
At first we received a room with two twin beds, which was close to the dining room air vents, and all the cooking smell went into the room. We asked to move to a double room with no smells, but they were fully booked. As compensation they gave us a complimentary dinner. On the second night they moved us to a better room. So although the hotel looks aged and old-fashioned, service was very good.
One more thing that must be mentioned: Wi-fi in the rooms is not free! It costs about 12USD for 24 hours, 24USD for 48 hours (negotiable….), Come- on guys, we are in 2013; not in the 90's! Wi-fi should be free!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadi_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel, Manager at Fosshotel Reykholt, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to send us a letter including your service research form from your stay in Iceland.

We have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible.
Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime regarding your stay in Iceland or other questions you might have regarding Fosshotel.

regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    70
    57
    22
    8
See reviews for
35
90
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Rooms are ok. Standard equipment (though no plucks in the bathroom) and clean. The hotel is situated nicely in the little town of Reykholt. Yet, during breakfast the personnel was totally unable to cope with the task of filling up the buffet. At 8 am there was no more fruit. They had run out of it. The fact that there was a tour group of about 40 people does not excuse this because a planning must take into account the number of guest staying at the hotel. An anecdote: When asking for some fruit, I was offered some “smashed” grapes that according to the server “had to be somewhere in the kitchen”. Although I replied to the server that I would like to have some of these “smashed” grapes, I never saw any of them. Eggs, bread and other parts of the buffets were also never or very slowly filled up. The worst thing: Even when pointing out, the personnel did not seem to realize or understand that this situation was not ideal. Moreover, do not bother to use the wellness area of the hotel: the two hot pots outside are dirty because there is no cover for them. The showers (including the multi-functional shower) in the wellness area are poorly equipped and malfunctioning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marypoppins93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel, Manager at Fosshotel Reykholt, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Marypoppins93

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us!

Our standard rooms are very basic, that is true but we also have Superior and family rooms that are more spacious.

I’m saddened to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast and surprised to read the comment about “smashed grapes” as we do not have grapes in the house. However, sometimes groups leave early in the morning and everybody comes at the same time and the breakfast area is very crowdie. The staff has short time to fill up the buffet table and It is understandable that customers have to wait few minutes for refilling.

The wellness corridor is an additional service that we offer to our customers. There has been lack of cold water in the area and the multi-functional shower was out of order in to be able to keep cold water for the hotel, kitchen, bathroom, etc. Unfortunately we cannot control it the unforeseen cause of lack of water.

The hotpots are not dirty. The water is just rich in minerals like silica and sulphur and algae that are in our water. We use the water straight from the earth and that is way it is like this.

Best regards,
Arnþór Pálsson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst on tour. Reykholt is a small hamlet with 2 churches, a couple of houses and this hotel. There is precious little else.The hotel has 2 floors and is the biggest building in town. There is no lift. Check in was quick & efficient and the staff throughout the place were brilliant.

Our room, No 119 was enormous with a huge desk, table, 2 divans, a wardrobe and a sofa. It was more like a suite and was twice the size of anything we have experienced in Iceland on this trip. It did not have tea & coffee making facilities in the room but it was clean, warm & comfortable and we could not fault it.There is pay internet in the rooms but a free internet point is in the Wellness Centre, if you can find it. We couldn't.

Dinner was very good and we enjoyed it. Starter was smoked lamb followed by Cod, mash & veg with Skyr(a cross between ice cream & yogurt) for dessert. The bar had a happy hour between 5 & 7pm with beer prices at 500isk(£2.26p)per half litre. The barman sold dozens to our group of 10 people which should tell them something about overpricing & demand.

Breakfast was buffet style with the usual array of cereals, cheese, cold meats, eggs, toast, fruit juices, yogurt, tea & coffee. There was also a hot option of scrambled egg & hot dog sausages.
This was yet another Icelandic hotel which, although not the Savoy did exactly what it said on the tin and met our requirements in full. No hesitation in recommending a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Spacious, though basic, room and private bathroom at a good rate. Great views. Good location near Deildartunguhver hot springs and Hraunfossar waterfall. Not far from Reykjavik. Staff was exceedingly friendly. Dinner was delicious- it wasn't inexpensive, but it was cheaper than many restaurants we encountered in other areas (which I think is a big deal, considering the hotel's restaurant is the only dining option). The outdoor hot tubs were a nice perk. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel not only serves a good variety of Icelandic breakfast staples, but they also cooked us a fancy omelet and bacon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Close enough to Reykjavik to allow for a late start and a few detours, on a major historical site, great mountain and valley views, hot springs, room to stroll around, close to the Hraunfossar (a must see), good country roads that let you get off the grind of Highway 1 and slow down, easy drive to the Northwest and the North the next day ... well, that's a great location, in my books. It's a converted school, so expect some long, institutional hallways, an unimposing lobby, and a repurposed industrial dining area. Tables for independent travellers are nicely separated from those for tour groups. The superior rooms with a tub (a rarity in iceland — go for it, I say. You might not see another one until you are back home) are spacious (but a long way from the dining area), the service is top rate (our waiter helped us mix and match the menu for a reduced price), and the food is both very fine and cheaper than you'll find in Reykjavik. Breakfasts are expansive but the coffee, sigh, as usual, is that press-the-button stuff that tastes like it is made out of powdered something-or-other, but that's the way the Icelanders like it. This hotel is not the cheapest alternative you will find, but some of those are mouldering away on their hillsides for want of a tour bus now and then, and they're pretty much all clustered on Highway 1, off to the West, too close to Reykjavik to prosper. For a chance to be centred in this beautiful and often overlooked part of the country, right on the site of the Snoristofa and its beautiful churches, its archaelogical sites and museum, we found it most worth the detour (and all my stops to take pictures on both the way in and the way out) and totally relaxing.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have bathtubs and face the courtyard, so you can watch the people in the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senklip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Caundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

3 star is about right for this basic but spaceous hotel. Rooms were significantly larger than the Fosshotel Lind in Reykjavic. Fairly large for a hotel outside of Reykjavic. Friendly and helpful staff, though they didn't find a plug for the bathroom wash basin. Enjoyable food with good buffet breakfast. Wifi charge at this hotel.

Room Tip: I got the impression that the corner rooms are larger than the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCWestFinchampstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights on our recent Northern Lights exploration tour and from the hill near the hotel we saw amazing Northern Lights for a good two hours from 11pm. This was in my opinion the best dinner food we had in the hotels on our stay. We had the fixed price menu of 5000 IKr for three courses and 3500 IKr for one course. On our second night horse was on the menu. We both ate the horse which was excellent. Having never eaten horse before I think this was the best meal I had in Iceland and as long as you know what you are eating and that it is not chockfull of antibiotics then eating horse is fine. I say this as quite a fussy eater! Having stayed at three Fosshotels whilst in Iceland I feel that the breakfast at this hotel was not so good for me as the fruit selection was quite poor. I usually eat fruit, cereal and then maybe some bread product for breakfast, never a cooked breakfast. However having said that I was able to make an adequate breakfast for myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reykholt
12.7 mi away
Hotel Husafell
Hotel Husafell
#1 of 1 in Husafell
189 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
170 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
309 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
514 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Reykholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Reykholt

Property: Fosshotel Reykholt
Address: Fosshotel | on Rte 518, Reykholt 320, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Reykholt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reykholt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Reykholt 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshótel Reykholt is a cultural theme hotel, based on Icelandic literature, Norse mythology and classical music. This official 3 star Tourist Class hotel includes a restaurant, bar, library, Internet lounge, front desk, outdoor hot tubs, the cosy moon-lounge, wellness center, conference rooms for up to 150 persons and free parking. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. At Fosshótel Reykholt following room categories are available:•24 spacious superior rooms with bathtub.•29 standard double and single rooms with shower.•3 Family rooms.This hotel is ideal for guests that like to relax in the countryside, enjoy reading, writing and are interested in extending their knowledge of Icelandic cultural heritage.Fosshótel Reykholt focuses also on well being and cultural travel, offering unique facilities based on relaxing, destressing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Reykholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing